We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not go again and I certainly will not recommend anyone to go either.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Apres Lodge
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Changed my previous booking with this place online via hostelworld.com, received a confirmation of the cancellation and a new confirmation number + price but Chateau Apres was still reluctant to give me a full refund because 'they don't allow late changes'. Strange that the website through which they sell their services allows that then.
Very unfriendly owner who apparently does not care at all about customer relationships.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunkie99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauapres, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

We remember you well and refunded you $166.00 for your last minute cancellation. We felt this amount to be more than fair. The fee of $40.00 went to pay commissions and services rendered by a 3rd party in which you made your booking, along with multiple credit card transaction fees. Our policies are simple and to the point and are available on our web site and through all other reservation services that we are associated. We acknowledge that you required personal exceptions to our policies as well as more detailed personal attention. We are a small simple place, open seasonally and after nearly 50 years in buisness were not perfect and are always looking for areas to improve, but one thing is certain, we are always fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Chateau Apres Lodge. Adorable lodge with convenient location to the main street. We did giggle a bit when we were handed our room assigned remotes and actual metal keys to the rooms at check in. And we were winded after climbing 2 flights of stairs to our 3rd floor room. Furnishings are dorm room chic. (One bed was missing a knob at the top of the bed post and the knobs didn't match on the dresser.) The rooms were very clean though with new carpet and what looked like brand new LCD TVs. We had another laugh when my father tried to get into the shower and promptly realized he was taller than the stall. (He's 6 feet 4 inches tall.) There was a mysterious community table in the hallway with magazines, shampoo and even a bottled of liquor. It all added to the charm of this very comfortable and easy going lodge. We completely made ourselves at home. The staff was friendly and all our requests were met cheerfully. The lobby area is cozy and quaint with plenty of games and books to keep you busy during non-skiing hours. We throughly enjoyed ourselves and are planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlabamaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I've stayed at Chateau Apres two years in a row, both for 2 nights. The first time I stayed here I was pleasantly surprised to find a place with such a great location and so affordable. You can walk to the PC ticket booth in under 10 minutes. This is extremeley convienient especially since the parking lots get full quickly and if you don't get to the resort in time you may have to pay for parking or just not get any at all. That happened the first day we got there.

This year I stayed there and was unfortunate to get a room right above the kitchen/breakfast area. From about 8-8:30am you can hear the talking and laughing from the people eating breakfast right under you. It is really loud and woke me up. You can almost make out what the people are saying and when someone laughs loud it feels like they are right outside your door. If you are an early riser then no problem. But if want to sleep in then you may have some problems. Last year this was not an issue because I was not above the kitchen.

It also hailed the night I stayed there and it was extremely loud. It sounded like someone was throwing rocks at the window. This problem was also due to location of the room. We were in the corner of the building where we have two single pane window facing out.

This year we noticed that the rooms were upgraded with a small flat screen tv and lots more channels. There is also a new mac to use in the lobby. The wireless was extremely slow but that was also probably due to the location of my room. Last year it was better as room was in the center of the building.

The rooms are clean but not updated. The towels are white but feel very old. It didn't seem like the central heat was working so we had to use the small but loud space heater.

Pros: Great location, affordable, free breakfast, clean
Cons: Not updated, can be noisy, no spa or pool, no laundry facilities

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I have stayed at the Chateau Apres three times now. The first two times were just one-nighters because I arrived before the rest of a larger group got to town.

The last trip was a longer stay (28 Dec 09 - 3 Jan 10). Our group of six stayed in three rooms, and enjoyed the trip. The rooms were small and comfy, but clean. The accomodations had everthing needed and served the purpose (saving money and being close to the action). Reservations are not needed except for the Sundance period.

It was a short 5 minute walk to PCMR, and about a 10 minute walk to Main Street. The bus stopped just across the way to take you to town in case the weather made it too uncomfortable to walk. The staff was helpful nice. In the morning, there is a free continental breakfast that hits the spot. About the only thing that I can say that would be considered negative is the limited parking available.

Chateau Apres is not the place for a honeymoon, a romantic getaway or for someone looking for four star accomodations. It is a nice place to stay, reasonably priced (for Park City), centrally located, and comfortable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I stayed in a dorm room, the rooms were exactly as pictured in the website. It wasn't cheap for a 26 person dorm $48USD but considering it was the busiest time of year i.e Sundance Film Festival. It was definitely worth it though, 2 min walk to the ski lifts, 1 min walk to the free town buses which take you to all the cinemas and other ski resorts.
The staff were genuinely friendly, free communal computer with internet, free breakfast in the morning and free warm apple cider in the evening, the lodge is also quite charming.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I stayed in the the dorm, the shower/bathrooms in there are fine, BTW. Walk to EVERYTHING easily...that feature alone makes this place rule. You come to hit the slopes,
or show off your "fine" taste in lodging? Right, the snow/mountains are why you're here, so stay at this place and save money for more lift tickets!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

That's the spirit, Marty! Thanks for the stellar review, and for making us a part of your vacation. Keep us in mind next time you're looking to hit the slopes!

Regards,
Jason, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

A decent place to stay but it has some negatives that could be easily rectified if management chose to make an effort regarding quality. For example: the lobby TV volume is often too loud at night and if you are in a room above the lobby or in the dorm (with door closed), you must suffer the noise in the middle of the night. During my week stay, the night clerk was often the only one lying on the couch late at night watching the tv with the volume way higher than necessary to hear. When asked if the volume could be turned down slightly, there seemed to be no clue that there was a problem. Further, the noise in the lobby made by arriving guests after the bars close and the night clerk was gone was a serious problem. Finally, while the owner is terrific and courteous, the other staff manning the desk are not customer-oriented or professional and efficient in responding to questions, etc. If you are a skiier that goes to bed at a reasonable hour to hit the slopes the next morning (the type of customer you would think the hotel would cater to), be warned about sleep interruptions. Finally, room and dorm floors did not seem to be cleaned daily - a minor annoyance that would not require much effort or cost to change. Again, easily rectified problems that are routinely maddening at this nice-to-find inexpensive hotel choice.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank 1717green1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
0.8 mi away
Park Regency Hotel
Park Regency Hotel
#37 of 60 in Park City
158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#13 of 60 in Park City
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#32 of 60 in Park City
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prospector Accommodations
Prospector Accommodations
#55 of 60 in Park City
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Apres Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing