We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Court Think 3 Day Tennis Camp at Green Valley Spa”
Review of Amira Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amira Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Didn't stay here but went to the 3 day tennis camp put on by courtthink tennis. The camp was awesome and a great value at around $600. Can't thank Dave and Duane enough. It was a real game changer for me. Classes from 9-3:30 with classroom and video analysis of your serve and strokes. On a side note I wanted to stay at the resort but it was just me and they wanted $180 a night for a condo so I found a weekday rate at Casablanca Casino in Mesquite Nevada for $40 a night which is only a 30 minute drive. Ate breakfast one morning at the resort restaurant. Kind of odd experience...Restaurant looked dated as I walked in at 8:30 am and the sever said they have stopped seating but said she would still serve me. Breakfast over at 8:30? Wow. The chef made me a omelet that was amazing but with a cup of coffee the bill came to $16. Can't say anything else about the spa but if you want to take your tennis game to the next level this is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank 1rudytudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I have NEVER paid $200 for a hotel stay. But we were visiting St. George and decided to treat ourselves to a one night stay in gorgeous red rock surroundings. I read the online reviews and rationalized that the complaints about the hotel and Cheryl, the manager, were outlier issues from people who liked to complain. My husband and I sat at the computer together and made reservations for March 28th which was a month away. We were surprised when the very next evening we got a call from the Green Valley Spa front desk, asking us what time we planned to arrive that night, which was February 28th. We explained there must have been a mistake--that our stay was a month away, and the young man on the phone was very polite, and told us there would be no charge for such a mistake. However, he called us back a few minutes later and reported that he had spoken to his boss, Cheryl, who said we would indeed be charged the entire amount of $211. Unbelievable. Over the next week, we then proceeded to hunt Cheryl down like a dog, with several calls, messages, and then finally, successfully via our credit card company, and she said she would check to see if there was a mistake made with the online booking and she promised to call us back--twice. In fact, we are still waiting for her to call us back, but we all know she isn't going to call us back. BEWARE: seems like their written policy of no refund unless reservation is canceled seven days prior to your scheduled arrival date allows them to take the entire amount of your stay for a mistake like this. Quite a dandy little policy they have written for themselves. I can say that two pair of eyes were making that reservation for March 28th and somehow, maybe IF we flipped website pages online (?), the date may have been changed by the online program. We don't know. But we do know that this hotel couldn't care less about customer satisfaction and that Cheryl, the manager, will only lie and try to evade you if there is a problem. We will never stay at this hotel--EVER, and we want to warn you not to gloss over their SEVEN DAY CANCELLATION POLICY. If you can't afford to lose the entire amount of your stay if something weird like this happens, then maybe you had better book a room elsewhere in St. George and take a quick drive over the next morning to view the red rocks. Stupid us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenvalleysparesort, Manager at Amira Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are sorry for the mix up with your reservation. I am not sure if there was a mistake made when making the reservation or not, but in either case we are sorry that your first experience with us was unsatisfactory. We do require a one night deposit at the time of booking to hold your reservation, and we do have a 7 day cancellation policy. Both of these policies are stated on our website when you book your reservation. We do understand that sometimes these things can be missed, but it is our standard policy. Our cancellation policy states that without a seven day notice your one night deposit becomes non-refundable, but it is not forfeited. We simply put a hold on it up to one year and you can apply it towards a future stay with us. The reason you were going to be charged the $211 deposit was because of this policy, not because you were being penalized in any way. We just moved your $211 deposit from the February stay to the March stay. I am not sure why Cheryl was unable to get back to you, but I assure you your concerns are taken very seriously, and we will do everything we can to identify the issue and rectify that issue for the future. We can understand how frustrating that can be, and we are sorry for the inconvenience and distress this may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The positives are excellent hikes led by fabulous guides and spacious well-appointed rooms. Some of the massage therapists are excellent; unfortunately some are terrible. The negatives include the food: lunch and dinner are exactly the same for seven straight days and only offers six entrees. Considering the price of the resort ($$$$$), the food options are ridiculous! The resort is run down and the majority of the employees have no concept of providing proper customer service. Burned out light bulbs are not replaced, rooms are not cleaned each day unless you complain to mgmt., there are not any activities to participate in after 6 pm so everyone goes back to their rooms to watch tv!
The resort owners (a family) have no interest in obtaining guests' feedback which includes resolving problems that any guest has. Spend your money at a resort where guests are appreciated and given proper service and don't waste your time or money at Green Valley!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenvalleysparesort, Manager at Amira Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are glad to hear you loved the hikes and the room accommodations. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food. We appreciate feedback from our guests, as we want to give you the best experience possible. We will speak to our Dining Room about adding other options to our menu. We do provide a daily service so we are sorry if you did not receive one each day. If a Privacy sign is left on your door then they won’t service the room that day. We do not offer activities past 6 pm as these activities are generally not attended, Most guests are tired from the other activities during the day that start as early as 6 am. We do have tennis courts, racquet ball courts, a golf learning center, a pool table, ping pong, a 24 hour adult only pool, and other activities available during later hours that our guests have full access to. Again, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy everything about your stay, and we will address the issues you had during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spacious room with sitting area, gas fireplace, brew-your-own Starbucks, and a wonderful outdoor hot tub and heated pool just 20 feet from the room. Wonderful bed. My wife had a superb massage and facial as well. And a great value too!

Never been to St. George before. Interesting that half the restaurants were closed on Sundays. Also highly recommend the Kolob Canyons section of Zion Natl Park. Right off I-15. More spectatular views than Zion Canyon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelSSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

While in town visiting family we chose the closest hotel to within reason. What a bargain! For the same price as chain hotels across town we experienced a charming boutique hotel. Spacious rooms, luxurious amenities, top shall spa and products. Great service and perfect location. St George is by no means our preferred destination but when we have to visit in the future there will only be one choice for lodging.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Booked a retreat with specific spa menu (1200-1500 cal/day). We were served FULL CALORIE menu and it was not until WE calculated the calories that WE brought it to their attention. We booked a spa retreat, with the spa menu.
Told the front desk staff, put calls in with whoever the manager is, emails also. They HID from us! Everyone was always in a "meeting". We spent over 4 THOUSAND dollars between us.. We would expect at least a courtesy call, but NOTHING!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After a spa trip here several years ago, I bought a home in St. George. I've tried many of the spas in So. Utah and GVS is definitely my favorite place to "day spa". The massages are great, be sure to add a "bath" prior to your treatment. Arrive early and enjoy some quiet time in their "waiting" area. I love their body cream and other spa products and give them for gifts to my favorite friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
11.5 mi away
Coral Springs Resort
Coral Springs Resort
#18 of 42 in St. George
159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 42 in St. George
819 reviews
4.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. George
TownePlace Suites St. George
#22 of 42 in St. George
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 42 in St. George
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amira Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amira Resort & Spa

Address: 1999 W Canyon View Dr, St. George, UT 84770 (Formerly Green Valley Spa and Resort)
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. George
Price Range: £335 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amira Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amira Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Valley Hotel St. George
Green Valley Spa
Amira Resort & Spa St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing