We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd location if St. George is your destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is only a few years old, yet it is showing the wear and tear of regular use. The rooms were a good size, which was a plus. However, the dirty walls and chips in the paint show a lack of attention from the housekeeping management who should be informing the GM that there is cleaning and mending to be done in some of the rooms. The faucet in the bathroom was not attached and needs to be repaired. (Room 307) Perhaps the room I was in was a rare case, although judging by the dirty hallway carpets, I am certain there is work to be done throughout the building. The breakfast was good, along with the service at the desk. And the price was fair, considering the location away from St. George downtown area. I would recommend this for business travelers along I-15, but not for destination travelers visiting the area. It is too detached from the restaurants and activities of St. George.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham St. George
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed one night on way to CA. Rooms and hotel very clean. Used pool 2 times and was clean and well maintained and was a good temp. Breakfast was above average. Price was good for stay. Is a bit away from main area of city. Staff was very helpful and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLOYD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Generally a nice hotel but what a bother. I had to call three time to make a reservation - First time no one answered, second time I was disconnected during the transfer from front desk to reservations, and third time I got through. Then there was no record of our discount code and when I suggested the amount, the clerk responded that was the usual rate.

(So our discount code wasn't much of a discount, eh?)

Turns out I wasn't the only one - Four other members of our group had similar frustrations and ended up going elsewhere.

In the end, the hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable, but backroom disorganization is going to cost them business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodp411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We opted to try the new Wingate hotel. I had never stayed at one before. We stayed in a one room suite. It was clean & very roomy. It had a large kitchen area with a small fridge & small microwave & lots of cabinets...with nothing in them! There were no dishes, no dish soap, no nothing! I called down & asked if they forgot to put the dishes in our room & they said there weren't any. I asked if visitors were suppose to pack in dishes & they said "ya..I guess so". I had to go out & buy a microwave dish, utensils etc! I am really glad I paid extra for the suite with a kitchen! The other issue was bedding. My young daughter was to be using the sofa bed.. I could find no extra bedding/pillows for the bed. I called down & asked for a comforter to be brought up. An hour later..after calling several times.. A lady shows up with a ratty cotton blanket. I told her I asked for a comforter.. She told me they don't give out comforters for the sofa bed.. Why not.. Again I paid extra for a suite which advertises the sofa as a bed! She was then short with me & said "Didn't I bring you extra blankets last night!"...this was our first night at the hotel. I had to go get our travel blankets out of the car so my daughter could go to bed ..2 hours past her bedtime...thanks Wingate! I would have switched hotels if I could have.

Room Tip: Stay one night if traveling thru, but the suite is not worth the money until they add better bedding...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocks-horses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was my second stay at the Wingate in the past year. Last time I had a major problem with noise from an adjacent room--but not this time. This is a clean, contemporary hotel with every modern convenience and a fine, free breakfast. It also backs up to a courtyard which features several restaurants-- a Tiki bistro, a terrific Mexican food place, a pizza place and a self-serve frozen yogurt place. It also has nice outdoor dining and a fine pool and jacuzzi. Overall, I believe this is a great value and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The west-facing rooms on the upper floors are best because of the view and because they're away...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATravelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Upon returning to California from a road trip to the wonderful national parks in Utah, my wife and I stayed at the Wingate by Wyndham in St. George, Utah. It was wonderful. We have a lovely room with all the appointments necessary to make it more than comfortable. The hotel had a lovely pool and even a washing machine and dryer for those who would need it. The hotel is appeared new and very well kept. The breakfast was more than adequate. The staff at the desk were well trained and very professional. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Two restaurants - a Mexican Restaurant and an Hawaiian Restaurant were in a very short walking dista...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We've been making the rounds in St. George and really enjoyed our stay at the Wingate. It's a very clean, contemporary hotel in Bloomington - just outside St. George. The manager at the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating! He was so nice!! I'm so sorry I can't remember his name - Mike? He is PERFECT for his job. We upgraded to a suite, and loved the extra space. Very comfortable bed, nice linens.. my only complaint would be the scratchy towels. they should probably be replaced soon. The hotel was very quiet - which is a huge bonus. No slamming doors, no hearing conversations in the room next door. Very good hot breakfast buffet that is included in the price. Eggs, sausage, oatmeal, great waffles - fruit, yogurt, etc. Very nice pool area. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on an upper level.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Mike, our front office manager, really is perfect for his job. We are luck to have him! We hope to see you again next time you are in St. George.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 43 in St. George
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 43 in St. George
791 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 43 in St. George
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing