We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pit Stop for St George Half Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fruit Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect Pit Stop for St George Half Marathon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before participating in the St George Half Marathon (I ran the 5K, my wife ran the Half). We found it to be more than adaquate for our needs, although the battery for the TV remote died the second time we used it.

Our room was on the 4th floor (we'd requested a room 'away from the noise'), and was nice. Nothing spectacular, but really quite nice for a 2-star rated facility. There is a restaruant just off the lobby, with limited dining hours, and a sprts restaraunt across the street within easy walking disance.

But the best thing about this place was the fact that it's right next to the Dixie Convention Center, which is where the Half Marathon/5K races start/end. It took us all of 5 minutes to get from our room to the starting line (we trotted to warm up). From this part of town there isn't a lot to view except the racers trotting by on the trail to the East. Overall, a nice place to stay, and we'd definitely choose it again if we find ourselves in St George again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleOfNuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Glad to see that you came down to the race! I ran the 1/2 marathon and can tell you it was great! We are located right next to the Dixie Center which is nice and convenient when the events are held at that location. We do have a lounge that provides cocktails as well as dinner. The hotel also provides room service each day. We hope to see you again for next year's 1/2 and hope you have many more races to participate in wherever they may be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    220
    91
    35
    19
See reviews for
217
206
36
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

When I came into the room it had a burned out desk lamp light bulb laying on the desk. No bulb in the lamp. Took 2 hours to get a replacement lamp.

The bathroom sink leaked on the floor and the room HVAC was very not working well.

Rooms on 3rd floor facing freeway get a lot of noise from lobby roof HVAC units.

Otherwise okay experience. Desk staff friendly and efficient. Room was clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor facing freeway get a lot of noise from lobby roof HVAC units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We apologize for the way your room was presented to you during your stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn. Maintenance was called away from the room on a shuttle run to the airport and got caught up longer than anticipated to the point where you found the light on the desk. We have had maintenance go into the room and improve the items that you made mention in your review. We hope to see you again at the Hilton Garden Inn and you can contact myself for a discount in the future for the inconvenience that we imposed on you during your stay. Have a great 2013 and we look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
517 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

HILTON GARDEN INN

The following is a very detailed review of my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel in St. George, Utah. Prices listed are subject to change and are current as of December, 2012.

I was traveling with a group and had three rooms assigned to us: 106, 120 and 122. Check in time was 3 p.m. and we requested a 1 p.m. early check in (not guaranteed). One of the rooms was ready at 1 p.m. However at 4 p.m., the other two rooms were not ready. There was only one maid cleaning the rooms on the First Floor.

The beds are queen sized rather than double, and beds have a pressure knob on each side of the bed near the head to control the degree of firmness or softness. A rollaway bed can be added to the room for $10.00, and cribs appear to be free.

The room is a very nice size and includes a small refrigerator (empty, no items inside for sale), a small microwave, and small coffee maker. There is also an iron, ironing board and luggage stand. There is no safe in the room. The clock radio allows for an MP3 player to be connected to it.

On the first floor only, there is a coin operated laundry (one washing machine and one washer) that costs 75 cents each load (30 minutes for the washing machine and 45 minutes for the dryer). There is also a folding area. Laundry soap can be purchased form the Pavilion Pantry.

There is a soda and water vending machine ($1.50 per beverage) along with an ice machine on each floor.

Internet is very easy to access and comes with options for wired or wireless. To access complimentary wireless, simply enter your last name and room number. There is an option for Remote Printing. Select the Business Center Printer from your computer and then pick up the job by entering a personalized, protected password on the keypad at the Business Center.

DINING: There is a small onsite restaurant called Great American Grill. Guests may purchase the bountiful buffet for $9.95. The hotel offers the Pavilion Pantry in which sundries, fresh sandwiches, salads, snacks, and beverages. There is also In Room Dining available, or guests may walk across the street to Cracker Barrel or The Players Sports Pub. There is also an option in which Mobile Waiter can deliver to your hotel room. We stayed at the hotel as part of a group, so a group breakfast was arranged for us. This included bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit (watermelon and pineapples), mini blueberry muffins, and French toast. Orange juice and coffee were also available. This was considered a Deluxe Continental Breakfast as part of the group package and was served in The Banquet Room from 6:30 a.m. to 9 a.m.

A full service lounge called The Office is also located on the Main Floor open at 5 p.m. and serving dinner daily from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. (must be 21 to enter). The front desk will give you a $2.00 off card for appetizers.

The Hilton offers ZipOut Check Out – after you receive your itemized summary (slipped to you under your door), you can express check out by using your room telephone (select “Zip Out Check Out” button).

The hotel uses toiletries from Bath and Body Works called Rainkissed Leaves, and soap is Neutrogena brand. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, nor any vent for heating or cooling in the bathroom – you will need to leave the bathroom door open in order to get heating or cooling in this area. Water pressure and temperature was excellent even in the morning.

It appears to us that the furniture was in good shape as well as the room décor, television, and in room equipment like refrigerator. At no time did we hear noise from neighbors to the left or right, and voices from the hallway were at a minimal.

Fresh, hot cookies are available at the check in desk in the late afternoon. There is also a very nice, large lobby area for reading or waiting for friends.

We travel a lot and I would say the Fitness Room is one of the better ones we have experienced. There are several treadmills and elliptical machines, a stretch trainer, and a free weight area, along with weights on a machine. Towels are available in the room along with headsets to use on the treadmills and elliptical machines when watching TV. The only water available is through a drinking fountain. The pool area is in front of hotel and accessible through the lobby and the Fitness Room.

The Business Center is also complete and includes two machines, two printers, one photocopier, one shredder and a bin for shred documents.

Hotel is conveniently located next door to the Dixie Convention Center and you can walk next door. Very close for those attending conferences and conventions/assemblies.

We definitely enjoyed our stay here. We have stayed at many hotels in St. George, and particularly the Fitness Center and proximity to the Dixie Convention Center. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thanks for the great comment of our property. It looks like you covered everything from A to Z at our property. We look forward to your stay here in St. George during your next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This hotel was one of many Hilton properties that we stopped during a recent cross country drive. It was as expected. Nice bright lobby, cookies at the front desk, helpful staff, quiet rooms, (we requested top floor, end of hallway). I noticed that the carpet around the elevators and a couple of other areas were a little grimy, but the room itself was fine. Convenient, easy to find from the Interstate. The only thing that I thought was weird was the "adjustable" beds. Under the sheet and the mattress pad, is a little pocket with a dial attached to the mattress where you can adjust it for hard or soft. I noticed no discernable difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
279 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This Hilton meets the standard that one would expect for a Hilton. It is convenient to the freeway and several good restaurants. If attending a convention in St. George, this is the closest hotel, being just next to the convention center.

The only surprise was that the breakfast that is free at the other properties in this chain comes with a $10.00 minimum charge. Hs, one might end up paying ten bucks for a small croissant and cup of water.

The exercise room is well-equipped with very modern and high quality elliptical, bike (alas, only one) and treadmill. There isn't much else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our property here in ST. George. The restaurant in our hotel does charge $9.95 for breakfast for fresh "made to order" items such as Omlette's, Eggs over easy, breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, pastries, oatmeal, bagels, breakfast burritos, and etc. The Chef makes everything fresh each morning. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again on your travels wherever they may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

My husband and I travel to St.George frequently for his work (often with two young kids in tow as was the case on this trip), and normally stay at a Marriott property. We decided to try a new hotel this time and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Our stay was sufficient and met our general overnight stay needs. We were disappointed with no breakfast included in our stay, but knew this was the case before booking here. The front desk staff was friendly at check-in. The water in our room (bath/shower) did not get hot, which my husband and I both noticed. The pool was closed for maintenance and when asked when it would re-open, the front desk said "I don't know, I just got here." (Further information would have been helpful and appreciated.) Being a must with young kids, the pool closure was a deal breaker for us and we checked out early by 9am to head across town to the Marriott Courtyard, who had a room ready for us within the hour. We had a fine stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, but sadly it's just not up to par with the Marriott properties nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
I apologize to see that your stay was not up to your standards nor ours. We had a piece of pool equipment go down that was in transition of being repaired and during that time the pool was unavailable. I also apologize about the staff member that came on their shift and was not aware of the situation. Glad to see that you were able to find suitable accomodations during your stay in St. George. The pool is back up and running and hope to see you down the road on your next stay in St. George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, ID
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights while I was in the area to hike. I booked the two room king suite (special package on the hotel’s website). Large two room suite, very spacious. Comfortable bed. Master bath for the bedroom, with whirlpool tub and separate walk-in shower. Small room with separate toilet and sink off of the main room. Wet bar with coffee maker, fridge, microwave. Living area has couch, chair with footstool, desk with adjustable chair. TVs in each room. Internet connection easy and reliable. Generally quiet, though there was some noise from the pool and the highway -- I used earplugs at night. Breakfast was included in the package that I booked, but otherwise you have to pay. They would cook a few things to order (omelets, pancakes). In addition they had cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Staff courteous, professional. I didn’t use the pool but it looked ok and several people used it while I was there. Fitness room looked nice, with some cardio equipment and free weights. Small guest laundry was handy. They have a “pantry” where you can buy a limited selection of incidentals and snacks.

It is convenient to get to from the interstate, but set back far enough that there is not too much traffic.

A few negatives: Although the room was generally clean, there were handprints on the doors and a pink fluid splashed on one of the doors. I don’t think the louvered doors between the two rooms ever gets cleaned – one of the first things I did was wipe them off with a wet cloth. I told front desk but not sure that will change the housekeeping practice. The carpet, especially around the wet bar, was kind of worn and stained.

Overall, I really liked the hotel. It was nice and I was comfortable there.

Other: There is a trailhead for the network of bike-pedestrian paths at the end of the street, if you are interested in walking. It follows the river and there are multiple routes to choose from.

There is a Cracker Barrel across the street, but I don't recommend it. The breakfast I had there featured grease.

Try breakfast at the Black Bear Diner, same exit but on the other side of the interstate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roam-ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you first for staying with us during your extended stay hiking in the area. Everything that you made mention with housekeeping items have been addressed to our Executive housekeeper and changes will be made to improve the guests experience with the items made mentioned. Booking a package is the best value for Breakfast and it looks like you took the right steps for that. Thanks for staying with us and for providing the input. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
0.6 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#10 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn St. George

Property: Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Address: 1731 Convention Center Drive, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in St. George
#8 Business Hotel in St. George
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#14 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red sandstone bluffs and black lava rock ridges surround the Hilton Garden Inn St. George. The hotel is minutes from historic downtown St. George and convenient for day trips to Snow Canyon State Park and the Virgin River Trail System. Guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet Access, a mini-refrigerator, and a microwave. The property also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, on-site dining at the Great American Grill, and complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St. George Hotel St. George
Hilton St. George
St. George Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing