We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windy Ridge Great !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windy Ridge Cafe

Windy Ridge Cafe
Ranked #28 of 265 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Windy Ridge Cafe is a wonderfully convenient alternative to the Main Street dining scene. Fresh ingredients, homemade soups and fast service define this wonderful eatery. Rustic wood furniture adds to the warmth of Windy Ridge. At lunch, locals go nuts for the Turkey Swiss Avocado Sandwich as well as the Classic Reuben Sandwich. After an exhilarating day of winter sports, or people watching on Main Street, relax in an unpretentious setting for dinner. Enjoy specials like Utah Red Trout that is crusted with almonds and herbs or Traditional Meatloaf, smothered with mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes.
new jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Windy Ridge Great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I eat here often, as it's off the tourist / main street attractions AND the food is delicious. We share plates , usually a sandwich and salad. The corn chowder and the mushroom soup is good enough to get some from their take out store just across the parking lot. We enjoy their selection of really good cookies too ! Wait staff is friendly and the food comes out promptly and fresh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Girlfromsouthmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, Owner at Windy Ridge Cafe, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thankful you took the time to leave us such wonderful comments. As a thank you for your continued loyalty, we'd love to provide a complimentary dining experience for you next time you visit. Please contact allison@billwhiteenterprises.com to arrange!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    118
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Locals lover this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Off the beaten path but great service - variety on the menu from choice of appy - homemade soup - light lunches/dinners - full entrees. Good bar and bartender. Worth looking for this place....enjoy every morsel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mekgolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Taco Tuesday Experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

As a Park City local and a huge Bill White Restaurant fan, this review is difficult to write. However, my experience last night at Windy Ridge on Taco Tuesday was the WORST hospitality experience I have ever had! I have loved Taco Tuesdays for the past couple years, and I kept supporting Windy Ridge despite the consistent decline in customer service and quality. But we will never go there again!

Our server was very poorly trained and definitely NOT ready to handle such an intense night of serving. Our server greeted us for the first time 20 mins after we sat down - he took our drink and food order all at once. That was the last time we saw him until 30 mins after we FINISHED all of our food! I do not blame the server - it is responsibility of the management team to make sure that ALL servers are properly trained and prepared to provide superior customer service. The manager, however, was chatting to the same table of guys both when we got there and when we were leaving and I never saw him stop by any other tables to connect with customers or get feedback regarding their experience. Quite clearly, the customer service we received is reflective of the leadership.

We ordered:

2 margaritas with no salt: both Margaritas, very small (even by Utah standards) and served in plastic glasses, arrived with salt and well after we got our food.

Chips and Guacamole: Our server must have forgotten to actually order these, as we had to ask the food runner who brought our tacos. The runner got them to us quickly but he must have taken a single handful and threw them in a basket. Between the chips filling only 1/4 of the basket and a single tiny ramekin of guacamole it was a pathetic display, even for $2.

Shrimp tacos: shrimp is fried and really greasy.

BBQ Pork Tacos: Great flavors and spices - they would have been perfect with the mango or the mild salsa...

Salsa Bar: By 7:30, most of the salsas were gone (another pathetic looking display). Either they were completely out or nobody was paying good enough attention to actually restock the bar. We went up twice - to pass the time, we went up while still waiting for our server to greet us and then again after we received our food. It was almost exactly the same both times - the lettuce bowls were full but no plates to put it on, there were 4 empty salsa bowls, and it was quite messy. If you are fortunate enough to have salsa with your tacos, my favorites are the Mango and the Mild.

Terrible service. Rapidly declining quality. Next week, I am going down the road to Sammys!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, Owner at Windy Ridge Cafe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your Taco Tuesday review! I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced when dining with us on Tuesday. I will address your concerns with our staff and make sure this problem does not happen again. Even with busy Taco Tuesday nights, this is certainly not our standard, and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please contact allison@billwhiteenterprises.com to arrange for a complimentary dining experience to help make this right. We would love the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss the onion ring tower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The salads were great, hamburger on ciabatta yummy and the always-pleasing chicken fingers were good. My daughter said the French fries were "to die for".

The dressings are home made and it's easy to tell. They spice up the salads and the onion rings.

Great outdoor sitting area too. Perfect with iced tea on a sunny day!

Helpful?
Thank Jeanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, Owner at Windy Ridge Cafe, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of Windy Ridge Cafe! We are so happy you enjoyed your meal with us. We would love to offer you a complimentary dining experience as a thank you for your continued loyalty of Windy Ridge! Please contact us directly through Trip Advisor messaging, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday is a hit in the summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love the Windy Ridge Cafe for Taco Tuesday. They have a large comfortable patio with live music playing. Their veggie tacos are delicious and they have several salsas to spice up your plate on the salsa bar. Recommended for summer dining!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill84116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windy Ridge Cafe also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Windy Ridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing