We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend an hour climbing and exploring”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pioneer Park

Pioneer Park
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour climbing and exploring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The red rocks and the view alone are worth the visit. This park is within 5 minutes of town. All ages can have fun hiking and climbing, assuming you enjoy these two activities. My family of three teens and one four year old plus mom and dad and a baby, had a great time here for about an hour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Onevisionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    69
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pioneer Park with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Pioneer park is a very fun place to go with family. Lots of hills to climb and dirt to play in. Be sure to keep track of adventurous children as there are several places the wrong step could put a child over the edge. Best part, it is free and very close to downtown St George. The city seems to have done something about all the glass that was around but there are still some places to watch out for if your children really like to sit and play in the sand.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Awesome Exploring - Slot Canyons, Arches, Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were stranded in St. George when our van broke down while we were traveling, and since it happened Saturday night, nothing was going to to be fixed until Monday. So, what to do with Sunday? We wandered around St. George for a bit, then (somewhat accidentally) found ourselves in Pioneer Park. What a find...and what a way to spend a day we thought was wasted! We spent several hours scrambling over the formations, enjoying the arches, exploring the slot canyons, and checking out a room created in a rock. The moqui steps up onto a huge boulder was also fun (for those who don't want that adventure, a metal bridge also leads to the top of the boulder). There is a nice picnic pavilion (with drinking fountains) where we ate lunch, as well as a few port-a-potties scattered around the various parking areas. Overall, an awesome place for locals, or just a place to hang out / explore for an hour or more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I expected a green park with pioneer statues or something like that. Instead this is a place with two picnic tables in the middle of desert plants. There are red rocks and apparently people go there to climb on the rocks. Not what I expected and I'm not a climber, nor did I bring children, so we left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really good option for a few hours with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent a couple of hours here on a Saturday afternoon in early November (after visiting the excellent dinosaur museum). As other contributors have said, it is basically an open space full of large sandstone boulders, canyons and sandy trails. There are great views of St George and our boys loved just wandering around, climbing the rocks, hiding in the caves etc.

The one negative point, again as others have mentioned, is a lot of broken glass on the site. I suppose various St George youngsters go up there on a Saturday night to watch the lights, drink beer and break bottles. We were careful and avoided any problems, but it would be good if the authorities had a bit of a clean up.

Nonetheless, I would recommend Pioneer Park as a nice option if you have a spare few hours in St George.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pioneer Park also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing