We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with good prices and friendly owners/managers”
Review of Scipio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scipio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Nice people running this establishment with very fair prices. Very clean rooms with fairly updated appointments. The kind folks running it said they were going to start providing optional home-cooked meals at dinner. That would be nice since the only alternatives were Subway and Dairy Queen. The continental breakfast had good bagels in addition to the normal cereal, yogurt and fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Having stayed here when it was owned by a prior national chain, I can say that not much has changed. It is still a convenient, clean, well managed property. It isn't fancy but meets my needs - a reliable, safe, comfortable place to stay on my way from Salt Lake to southern Utah. The manager is very personable and kind - he gave me an unadvertised discount without my asking.
The room was impeccably clean-No dust, no odor, no stains, no residue in the bathroom. The appliances were all in good working order. The decor and furniture wasn't fancy but appropriate for the rent. There are pet-friendly rooms for an additional $15. For the price, this place is a bargain. I would stay here in the future.
I have a couple of recommendations. One is too improve the signage - I knew where to look off the highway because I had been here before, but the sign is small, dark brown, and behind the hotel so it doesn't stand out. Secondly, the hotel's website is not secure, so I was uncomfortable making reservations on line.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xorreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We arrived in the evening at this quiet friendly hotel.This hotel was very clean and the owners were very nice. It is a friendly clean family owned hotel. Would defiantly recommend this hotel. We stayed on December 7 2012. The room was one of the cleanest we have stayed in on our two week vacation. We were passing through the area when we found it. They had a guest washer and dryer which were both clean and close to the room. They also had a nice breakfast including cereal, coffee, juice, toast, oatmeal, and breakfast rolls. Overall a great clean place at a great value. We have been on vacation for twelve days and by far one of the best we stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylegogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stopped in at the Scipio hotel because of a huge snowstorm on the way to Moab and spent a couple of nights before the mountains cleared up. We could not ask for more. The price was right, the rooms were very clean and freshly painted, and the owners (Clint and Melanie) were so kind and great hosts. Melanie even surprised us and cleaned the snow off our car. This is the type of hard-working family hotel that is hard to find these days.

They offer a simple but good home-cooked dinner option that hit the spot. You can eat either in your room or in the lobby. The continental breakfast was standard, but solid with no complaints. Local eating options are limited to the Dairy Queen and the Subway in local gas stations. The pool was closed for repairs when we were there, but they have a sign that says that at check-in.

I think this used to be a Super 8 motel, if that comes up on your GPS. The owners bought it a little while back. For the price, what you get in terms of cleanliness and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My Husband procured this lodging for my friend and myself... The owner was the desk clerk for the evening and was very nice and very accomodating... This is a very clean hotel, which is family operated and one to be proud of... Has a quaint continental breakfast, but nicely done... The hospitality of the Scipio Hotel was truly a comfort...... It is also rare for the clerk or owner to offer help with luggage... Fab...

Room Tip: Did not use a resturaunt here.... Could not leave the resturant box empty after I put a dot on it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derkattzenvomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I were on the way home to Los Angeles from Provo when an urgent need for Internet service came up. Clint and Melanie, the hotel's managers, accommodated us without any conditions. Their kindness brought great joy to us and we felt as if we were best friends for ages from the first time we met. We didn't have time to stay the night but surely we will return to visit this paradise of a valley. Central Utah's scenery has always been the most attractive to me, I hope to break away from Southern California's madness to spend some time there to reflect. I now know exactly where to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank docster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After a long day of driving, we checked in about 10 pm, ate some sandwiches we'd brought, and got ready for bed. That was when we discovered that the toilet handle mechanism was broken and the only way to flush was to reach into the tank and manually lift the stopper. The bathroom sink stopper was missing. How can housekeeping miss these things??? The beds were reasonably comfortable; the pillows were not. Before leaving, we checked the breakfast and decided to eat elsewhere. The gallon jug of milk was sitting out on the counter unrefrigerated. Overall, the place is quite dated--bedding, furniture, TV, general decor. The check-in and check-out staff were friendly. It was nice to be able to bring our well-behaved dog with us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scipio
21.6 mi away
Best Western Paradise Inn & Resort
24.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fillmore
16.9 mi away
Gunnison Inn
Gunnison Inn
#1 of 2 in Gunnison
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scipio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scipio Hotel

Address: 230 West 400 North, Scipio, UT 84656
Region: United States > Utah > Scipio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Price Range: £51 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scipio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Scipio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Scipio
Super Eight Scipio
Scipio Super 8
Scipio Super Eight
Scipio Hotel Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing