We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History”

Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site
Ranked #4 of 69 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ogden, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This historical home is a great place to visit with anyone. Located just outside of St. George, utah. There is a lot of original artifacts still in this home. Lots of History!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    81
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An important part of pioneer history”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This home is operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I enjoyed learning about the Mormon Pioneers and how they established this beautiful city many years ago. The home was remodeled and built by Miles Romney and Miles Park Romney (ancestors of presidential candidate Mitt Romney--that was cool to find out!) Our guide took plenty of time to show us unique things about the home, and answered many questions. It was a very interesting glimpse into the history of the area. I am glad we took the time to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stonecroft7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the past”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very interesting to see how the early settlers lived. If you love history this is a must see. It's free and the LDS missionaries on site are very friendly and knowledgable about the home and Brigham Young.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Mt
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting Bit of History”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We enjoyed the short (30 minute) tour. Everything was free, and the house was pretty cool. The location is in central St. George, so it did not take much time at all to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Badrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigby, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun History Lesson”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Doesn't matter if you're just into history or a member of the LDS Church. This was a fun tour to go on. I leaned a lot about the life of one of Utah's Pioneers as well as some history of the are and the local foliage. I really enjoyed the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank xplnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site also viewed

 

Been to Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing