We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing to time travel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 1887 Hansen House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Closest thing to time travel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The property is authentic (on the historical register) and elegant. The food was excellent. The owner explained the history of the house which was fascinating. She prepared a beautiful breakfast and we also had afternoon high tea (by special request). It was a lovely experience. I would recommend this bed and breakfast for those that have an appreciation for history and the Victorian time period. It is a very convenient location to the Trax system.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heaven416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    16
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
47
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here our first two nights after our wedding. We picked the Hansen House because of Blue Room. My wife fell in love with it when she saw it online. She loved the decor, the circle bed and the fireplace. We both really enjoyed the in room hot tub. Each morning the hostess would prepare a wonderful breakfast. She was courteous enough to ask if we had any food allergies and at what time we would like our breakfast. She cooked using homemade recipes that were divine. My wife would go there just for the breakfast!!! We loved it and look forward to going there again probably to the Blue room again even though there are other rooms.

Room Tip: We Stayed in the Blue Room Both nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband brought me to the Hansen House B&B for our honeymoon 3+ years ago. It was beautiful and luxurious! I loved the ambiance of such a beautiful home. We just revisited it again for a special Valentine’s trip. It was better than I remembered it! The wine and gold room is beautiful and the new fireplace and digital TV update, although unnecessary made it even more perfect and the extra music stations made it even more relaxing.
Above all of this, Fran serves a beautiful breakfast in one of the most historically delicious dining rooms I have ever been in. It was wonderful to spend time in the sitting room or library playing games or visiting with the other guests and then be invited into a magnificent and meticulous meal.
As long as Fran will have us, we will be frequenting Hansen House as often as time permits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comewhatmayandloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent two different nights with Fran at the 1887 Hansen House B&B. With our family we used the Fox Hunt Cottage and it was perfect. Separate spaces for three generations of a family and a beautiful living room.
The second night my husband and I stayed in the Victorian room in the main house.
Highlights of both stays were the breakfasts. Fran also checked on food allergies as we checked in. Both our room and the cottage were immaculate and beautifully decorated. The convenience of the light rail system made travel to both downtown and the ski areas easy.
We will be back every time we are in Salt Lake City.

Room Tip: Families will love the fox Hunt Cottage. Every room has a wonderful electric fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent one night in the Paul Bunyan room while visiting the area - this was our "splurge" (stayed and some pretty bare bones places the previous nights). Upon arrival, Fran led us to our room, where we happily discovered a flat screen cable TV (the remote, and on which we watched lots of Top Gear and the Olympics), jacuzzi tub (nice hot bath), and a fireplace. The bed had flannel sheets, which we were skeptical about, but we slept straight through the night - no itchy sheets here. Breakfast was fabulous - I requested a gluten free breakfast and she accommodated - eggs, ham, and a delicious berry topped waffle. We were stuffed. Fran gave us the history of the house and a little tour of the other rooms in the house (as we were the only guests that night) - the blue lagoon room was beautiful and if we were to visit again, I'd pick that one. The Cottage looked like the perfect place for a girl's night/family trip - plenty of space.
Anyway, give Fran a call and book your room now - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: For a couple on a bit of a budget, the Paul Bunyan room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is the most delightful place my husband and I have ever stayed. Fran (the innkeeper) is so charming. I've never felt so welcome anywhere before. She made an amazing breakfast offering seconds and making sure we were full. The decor was wonderful and the suites are impeccable. It has a nice charm to it. Fran told us the history of the house and how it was passed down through her family. She was a delight. Such a good place to be. Has a wonderful feeling to it. We stayed in the blue lagoon suite and the round bed was pretty fantastic. I've literally told all of my friends about this place. It's Sandy's hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I spent three days at this lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed in the victorian room and how special that was. We enjoyed the "just right" bed, very cozy warm and fluffy yet firm mattress. The fireplace was often lit and the room was never cold, neither was the water for that matter. It was always perfect temperature for a relaxing bath or shower. The room was perfect for our taste and very clean. Beyond just the ambiance of the room our hostess was fantastic. She became like a mother and opened this place up for us, telling us to make ourselves at home and we were always welcome to the kitchen plates and utensils when we had our own personal meals. For the breakfast!! Oh my was it wonderful. Five stars for the delicious and filling meals, each vary unique and elegant in display. We loved our time and learning about the history of the house! I could go on for hours.
Thank you for a fantastic and magical stay! Can not wait to return.
-The Corbetts

Room Tip: Each room is so unique and elegant, we loved the victorian. A lot of space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCorbetts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
1.5 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1887 Hansen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1887 Hansen House

Property: The 1887 Hansen House
Address: 8586 S Center St, Sandy, UT 84070-1571
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The 1887 Hansen Hotel
1887 Hansen Hotel
The 1887 Hansen House Sandy, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing