We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Utah State University Eastern Prehistoric Museum
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Price
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a Hall of Archaeology, and a Hall of Paleontology as well as a delightful Discovery Area where children can dig for dinosaur bones , play in a pithouse or choose from many games, puppets and printed materials. The museum's Observation Labs enable the visitor to view the "behind the scenes" processes and speak one-on-one with a preparator. LIVE feedings of the museum "critters", an alligator, soft-shelled turtle and a monitor lizard takes place every Friday promptly at 4:00 pm. (General admission fees apply).
Red Bay, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Could not believe the size of those mammoths! All of the bones shown are so huge, we just find it hard to believe such animals existed. Although not that interested in this type of thing-so glad that we visited. Very nice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeeCeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited this museum many times, for 20 years taking first graders on field trips there, and each year there have been additions and improvements. There is always something new for me to see and learn about. It is always interesting. The Hall of Man has the Mammoth and Native American exhibits, the Hall of Dinosaurs has many exhibits. Some times you can see the scientists working on new displays and fossils. It is a fun place to be. Sometimes there are art exhibits, sometimes new fossils and always something impressive,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nontravelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Dinasaur museum”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was being revamped while we were there, but there were still many great things to see. I learned a lot about the evolution of dinosaurs. I am not particularly into them so never really gave it much thought. I also enjoyed the tree stumps which were turned into coal. There are also Native American displays including a really old cradle board.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Neat Mammoth!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

For a small town this is a great museum! The Mammoth is really amazing as well as many other artifacts in there. for indian relics to dinosaur bones there is a lot of things to see!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price, United States
2 reviews
“Dinosaur Delight”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Prehistoric Museum in Price, Utah is a wonderful museum with great displays of dinosaurs bones and dinosaur tracks (and a wonderful explanation of how dinosaur track fossils originated). Other topics included displays about the Fremont and Anasazi Indians.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raeann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Utah State University Eastern Prehistoric Museum also viewed

 

Been to Utah State University Eastern Prehistoric Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing