We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POOR MANAGEMENT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Brea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POOR MANAGEMENT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have stayed here many times and everything was GREAT. This time under new management we found the facility DIRTY, NOTHING in the kitchen was clean or working except the refrigerator with the coldness lowered to below normal. Hall carpets are FILTHY and no one cares about cleaning up spills for days in the lobby and outside the building. Stayed for 6 nights and the same leaves were there the whole time. I'm looking for another place in the area like Extended Stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that you found hallway carpets in bad condition and your room cleanliness wasn't up to expectations. To uphold our company's high standards, we are implementing manager's room check before each guest checks in. We are also scheduled for a full renovation this year which will take care of issues of stained carpet.

I really appreciate you bringing these problems to our attention. To discuss further, or if you have any questions, please contact me at ksavelieva@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    11
    20
    27
See reviews for
29
17
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We needed a room between stays at two different time share vacation locations. This hotel filled our needs as to location, and price. It was close to all the amenities that we could use ! If you ever need to stay for a longer stay, I would recommend Extended Stay America !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Loouie - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our location was convenient for your needs. Also, I am happy to hear that your found our rates to be affordable as well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Dirty room upon arrival. Flies had chips. Kitchen was sticky and had crumbs and leftover food. Had to clean bathroom and maid lied about doing the full clean in day 7. Bathroom locks didn't work. Laundry facilities were mostly out of order.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouseut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandy hotels

Pomona, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I absolutely NEVER give a bad review. I was truly disappointed with my stay. Staff was unfriendly. We were never greeted in our 5 night stay. Woke up to cigarette smoke which was a problem for my husband's bronchitis. It didn't feel like a vacation at all more like we had over-stayed our welcome at the in-laws house. I won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Mia - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am so disappointed that there was a smoke odor in your room and that my staff did not attend to your needs properly while staying with us. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I am coaching the entire team on how to provide better customer service moving forward. As well, our housekeeping staff has eliminated the odor in your room.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at sls@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

No pool or hot tub. Bathtub was not clean. Cold water faucet did not work. Looked like older facility, not particularly well maintained. Out of coffee and muffins one morning. Next morning, coffee was full of coffee grounds. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We used Priceline and reserved our stay for $32 a night. Our room had kitchenette, queen bed and full bath. Can't beat the price! Located by shopping mall and plenty of restaurants.
We will definitely stay here when we come to Utah to visit family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gravediggerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay here in Sandy.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have visited SLC/Sandy five times since August, 2012, to see my very ill mother-in-law; the last four visits, we stayed at Extended Stay America in Sandy, because the prices were reasonable and we could save some money by making our meals in our room, which had a kitchen. Choosing this hotel was definitely the right choice. Stephanie (the manager), Nicole (who blew me away by remembering my name after our first visit), and each of the other staff members treated us like family during each of our visits. With the circumstances of our visits, their friendly faces and expressions of concern for my mother-in-law were much appreciated, and were the reason for our return visits. Our last visit was to attend her funeral, and Stephanie and the rest of the staff were so kind and compassionate. I will miss seeing them.

The rooms: The beds seemed new and comfortable, we had no problems with the fridge, and everything was clean. We didn't like the frying pans that were provided, so on one occasion we just brought one of our own; however, the staff made it clear to us that all we needed to do is call them if we needed any additional kitchen items (we just packed what we needed instead). There were a few minor issues with the kitchen faucet leaking if the handle was not pushed back hard, and the spray from the shower head having a really wide radius, but I wasn't too bothered by these and did not report them to staff. If I had reported these issues, I am sure they would have sent someone up to fix them.

Bottom line: During a very difficult time in our lives, Stephanie and her staff at ESA went above and beyond to make us feel like family, and gave us a home away from home. We will never forget them. There has been some discussion of a family reunion in SLC on the anniversary of my dear mother-in-law's passing; if this happens, we will definitely stay here again. A HUGE "thanks" to Stephanie, Nicole, Vanessa, and all of the staff; you all are awesome.

Room Tip: They have some smoking rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Erin - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our property was comfortable for you and your husband. We wish you and your husband all the best and cannot wait to see you again, hopefully under better circumstances.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
1.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South Jordan
Sleep Inn South Jordan
#3 of 4 in South Jordan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy

Property: Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy
Address: 10715 S Auto Mall Dr, Sandy, UT 84070-4181
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Sandy
Extended Stay Sandy
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing