We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite escape from the heat of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Favorite escape from the heat of the city”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is amazing how a few minutes drive, climbing up the Little Cottonwood Canyon road, can leave a world of heat and hustle behind. The Iron Blosam Lodge (yes, it is spelled that way because it takes its name from a mine that was near the current location) is one of the first time share properties ever created. I use a unit that was purchased by my grandfather, and now is under my stewardship--third generation. That is also typical. Many of the families will own one or two weeks, and come for a reunion each summer. Some of them have told us they have been coming for over thirty years. This is a unique property, built of concrete, with grass-covered roofs, also way ahead of its time with a living roof--which is so popular today. There is a feeling of family among the visitors. Some folks are just renting from the units that are not in use that week, but most are return guests. We love to enjoy our meals on the balcony, facing the exciting mountain vista, watching wildlife wander through the meadows. At night, you can hear the sound of the mountain stream tumbling over rocks, gently lulling you into a pleasant night of slumber. Those who do not find a place at Iron Blosam have many other choices, some including restaurants and other retail amenities at the Snowbird Lodge. All is within walking distance. There are wonderful play areas for the younger guests. Iron Blosam has a pool and spa area for adults only, and a large pool for the children to enjoy. Certain times of the year there is a restaurant--closed during the summer, but open for ski season. The Snowbird Center provides access to the Tram, and a chair lift, alpine slides, many other activities, but best of all, access to the mountain trails. On Sundays, there is a worship service at 9:00 in the morning for guests who are interested. I found the nice LDS people so pleasant to visit with. That became a highlight for the day. The water at Snowbird is uniquely pure and tastes so refreshing. It has travelled through old mine shafts and has an excellent quality and flavour. I look forward to another visit next year. This is by far one of the loveliest places on earth.

Room Tip: Because it is a time share, there may not always be a huge selection of available rooms. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonecroft7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for my second year anniversary and it was an awful experience! The room has a thermostat but the air conditioning did not turn on. We called down and they said "there should be a fan in your closet. If that doesn't help enough we can bring another one up." It has been over 100 degrees in Utah - that did not help enough. It was extremely loud and the room was sweltering. My husband and I woke up several times throughout the night. I do not recommend this facility at all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hali O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the IBL through an exchange the second week of June. The lodge is not too far from the airport, which was great. The 6 mile trek up and down the mountain to the city each day wasn't too bad, and was necessary since the resort center's restaurants and grocery mart close very early. And I mean EARLY. If you are staying here you will definitely want to request at least a microwave in your room. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, but if you need to heat something up you are out of luck. A kitchenette would be best since the restaurants stop serving breakfast between 10:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m., and close at 8:00 p.m., not convenient for guests who are on vacation and not sticking to a set schedule.

One writer mentioned the age restriction being unenforced for the adult pool. This is true, although there is a teen swim from 4:30-6:30 pm Mon-Fri. So, watch out for that. The locker rooms and sauna were very clean.

The lodge is an older place, but pretty tidy. The carpet is older, the linens could probably be replaced, and the drapes need to be refreshed as well. Additionally, it is definitely a family friendly resort, so if you are looking for peace & quiet this may not be the place for you. The place seemed to be over run with teens, tweens, and toddlers while we were there. The family pool was FULL, all day, every day.

The staff is what this place has going for it. Everyone was very pleasant. We had to request a room change our first night at the lodge, and the front desk immediately sent someone up to our room with keys to other accommodations.

Our stay was pleasant, just wish we had done a little more research regarding the restaurant hours and service. For persons planning to stay at the lodge the majority of the time, you will want to make sure your room has a kitchenette or microwave to avoid the inconvenience of having to eat dinner early, or traveling down into the city and back at night.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicyHabanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I live in Cottonwood Heights (just at the bottom of the canyon) and wanted to get away for a couple nights. I definitely got what I was looking for, this was a great getaway. It feels like you're not half an hour (if that) from home, it is so peaceful. My partner and I shared a bottle of wine on the patio and it was so serene. I'd like to do this once a summer and make it a tradition. Loved it. Only complaint is that it can be a little noisy. There were many people at the pool late and there was an apparent party on a balcony close to us which was a bit of a distraction. All in all though, was happy to stay here and plan to do so again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hot tub and outdoor pool have great views. clean and convenient in lodge with a steam room and sauna and place to leave your things after checkout until you leave. Great gym too - right in the spa area! great presentations in the ldoge and entertainment at the Wildflower - also half price pizzas reasonably priced 4-6 PM

Room Tip: Get up high South Facing with a kitchen if possbily - beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pambo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been coming to the Iron Blossam for years as a family, as we own timeshares in both May and November each year.

The family pool is a fun place to gather, but we much prefer the warmer, quieter adult pool and hot tub. It's a great way to unwind after a day on the mountain.

The arcade is a disappointment, as the games are constantly broken and the same games have been there for the last 15 years.

The lodge is cozy, and the staff has always been friendly. We are always there in the off season, so I can't speak to the ski services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton,wa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great lodge to stay in for on the mountain access for skiing. Our unit has a kitchen so preparing your own dinners is easy. The staff often goes above and beyond in taking care of your needs. Snowbird does have the best snow conditions and trails for all levels of skier.
Don't miss a chance to visit Little Cottonwood Canyon and a stay at the Iron Blosam
Oh, yes the big hot tub and pool are great after a day of skiing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Either a view of the ski area or the mountain on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayFawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
7.2 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
13.8 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
9.3 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
71 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Snowbird
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Property: Iron Blosam Lodge
Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing