We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience of the year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Coral Hills
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience of the year!”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Wild drunken revelry! Great place for a wild party until 2am! Two busloads of drunken revelers showed up at 10:30 pm, broke out the beer and music and had a party outside the rooms in the parking lot. Hotel staff couldn't deal with their guests, but refused to call the police...company policy. I had to instead. Once the cops responded, peace and quiet finally! 4 hours of sleep before my presentation to a confernce facility full of people the next day. I have limited expectations of a hotel...all I ask is a decent night of rest. This hotel couldn't even provide that. However, if you love to party on a Wednesday night, the hotel staff is very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codeconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
At first I was uncertain if your review was applied to the appropriate property but then noticed this took place almost a year ago. To my embarrassment, I am able to confirm there was a group, there was noise, and the police were called. The auditor did mention to me there was an attempt on his part to calm the noise and the guests seemed respectful. He also recalls a guest had informed him the police had been called regarding the noise. Apart from this, timelines and memories are too vague to give an accurate reporting to my satisfaction. I can only speculate as to how and why it continued, what measures were taken and at what times.

I apologize on behalf of our other guests who caused the disturbance, and that our efforts were not sufficient to quiet them in a timely manner. I also apologize for your loss of sleep and hope your presentation was successful. I am grateful to you for having brought this to my attention. This is a rare and unfortunate incident, which, that I can recall, had not happened before, nor has it happened in the year since.
All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    417
    79
    25
    13
See reviews for
646
484
83
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I am in St. George at least one night every week on business. I use a well-known auction site most of the time to book a three star (i.e. Marriot/Hilton) hotel. I usually get a room for around $46 plus tax/fees. This time I decided to try a two and one-half star hotel. It still cost $46 plus and I won the bid at this Best Western property. It was my first stay at Coral Hills. I was given an updated (i.e. recently remodeled) room. It was clean, had nice beds with a good selectiono of pillows, a refrig/microwave, nice large LCD/flat panel TV, free local and USA Today newspapers, etc. My stay was pleasant and comfortable. Only two slight drawbacks: 1) the breakfast room at this property was being remodeled, so I had to go several blocks down the street to their sister BW property and eat there. Breakfast was nice, but nothing too fancy. 2) There was no soap dish/holder in the shower/tub. I thought this was really odd. There was no place to sit the soap while showering. First time I have ever encountered somethign like this.

While I would stay here again if the price was right, I will probably just keep bidding $46 for a three star and stay at the Courtyard or Hilton Garden Inn.

Overall, it was nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanabLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
I was happy to read your overall good experience with us was good. It’s appreciated to be in league with the hotels you mentioned. The major portion of the breakfast room renovations is complete. We have taken out the carpet and installed tile which will be easier to clean and has brightened up the room. We also moved counters around which helps guests get served faster. Thanks for giving us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I am a Best Western fan, and am platinum with the chain. The rooms are great, big, clean, even have flat screen tv's, fridges & microwaves. Love they have an indoor pool/hot tub and could park my car right outside my room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you!
The familiarity you have with the Best Western chain and the frequency of your traveling leads me to really appreciate, and be grateful for, your comments. When you venture this way again you will find we have renovated our breakfast room. This week (Jan 10th) we are installing a tile floor and will soon have new serving fixtures which will improve the presentation of the food. We anticipate finishing our renovations later this spring; so the remainder of our rooms will include the 42” flat screen HD televisions.
Thank you again, and all my best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Enjoyed staying with teen-aged son. Plenty of room in room with queen beds. Good bathroom. Quiet room. And the breakfast is great! Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
Thank you for the perfect marks! Most of our rooms are larger than the typical hotel spaces that are built today. Which helps overcome the cramped feeling some folks get when staying at hotels. I am glad your stay went well, and look forward to your return, all my best to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here from Oct. 28-31, 2010. You know all you need to know when you see that a representative of this hotel responds to the reviews on Trip Advisor: the staff here cares about the quality of their product. This is a moderately priced hotel with excellent service. We stayed in one of the rooms which has not been renovated but it was clean, quiet and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. Lots of choice in TV channels. Good wi-fi connection (which is not always a given!). The room was large with plenty of closet space where we could hide away our golf clubs and travel bags .The breakfast selections were numerous: waffles, bagels, pastries, cereal, pancakes, juices, milk, coffee etc. There are both indoor and outdoor pools and they appeared to be well-maintained and clean. It is conveniently located only a few minutes' drive from the Outlet Mall and good restaurants and an easy 45-60 minute drive from Zion National Park. The only complaint we had was that, even though we were in a non-smoking room, the smoke from the outside found its way into our room. This could be a concern if you had allergies-which we do not. At worst, a minor irritant. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thanks for speaking with me when you checked out. You’re right, you left a great review. I’m grateful. It’s interesting you mentioned the wi-fi connection. We had the opportunity to review our connection speeds this past weekend and found a way to improve them. We are currently looking into wi-fi redundancy so access may be uninterrupted for our guests. We’ll know by the end of the month what approach will be the most practical.
Also this past week we replaced the outdoor balcony carpeting (which was only a year old) due to cigarette burns. This, and comments like yours, has prompted us to look into making a small section of the property more of a “smoke-free zone”. We acknowledge this won’t be a 100% avoidable, but it should increase the likelihood of this not happening for someone who does have smoke allergies. Wish us luck!
All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The breakfast was great, but the hotel it self was not great. It seemed old.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
I’m happy to read breakfast was great. True, this is an “older” property in the St. George area. The oldest section of the property was built in 1968 if I recall correctly. That said, about half our rooms were renovated last winter and the remaining half will be done this the coming January. I’m curious if you had a renovated room or not. Even so, your impressions may have been the same. This year we have done a complete facelift on the exterior of the property; with water efficient landscaping, rock-faced pillars, new railings, new stucco, a new paint scheme and exterior lighting. This has done much to update our curb-appeal and tie us in better with the Downtown Historic District.
Thanks for your honest and objective review. It helps us recognize there can always be improvement.
All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Remodeled room was very comfortable and well-appointed. Really enjoyed the flat screen TV. Great breakfast! Really nice having an indoor pool & spa for rainy days and outdoor pool & spa for the sunny days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damselfly_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKessler, Manager at Best Western Coral Hills, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thanks for staying with us. I’m glad you found several of the amenities to your liking.
We are now in our slower season for the St George area…for the weekdays at least, and some of the weekends. In the coming months, if you need a break from the Wyoming snows, be sure to look us up as the rates tend to reflect the slower season.
All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
1.6 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#10 of 41 in St. George
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
1.6 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#13 of 41 in St. George
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 41 in St. George
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Hills

Property: Best Western Coral Hills
Address: 125 East St. George Blvd., St. George, UT 84770-2856 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Coral Hills)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. George
#2 Spa Hotel in St. George
#3 Business Hotel in St. George
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#4 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Coral Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Coral Hills is newly remodeled and offers affordable luxury and quiet comfort with the area's beautiful golf courses only moments away. This AAA Three-Diamond property is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. The Hotel features a complimentary full/hot breakfast daily, outdoor heated swimming pool with water fountain, whirlpool, heated kids' pool, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, exercise room with treadmill, elliptical machine, stationary bike and universal weight machine, self-guest laundry, pickup dry cleaning/laundry, putting green, fax/photocopy services, concierge assistance, 24-hour front desk service, free parking, large vehicle parking. Best Western Coral Hills is conveniently located in the Historic District of St. George, with some of St. George's finest restaurants - 18 within 3 blocks, historic sites, and shopping within two blocks; just a few minutes off I-15 (Exit 8) and approximately six miles from Saint George Municipal Airport. All Guest rooms feature FREE wifi, high-speed Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, alarm clock radios, free newspapers, 87 local and cable stations including HBO and Disney, air-conditioning, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, free local calls and voicemail. Local attractions and amenities within two miles include: LDS (Mormon) Temple & Visitor Center, Dixie State College, Zion Outlet Stores, Dixie Convention Center, Brigham Young Home, St. George Tabernacle, Rosenbruch World Wildlife Museum, Fiesta Family Fun Center, Bowling, Laser Tag, St. George Musical Theater, St. George Art Museum, Utah Pioneers Museum. Other area attractions include: Tuacahn Amphitheater, Dinosaur Tracks Site, Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, Snow Canyon State Park, Grand Canyon (North Rim), and Silver Reef Ghost Town, Lake Powell National Recreational Area and local hiking and biking trails. St. George is 120 miles/two hours north of Las Vegas, NV and 300 miles/4.5 Hours south of Salt Lake City, UT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Coral Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coral Hills Hotel St. George
St George Best Western
Best Western St. George
Best Western Coral Hills St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing