We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Desert Thistle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Thistle
Ranked #1 of 4 Rockville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hosts were great and very thoughtful and helpful. The room was quite comfy and it was wonderful to have a house without feeling the obligations of a guest. The breakfasts were fantastic. What a great option. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Emerald room is by the front door and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank despsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night, but our room was very comfortable and clean. The shower had great water pressure and there was a large counter to get ready at. This place gives you a voucher to either of two different restaurants in Springdale, which worked out perfectly. We ate at Oscar's, which was delicious. The only negative was that when people in the adjoining room used the water, the sound was so loud in our room that it woke us up. Some soundproofing would go a long way! The proprietors were so nice and friendly!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CMTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Desert Thistle beginning of September. We received a very warm welcome from Maureen and Warner and had an excellent stay. It is located close to Zion park, which has great hikes and wonderful scenery. Having the breakfast in Springdale at a restaurant isn't a problem at all as you'll have to drive into that direction towards Zion anyway. We had breakfast at Oscar's and it was very good every morning, plenty of choice.We initially planned to stay for 2 nights but booked 2 additional nights as we liked it so much and wanted to relax a bit longer in this excellent B&B with great pool.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 39th anniversary by staying at the Desert Thistle and enjoying the beautiful scenery all around Rockville and Zions National Park. Our hosts Maureen and Warner were so warm and friendly and go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. The Desert Thistle is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast which is well maintained, clean and inviting to the guests staying there. It's located just a few miles away from the entrance to Zions National Park. Each room has it own bathroom, plus a flat screen TV, a small fridge, ceiling fans & big king size beds. Maureen and Warner know all the great restaurants in the area and where the best hikes are located in and out of Zions National Park. We love staying at the Desert Thistle, in fact, we have been there before and planning on going again. Thanks Maureen and Warner for a fabulous weekend!!
Warner for a wonderful weekend and a great place to stay when we are going to Zions National Park or the St. George area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked the Anniversary Room at the Desert Thistle for our wedding night based on web reviews, and I was not disappointed. The room was well decorated, spacious, had an incredible deep jacuzzi tub perfect for two people and a very comfortable king size bed. The price was comparable to area hotels but much, much nicer. Everything was clean, comfortable and accessible. We didn't have a chance to use the pool but we did enjoy the view of the river and red cliffs from the deck. Warner and Maureen met me at the door as I checked in and showed a genuine interest in our plans and did everything they could to make sure our night was special, the in room fridge was perfect for the champagne. Maureen even asked to take a picture of my bride, she and Warren truly like their guests and keep a scrapbook. We were pleased with the voucher for breakfast at Oscars, one of our favorite Springdale restaurants. The voucher eliminated the concern of getting up before we wanted in order to make a set breakfast time. We definitely plan on returning soon and will use the Desert Thistle as our base for future visits to Zions Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After a few nights camping in Moab, this desert oasis was EXACTLY what we needed. Maureen and Warren were the sweetest, most hospitable hosts. They knew all the local hikes, views, dips, nooks and crannies! The house was beautiful, the room was a fantastic haven and the pool was a welcome and refreshing bonus!

These Russian nomads will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I would recommend, and have, this B&B to anyone. Our hosts, Maureen and Warner went above and beyond to ensure we had an excellent time. Warner greeted us each morning to ensure we had coffee/tea, directions, suggestions, or anything else we might need to start our day. Maureen greeted us each afternoon to check and make sure we were well taken care of. The rooms were beautiful - just like out of a magazine. We traveled with another couple and the sun porch was a great place to gather to play cards, eat pizza, or just hang out. The pool was lovely and the view was even more so. The price is very comparable to the hotels in the area, but the accommodations 100% better. Rockville is a couple of miles from Springdale and the entrance to Zion, requiring a drive to the park entrance. We never felt this was a problem, as we always found adequate parking at the park visitor center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
#2 of 4 in Rockville
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amber Inn B&B
Amber Inn B&B
#4 of 4 in Rockville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
968 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Desert Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Thistle

Address: 37 W Main St, Rockville, UT 84763-7739
Region: United States > Utah > Rockville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rockville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Desert Thistle Rockville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing