We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet, clean and wonderful service..”
Review of Scipio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scipio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! I happen to have family in Scipio and have stayed here often. But, this time was wonderful. Ownership has changed and everything was so much cleaner! New owners so kind and helpful. Wonderful place to stay if you're visiting or happen to need to rest while traveling on Highway 15 in Utah.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank plumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Scipio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We were making the long drive from Bryce Canyon to Salt Lake City to drop off a hire car. To break the journey up we went through Scipio and stayed at this motel for the night. The pleasing thing about this motel is that it’s not a chain motel like every other motel you stay at. It’s actually an independent motel run by a very friendly couple who acquired it from a former chain of motels.

So, everything about it is quite typical of a chain motel. But the reception area has been given a different look to what I imagine it had in the days of it being part of a chain. For a start there is a very grand looking church style organ in the seating/dining area. All the furnishings in this little area are very eclectic and this helps to stamp some of the owner’s identity on the place. The owners greet you with warmth and sincerity and are also able to offer some home cooked meals. We were eating vegetarian and this was happily accommodated. To be honest, there isn’t a great deal else to do in the area, there are two gas stations on both side of the road immediately outside of the motel with little shops in, but that seems to be it as far as culinary choice goes (unless you want to get back into your car and drive back into the main part of the town).

The rooms are still very typical of a motel and are very clean, tidy and typically spacious for this type of motel. There is also free Wi-Fi and reception of this can vary as to which part of the motel you are in. Nearer to the reception gets you the better results. I also think there was a swimming pool, though at the time we were there I don’t think it was in use.

If you’re the type of person that fancies a couple of beers after a long drive then you will struggle here. With both gas station having shops, we thought we’d be able to buy a couple of bottles of beer and retire to our rooms, but unfortunately it seemed we were still in the dry zone. None of them sold any ‘liquor’ at all. The motel however is well situated for the drive to Salt Lake City. The main highway is just around the corner and after the breakfast of cereal, toast and tea/coffee and juice, we were soon bound for Salt Lake.

Overall, a decent place to stay, a bit off the beaten track, but worth staying at if you’re in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room within range of the Wi-Fi if you need it.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Wife and I had been riding our motorcyles all day and this was such a great place to stop and stay for the night. We had traveled 3900 miles and this was one of the best places we stayed in. Owner were so fabulous

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank livetoride07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I agree with the other posts, this is a clean and quiet motel. The hosts/(owners?) are so very nice. It is right off the I-15. Nothing else around except for the 3 gas stations that I saw. Micro/refer/coffee pot, (with tea also available too) in room. Only one minor problem was limited cable but I understand they should be getting something different. For a night, it was nice and comfortable. We bought TV dinners on route and popped them in the micro, didn't know if there was a restaurant nearby beforehand.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We were extremely pleased with the service and room at this motel. The owners/managers were very polite and cordial. The Scipio Motel is a great overnight oasis in any snow storm or family vacation and offered clean and reasonable accomodations to 3 weary college students riding out a winter storm. 20 miles north of Fillmore and close access to I-15.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were caught in a snowstorm going from Salt Lake to Moab. Lucky to find this great stop on 15 South - clean, spacious room. Lovely managers. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith01002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scipiohotel, Manager at Scipio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scipio
21.6 mi away
Best Western Paradise Inn & Resort
24.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fillmore
17.0 mi away
Gunnison Inn
Gunnison Inn
#1 of 2 in Gunnison
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hitch 'n Post Inn
Hitch 'n Post Inn
#1 of 2 in Salina
26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scipio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scipio Hotel

Address: 230 West 400 North, Scipio, UT 84656
Region: United States > Utah > Scipio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Price Range: £55 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scipio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Scipio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Scipio
Super Eight Scipio
Scipio Super 8
Scipio Super Eight
Scipio Hotel Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing