We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Their Anniversary package made up for my crappy Best-Western honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Gate Village Historic Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
Saint George
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Their Anniversary package made up for my crappy Best-Western honeymoon!”
Reviewed 18 January 2008

Every year on our anniversary, I try to make up for the short, low-budget honeymoon we had when we got married. This year, I finally got my wish! Green Gate Village Historic Inn is perfect for those of us looking for a quiet, but luxurious place to stay. We stayed in the Lela suite, also known as the Bridal suite. We happened to be there when nobody else was in the house, so we got the common rooms all to ourselves as well. The jetted tub was my favorite, but I also loved the candle-lit fireplace. My husband was happy there was a tv (covered in an armoire) with a DVD player so we could watch a movie. I loved the King-sized bed with canopy. The whole place is just adorable with all the antiques. They've really tried to restore the original historic charm of the place. The Judd store sells historic candy and pop that you can't find anywhere else! The management is so friendly and one of the greatest things is that you can add packages to your deal. We added the breakfast in bed package and the romantic package, which included chocolates, sparkling cider, and flowers.
They also had a pool and hot tub, but we had our own whirlpool tub, so we were content to stay inside in January!
Some of the other packages sounded really great, too, but we didn't have the extra money for them: have a barbershop quartet sing to you and your spouse at your door. Or a swedish massage in your room. There are also theatre packages and more. It's the most unique place I've ever stayed. My husband and I are definitely going to return to Green Gate Village Inn!

  • Liked — Historic charm and personal service
  • Disliked — reserving online was tricky, better to call
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katrinangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
32
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2007

I’m an architect from the Bay Area who worked on two of the newest hotels in Southern Utah this past year. Our team could have stayed at any chain in the area but our travel department booked us at this truly unique place through Expedia. After that first chance stay we now won’t let her book us anywhere else, even if it’s only for one night. (Often they are sold out on Expedia so she books directly on line through their website where she can usually find a vacancy.) We’ve been back 17 or 18 times in the past year or so and like the historic theme, the classic 125-year-old buildings and beautiful garden setting. We often bring along our wives. They enjoy the historic district and musical theater packages as well as the romantic fireplaces and jetted tubs in most of the rooms. I’d come back anytime, even on my own dime. It used to be that, if we had an early morning meeting, the innkeepers would put together a great takeout meal the night before. However, we purposely no longer schedule early meetings so we won’t miss out on the inn’s hearty breakfast of baked apples or fresh fruit, thick smoked bacon, eggs, omelets, Belgian waffles, etc. The antique telephones in the rooms don’t have Internet ports but only two of the most remote bungalows at the inn still lack wireless Internet access. That’s been a minor issue for us as it’s always working in the main house and the old general store. Everything else is solid three stars, three diamonds.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OaklandFastdraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We stated at the Green Gate a couple of weeks ago. The trees are in bloom and it really is very pretty. We rented the Judd House. I love the architecture and the large bathtub. I swam in their pool, a bit small, but lovely and quiet. Breakfast was simple but good, especially the fruit. The only down side is the challange of keeping very old buildings from getting musty, maintaining the historical character while using furniture that isn't overly used. To that end our "house" smelled old...no kidding it was built in 1911 (?), but still I wanted to get some ceder chips or something to put in the drawer with my clothes. I think the couch is used also as a futton and could have used a bit of febreez, or maybe a different fabric that is easier to clean. The front porch is lovely, be warned however that there is construction going on across the street lots of beeping. The owners/inn keepers were darling and very friendly. We would go back, but probably venture around first.

  • Liked — The beautiful history and trees
  • Disliked — The musty smell of the room and couch
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank earing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, UT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Green Gate Village in the Daniel Suite. Upon arriving, we found reception polite and they showed us to our room. The room is quite spacious. The decor is mix and match with pieces of furniture--some appear new and others well-worn. Some pieces appear to have come from a garage sale. Nightstands, lamps and chairs did not match. The microwave is in the bathroom?? The berber carpet did not match the decor. Some pieces of marble tile were broken and chipped in the entry way. The paint was faded, chipped and in need of replacement. The tub was dirty and stained, the shower curtain was faded and had mildew on the bottom. Some wallpaper was peeling in spots. The bathroom sink was stained. The king size bed sagged in the middle as did the daybed. Overall, the furnishings need to be replaced and the room and bathroom repainted and spruced up.

The breakfast was good and they even served my breakfast earlier than their appointed 8-9:00 PM timeslot one morning. But, this was not convenient on our second day as I went to an early meeting and did not get breakfast.

The night before checkout, I requested a late checkout at noon, one hour longer than their 11:00 AM checkout. I was told that they could not accomodate us since the room needed to be prepared for other incoming guests. I was a little confused since checkin is not until 3:00 PM. But I quickly read between the lines--an incoming guest is more important than one checking out. Also, since we did not receive any maid service the first day (though we put our maid service sign on the door) it would certainly take longer to clean our room for the next guests???

So, overall I was disappointed. This B&B is not convenient for business travel if you want breakfast or late checkout. The price is a bit steep at $129 for a 2-star property. I've stayed at many 4-star properties that are far superior and less expensive. I suppose most travellers staying there probably are from out of town and had to book this place last minute since other properties are probably full.

We will skip this place in the future. For the same amount of money, stay at the Hilton which is new and more accomodating.

  • Liked — Location is convenient
  • Disliked — Well-worn and not accomodating for special requests.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Parched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

There's so much to like about the Green Gate Inn. The owners and staff weren't just friendly and helpful, they treated us like close friends visiting from out of town. The homes are comfortable and spacious. They have all the charm of the pioneer ear from which they come, with modern and well maintained electricity, plumbing and air conditioning. Breakfast every morning was wonderful.

The location of the Green Gate Inn is terrific. It is right in the heart of the historic district of St. George. There are plenty of historic sites to visit and nice restaurants to enjoy within walking distance or the Inn.

My wife and I couldn't have stayed at a more charming place on our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and comfortable accomodations.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Green Gate Inn if you can make it fit your travel budget.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We had a lovely two room cottage with a full bath. Breakfast (included) was terrific, eggs plus something different every morning...pancakes, baked apples with cinnamon sauce. The place is quaint, but amenities are up to date. This has to be the best place in Saint George. The owner cared for our needs personally.Right in the heart of the Historic District and with an old fashioned soda shoppe next store. The place is absolutely enchanting. We will return. Arroyo Grande

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Our scrapbooking group stayed here four nights earlier this year. What a pleasant experience. The rooms were all unique and actually much nicer than the photos on the Internet. 24-hour-a-day use of the Carriage House area for our seminars and workshops was exactly what we needed for a successful retreat. Can't say enough good things about their staff and management. Even the owners were involved. Don't know how they turned out so many meals for breakfast each morning, but it was delicious as were the catered luncheons and dinners. We've already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 41 in St. George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#13 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gate Village Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Village Historic Inn

Property: Green Gate Village Historic Inn
Address: 76 W Tabernacle St, St. George, UT 84770-3420
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gate Village Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 1860's at this beautifully restored, eight home, upscale pioneer village, restaurant and general store. Recently awarded the "Best Historic B&B Inn in the Nation." 15 elegantly decorated guestrooms all with private bath, telephone, cable and VCR. Most have fireplaces and jetted tubs. Book a room or the entire village for your next weekend getaway, business retreat, wedding, reception or family reunion. Delight in a peaceful night's sleep and a hearty breakfast among antique furnishings, the historic Carriage House Reception Hall, our fully-equipped business center, Bentley House Restaurant and Judd's Store. Enjoy our heated pool, manicured lawns and flower beds, brick walkways and festive lighting. Our attentive staff is here to assure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Green Gate Village Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gate Village Historic Inn St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing