We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prospector

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Prospector
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Prospector is more of a condo complex rather than a hotel, and different rooms/units most likely belong to different owners. I guess that explains the mixed reviews. My husband and I stayed there during our skiing trip, end of February - beginning of March, with another couple. Our room (building 5, room 532) was excellent. We were on the second floor in a newly renovated room with vaulted ceiling, hardwood floors, very comfortable queen size bed, leather sofa and chair, flat screen TV. Bathroom was excellent, also newly renovated. We had small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Our room also had a small storage space, perfect for skis and boots. No stove for cooking, but we did not need one anyway. Our friends were not so lucky. They first got a room on the first floor with 2 queen beds, carpeting, dining table and chairs, flat screen TV, older bathroom and extremely loud heating system. Next day they managed to exchange it for another room on the second floor, but unfortunately it was not much better. They had queen size bed, vaulted ceiling, older sofa, old carpeting, smaller table with chairs, older bathroom. Heating system was better, so they decided to keep the second room. It also had a stove, dishwasher, microwave and a small coffee maker, but no toaster and no storage space for skis. So, if you are lucky you can get an excellent room for a fraction of a price other hotels are charging. If you are not so lucky, you may finish in a room that needs renovations and better heating system. In any case, their prices are very good compared to other Park City accommodations.

Location is very good, with 1 shuttle bus stop in front of the lobby and another one in front of apartments. Shuttle buses are free and will take you to the slopes or main street - very convenient. They run every 20 min until midnight, and after that less frequently.

Room service was good - they cleaned rooms daily, even washed dirty dishes, provided clean towels etc. However, for some reason, they did not leave coffee bags in the room and did not replace used shampoo/soap etc. We did not care much for soap and shampoo as we brought our own, but we did have a problem with coffee. There were no coffee shops close by, and the front desk usually didn't have freshly brewed coffee. As my husband cannot function without a cup of coffee in the morning we had to call every day to complain. Then we solved the problem by leaving messages to the housekeeper reminding her to leave coffee bag in the room.

Overall, we had a great time in Park City and enjoyed our room in the Prospector. We would probably stay there again. Especially if we can choose room in advance.

Room Tip: Room 532 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaZ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    8
    11
    18
See reviews for
8
21
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This place has nothing to be proud of. The front desk said the hot tub would be open until 8pm so my fiance and I scheduled our evening around their time line. We tried to go to the hot tub around 6:45pm and low and behold it was closed. There was no one to help us or open it. absolutely ridiculous that we couldn't use it after a hard day of skiing. The entire place is old and very outdated with a terrible smell. The specific room we stayed in was fine but nothing spectacular. Lack of customer service, to say the least. We don't normally expect much... but to close a hot tub (on Christmas Eve!) before 6pm on vacation is unacceptable. Will not stay here again and would highly recommend not coming here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Park City hotels

Colo. Spgs.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed in Unit 625 in building six. I have stayed in two other ski towns in Colorado and thought I would find it disappointing. It was clean comfortable and fairly spacious as the ceiling was vaulted. There was a ceiling fan and a deck. The bed closest to the kitchen area was uncomfortable to me as it was too soft, but the bed by the sliding glass door was just right. The garbage can was right next to the bed by the kitchen also, but other than that I was quite comfortable. The bathroom was in a separate area. I was very impressed and now I will not completely write off condo lodging in ski towns anymore!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosqrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I'm at The Prospector for the third year in a row, and this time we're staying in one of the 3-bedroom units on the 3rd floor. Each unit is different, and this one is beautiful. The master bed/bath is huge and comfortable; the two other bedrooms share a newly rennovated bath with a platform tub.

Park City is an easy place to get around; lots to see and do. There's a free city bus that goes to all the shopping centers and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-hawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We rented a "standard hotel room" for a week while my husband was in Park City for a seminar. We left at 6am after the first night!
First, the check-in person barley spoke Engish & compeatly lacked any kind of coustomer service or social skills.
Second, the room was not a hotel room. Our room was on the 2nd floor of a seperate building overlooking other "hotel" balconies that were crammed with junk. These were long term rentals! No elevator. Had to drag 4 suitcases & 2 kids up dirty stairs. The whole building stunk. Our room was pooly furnished. 2 flat pillows per bed. 1 cheap extra blanket. Lighting was poor. Beds & linens cheap & uncomfortable. Our balconly had a huge opening that even an adult could fall through. So we were terrified about the kids opening the back door.
Third, it was so ABSOLUTY NOISY!! We were kept awake untill 2:30am by the tenants living all around us. The walls were so thin that the sound of someone putting down a cup echoed loudly. Every time water was used in the building it would scream through the walls, scare us/wake us up. I couldn't even talk/hear in the room it was so loud. It sounded like construction all around us: banging, slamming, water, beeping, machine noises, thumping, people running...
There was no one to call, the front desk was closed at 8pm to 8am. The only reason we didn't leave when we first walked in the room was beacuse one of our kids was very sick & we were so sleep deprived. We were up at 5am & couldn't get out of there fast enough.
*We checked into the Marriott just a 2 minute walk down the streeet. For $5 more ($99.99) we got exceptional service & accomadations. Beautiful rooms!! We had to go back to The Prospector at 8am when someone was finally at the desk to check out & demand we were not charged the 2 night charge for cancel. I should have demanded not to to be charged at at!
This place may have nice seminar rooms & theaters but be warened...this was NOT a hotel, just cheap crash apartments with a misleading website.

Room Tip: Go to The Marriott for $5 more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference and other than location it was inconvenient for a business traveler. Limited services. I had to checkout in the morning, there was no one to assist with luggage, I had to drag my luggage through the snow from the furthest building - as it had snowed the walk ways were poorly accessible. Once getting to the main building, I had to wait for the front desk person to arrive to check out and store my luggage - the lobby didn't open until 8 am.
The room was fine, if you are relatively self-sufficient not needing service or amenities, you might enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCCRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

I was a little worried making reservations, primarily because reviews were so-so and photos were mediocre at best. I must admit, my friend and I were very happy with our choice. Beds were comfy and rooms were not noisy at all (we requested 2nd floor). Upon check-in the desk person was kind enough to give keys to two different units in order to choose which one we liked best...who does that anymore? We had a room with two queens and a full kitchen (full sized fridge, microwave and full sized range). The decor was rustic, with warm earth tones. Unit included mini coffee maker with coffee, nice flatware, dishes and glassware (no cootie factor whatsoever). The bathroom included blow-dryer, and toiletry items. Shower curtain was clean, with no mildew in tub. Our unit had a flat screen tv and a little electric counter-top fireplace on dresser that we never used. There is also a free bus to Park City ski resort, and main street. The bus stop is right in front of lobby. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Prospector Accommodations
Prospector Accommodations
#55 of 60 in Park City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.5 mi away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park City Peaks Hotel
Park City Peaks Hotel
#30 of 60 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Apres Lodge
Chateau Apres Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park City Hostel
Park City Hostel
#2 of 68 in Park City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prospector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prospector

Property: The Prospector
Address: 2175 Sidewinder Dr, Park City, UT 84060-7483
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Prospector 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Park City like a local and enjoy breathtaking scenery, unparalleled skiing, mountain recreation, fine dining, and so much more. The Prospector Lodge and Convention Center, an official venue of the Sundance Film Festival, has ideal corporate meeting space and lodging facilities conveniently located within the heart of Park City. With ski resorts and Main Street only 5 minutes away, The Prospector Lodge is the perfect place to stay. Our privately owned condominium style accommodations offer a real Park City feel. Guests can choose studio accommodations with either one or two queen beds, a loft with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper, or a 3-bdrm condo that sleeps 8. Most units have full kitchens, many have fireplaces and some even have a washer and dryer and dishwasher, and all are within a block of the Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. We have a 24 hour Front Desk for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Prospector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prospector Hotel Park City
The Prospector Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing