We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location to Zion but B&B just so-so.”
Review of Desert Thistle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Thistle
Ranked #1 of 4 Rockville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice location to Zion but B&B just so-so.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a nice B&B on the surface. The owners are an older couple who were very friendly and offered advice about the park and places to eat nearby. The front yard and the living room upon entering the B&B is very nice. Great view of Zion from the backyard too!

We were told we were getting an upgrade to our room but they basically switched us to a different room which is advertised at the same price. It was not as clean as we would have liked. The mini-fridge needed to be wiped down on the inside and the ice tray was half full which made us wonder if it had been cleaned after previous guests. Furniture was dusty. Bathroom towels smelled musty, there were a few items on the wall (hairs and something crusty by the light switch) and the slipmat was in the tub, which gave us pause. The bedspread was worn and rough to the touch on the outside, so we flipped it before going to bed.

We stayed two nights and the room was not serviced after our first night's stay. Bed remained unmade, trash was not emptied, and the old towels weren't switched out of the room. The pool was not ready for use which was one of the attractions for us when booking.

One good point is they provide breakfast vouchers to two local restaurants versus providing breakfast on the premises. Oscars Cafe is wonderful! The other restaurant was fair but not great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boytbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    15
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
196
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the beautiful and very comfortable Desert Thistle bed and breakfast just 5 minutes drive from Zion Park in the quiet little town of Rockville.Our hosts Maureen and Warner made us feel right at home and we very much apreciated their advice on all things local.Thank you so much for ensuring we had such a great visit.
R and V (the aussies )

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you are going to play in Zion National Park stay at the Desert Thistle B&B. Three years ago we stayed here, fell in love with the beautiful inn and the hosts, Maureen and Warner. This trip we couldn’t wait to return and spend the entire week of our Spring Break at the Desert Thistle.
We had a long drive coming from California but what a delightful surprise when we arrived. Maureen and Warner had the entire inn decorated so festively for Easter with egg lights, a GIANT bunny, and every cozy corner decorated with baskets, bunnies, eggs, and lambs. We were greeted with the biggest smiles *<:`) and warmest hugs.
Our room, the elegant Emerald Room, was so cozy, well lit with lots of windows, had a huge private bathroom, and comfortably slept our family of three. It had all the comforts of home, including a mini refrigerator, wi-fi, and TV with all the stations and lots of movies. Their yard is so peaceful, beautifully landscaped, with a lovely pool. (That’s if you have time to enjoy it.) You are located 10 minutes to Zion with so many adventurous things to do. In our week we hiked Zion’s trails, waded up the Virgin River through the Narrows, climbed up into the Subway, canyoneered the Water Canyon with 9 amazing rappels, and then decided to drive 2 ½ hour drive to explore the incredible slot canyon of the Antelope Canyon, outside of Page. Every morning Maureen or Warner would present us a voucher to go into town for a scrumptious, very filling, breakfast at Oscars Restaurant. Yummy! Every evening we would enjoy one of the many delicious restaurants in Springdale, and then return to the Thistle Inn to chat with the other guests or hosts. Every night we treasured our good night hugs from our very sweet, loving hosts, Maureen and Warner. Thank you for an incredible week with you*****************!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here when we were visiting Zion National Park in February. This was a great place to come back to after doing the tough hikes around the national park. The hosts are really friendly and will give you the best tips on places to eat and things to see.

The room we had was enormous and included a lovely spa bath. All the facilities were great and the whole place just felt like home. We were lucky to get a cheap rate because we visited on the off season, but it is definitely worth the higher rates in the peak if you are looking for a relaxing getaway.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I was suppose to stay 3 days with my family to visit Zions National Park but we ended up spending most of the time inside the Bed and Breakfast. The service was wonderful! Maureen and Warner were very social and very helpful. The view from their house was breath taking and the Virgin river behing the backyard make it even better. There wasn't a moment of discomfort there, the hosts made sure of it! Warner was so knowledgable about Zions it was amazing! The trip was so enjoyable my family and I want to make it a yearly tradition!!!

Room Tip: The Annerversary room is my favorite!!! Every room is very comfortable and queit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackai y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieselbronn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here May 2012: It's my hobby to research for travelling and it really paid off here. We loved this place. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and certainly not "cool professionals". Our room was beautiful and had a great tub. The pool close to Virgin River is perfect. Very relaxing and still close to Zion.
The same in German: Wir haben viel für die Reise recherchiert und es hat sich gelohnt. Das ist sicher eine der besten Unterkünfte in Zion. Sehr hübsch eingerichtet mit einem tollen Pool ganz nah am Virgin River! Die Gastgeber sind sehr nett und keine "eiskalten Profis". Sehr empfehlenswert!
Thank you.
Alexander & Manuela
(remember: we had got engaged on that trip?)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary at Zion National Park and I was lucky enough to stumble on the Desert Thistle for a place to stay. We had an awesome time and Maureen and Warner made us feel so welcome, we were like family.
They immediately upgraded us to the Anniversary Suite since we got lucky and it wasn't booked, which was very sweet of them! Their place was very clean and nicely decorated. We were very comfy staying here and had a hard time leaving when the time came! The breakfast vouchers were great because you get to choose from two very good restaurants and you also have a reasonable time frame if you don't want to get up too early. Maureen and Warner also provided us with tea/coffee and water whenever we needed it and very good advice for the park. This is definitely where we are staying on our return trip. Thank you Warner and Maureen for a wonderful anniversary!

-Tony & Andrea

Room Tip: The Anniversary Suite has a private jacuzzi inside, which was amazing after a long day of hiking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazerok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
3.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,827 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Thistle

Property: Desert Thistle
Address: 37 W Main St, Rockville, UT 84763-7739
Region: United States > Utah > Rockville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rockville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Desert Thistle Rockville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing