We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in St. George, go!”

St. George Tabernacle
Ranked #8 of 66 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MANNHEIM
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“When in St. George, go!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This building is nearly 150 years old, with a great acoustic and a lot of musical life in it. You can have a tour of the Tabernacle which gives you quite an insight in the conditions under which it was built.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank VolkerS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great programs in a place of history.”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Free programs are presented throughout the year. The acoustics are great for musical concerts. Sit back in the historic seats and relax. That's what I did!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank p_arm0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
245 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful and Full of History”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We visited the tabernacle late in the day so we were the last tour. Had a private tour from a senior missionary. Even though he is not from Utah, he had a wealth of information about the tabernacle and the history of St. George. The building is very interesting with little details about the staircase, done by an ancestor of Mitt Romney, and the meaning of the carvings. We also picked up a lot of information about St. George itself. He was also very willing to answer any questions we had, and they were quite a few, about how Mormon missionaries operate. A very enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FrontierLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Glad I didn't skip this one”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Having toured several tabernacles in other areas, almost didn't take the time to stop here. So glad we did! There is a lot of history in this little building, and the tour guide was wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Be sure to get a tour to better understand not only the history of the area but all the historical and structural details of tabernacle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. George Tabernacle also viewed

 

Been to St. George Tabernacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing