We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to wander around the red rocks”
Review of Pioneer Park

Pioneer Park
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun place to wander around the red rocks”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent a whole morning wandering around the red rocks in this park. It is often packed with people but we went on a week day morning and it was not too crowded. The rocks are beautiful and there are a couple of old Indian ruins. The views from up on the rocks is very nice of the city and surrounding area. There are some arches and a fun little slot canyon. We watched climbers going up the cliffs near the entrance to the slot. Be sure to wear good shoes to scramble up the rocks. Also keep an eye on young children as they explore the rocks. We got some amazing pictures in this beautiful area. To top it all off is is free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    75
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun to visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Your place to view the city. Nice short hikes and climbs. Beautiful red rock and a great place to take pictures.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fairbear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fielding UT
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for families with children”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A nice little red rock area for very easy hiking. Great views of St George. The parking is limited and it was very crowded (with lots of children), probably because of the proximity to the city and the mild terrain.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Awesome spot to wander”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here just because it looked so pretty and cool driving by. We wandered around for about a half hour right as the sun was setting. So many areas to explore, boulder, and just enjoy. It's large enough to keep you occupied for a few hours. Very few broken bottles around compared to other parks we've been to.

Helpful?
Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Def a bit nerv wracking climbing on those rocks - especially for someone like me that's extremely clumsy but absolutely worth it. No matter what angle, it makes for amazing pictures and amazing views. Def worth the stop. Check it out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pioneer Park also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing