We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we hoped for, but...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gate Village Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gate Village Historic Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for, but...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

...a bossy woman pushes you into forced socializing over breakfast. OK for some, perhaps, and I can work with that but my girlfriend hated it, hated it, hated it -- might as well have been the dentist's chair! Was the food good? It doesn't matter as indigestion takes over! This ruined the morning, which put a stain on the end of an otherwise great week of visiting Utah's parks. Will never stay at Green Gate Village again. If they had a "satisfaction or your money back" policy I would ask for it (and that would be a first for me).

So if you're less chatty in the a.m., eat elsewhere or pay their fee for room service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank p2nenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
32
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The name, Green Gate Village Historic Inn, just about tells it all. This very unique B&B is a collection of restored homes, shops, etc. You can book just one room though they're more like suites. It's an ideal place also if you're traveling with a group (friends, family, etc.) and can book a whole house of separate suites at extremely reasonable prices. The keepers, Ed and especially Lindy, are friendly, welcoming, helpful and delightful. We stayed in the Daniel Suite which had a masterbedroom/living room, a smaller room with a day bed, a bath with a jacuzzi, and a refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast was quite good and fresh served in a bright and comfortable dining room. It was very pleasant to sit outside our room and look upon the Green Gate "village square" filled with loads of flowers and a swimming pool. There is an antique Model T and gas pumps which add to the feeling that you've stepped out of the busy world of today and into a relaxing, peaceful, friendly little town of yesterday - a perfect escape!

Room Tip: The Daniel Suite was quite spacious with loads of room for our luggage and a sofa and comfortable ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This past weekend I stayed at the Green Gate Village in the Malia room. It did not quite live up to the stays I have had in past year. It has been about 10 years since I stayed there last, but it seems like the quality might be going down.

The room was nice sized. The people were great that I dealt with. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! The big problems I had were there was barely a trickle of water that would come out of the bathroom sink. When I mentioned it to the owners they said they would look at it, but nothing changed. The shower head was almost as bad but there was enough to at least get a shower in the morning. The internet they had was really weak and was so weak that it wasn't worth using.

I remember this place as a great rustic place to stay. It has been about 10 years since I stayed here. My feelings have been downgraded a bit after this stay. The price is a bit steep, but I was willing to pay it because of what I remembered the stay like in the past. I may think twice in the future about staying here. The owners need to put a little more into the accommodations so they can keep this a pleasant place to stay. Also I only stayed in the Malia room this time and it might not represent everywhere in the complex.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BretHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We will definitely be returning, as long as Ed and Lindy are the innkeepers here! They are fantastic hosts, and this B&B is the perfect combination of comfortable and professional.

We stayed in the Jackson Room of the Tolley Cabin, though the door into the adjoining room was open so we could freely walk around. Charming but still comfortable for my husband (who doesn't like "girly" B&Bs) - cowboy hats on the wall, fireplace, more "cabin" feel than your typical B&B. There are lots of photos on the website so you can pick which kind of room you need/like best. The bed was very comfy - we stayed here when I was 8 months pregnant, so I was very discerning about the bed.

Loved the mini fridge and the microwave in the room for snacks (plus coffee cups and coffee pot). Everything is very clean, with fluffy towels, iron, toiletries, mini hair dryer and maid service each day - the most spoiled we've been at a B&B. We also loved the comfy chairs on the porch to sit in the sun, and the back door that opens right to the small parking lot in back.

Everyone spotlights breakfast, which Ed made every morning and is perfect - served on time every morning in the most lovely room with historical photos of the inn's different buildings and old artifacts all around. We were there three mornings and got three different, all amazingly filling breakfasts: sausage, eggs and French toast, then bacon, eggs and Belgian waffles, and bell pepper omelets with bacon and hash browns on the last day - all started with fruit bowls or, on the last day, a baked cinnamon apple with whipped cream. Amazing! There's also cereal, oatmeal, and coffee and tea and juice bar, but she'll ask you if you want seconds on the hot food as well. We were the only guests there for MLK Jr. weekend and Lindy remembered our drink and condiments preferences and brought us the paper after she saw us reading it the first day.

The historical district main street is half a block away, so restaurants and lots of antique stores are in easy walking distance. Ask and Lindy will give you plenty of tips for sightseeing and outdoor activities (we took her advice and visited Snow Canyon, which was beautiful and a great place to soak up the sun on a short hike.) Lindy is a wonderful hostess - she is such a lively person to talk with and has great stories to tell.

The best part of our trip was relaxing in our comfortable room and chatting with Lindy and Ed! They are friends of ours now and we'll definitely be here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have bathrooms but check the website for photos of all the cabins and rooms - they all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The furnishings and decor send you way back in time..lovely. It was a comfortable sleep. Breakfast was not gourmet, but good and plentiful. Ours started with a warm baked apple with a dollop of whipped cream...yum yum. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose our room, Christin Suite in the Orsen Pratt House, because there were four of us and it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elooto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western U.S.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have spent considerable time in St. George and stayed in various locations but had never stayed at the historic Green Gate Village until this past month. We really enjoyed ourselves. The accommodations are quite lovely. The owners have done a great job trying to maintain these very old and historic buildings. Our room was lovely. We slept great. And we especially enjoyed the breakfast in the mornings. Both times they offered full, hot breakfasts -- eggs, bacon, sausage, freshly-baked muffins, fruits of all kinds, juices, teas, milk, etc. alongside the morning paper. We thought the owners were quite lovely. The whole experience was quite charming. The place was booked. It is a popular spot. Kind of a "got to do it" thing. Best wishes.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner, ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryder03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence, New York, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of the area. The accommodations are set in several historic buildings moved to the site from around the state. My wife and I had the 1879 Morris House to ourselves - it has a modern kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room and a small sitting room. The property's collection of historic furniture, dishware, machinery, automobiles and gas pumps is worth several hours of perusal. There is a swimming pool as well. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty (I can't remember the last time I had a baked apple), and our host and hostess were charming folks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KM2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 41 in St. George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
1.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn
#8 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#12 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gate Village Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Village Historic Inn

Property: Green Gate Village Historic Inn
Address: 76 West Tabernacle, St. George, UT 84770
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gate Village Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 1860's at this beautifully restored, eight home, upscale pioneer village, restaurant and general store. Recently awarded the "Best Historic B&B Inn in the Nation." 15 elegantly decorated guestrooms all with private bath, telephone, cable and VCR. Most have fireplaces and jetted tubs. Book a room or the entire village for your next weekend getaway, business retreat, wedding, reception or family reunion. Delight in a peaceful night's sleep and a hearty breakfast among antique furnishings, the historic Carriage House Reception Hall, our fully-equipped business center, Bentley House Restaurant and Judd's Store. Enjoy our heated pool, manicured lawns and flower beds, brick walkways and festive lighting. Our attentive staff is here to assure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Gate Village Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gate Village Historic Inn St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing