We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Fork Lodge(Brighton)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
166
203
94
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
203
94
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolski lockersmexican placeaerie restauranttop floorhot tubsnowbird altael chanateski resortcottonwood canyonsteam roomyoga classesticket officebreakfast buffetrental shopski schoolsmall fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a quick snowboarding weekend March 14-16. The location is perfect to just wake up and be on the mountain quickly. They provide lockers for your skis/boards which at first seemed lame but then quickly became a great idea. They are conveniently located and have dryers so you can put your boots and gloves on the driers in the lockers and when you head out then next morning everything is dry and ready. Check-in was fast and easy, our room was nice and had everything we needed for the weekend. We went to the Aerie restaurant for dinner one night and breakfast one morning. The food and service was good for both. However, the Steak Pit, which is next-door at the snowbird center was EXCELLENT! So definitely go there for dinner one night. We also ate dinner at El Chanate at the resort for dinner the day we left (because the Steak Pit had an hour wait and we had to leave). El Chanate was very busy but the food and service were both good. We also went in the pool and jacuzzi everyday which was so nice with the awesome scenery all around. Lastly, we took full advantage of the spa facilities. We got foot treatments, went in the steam room and spa pool and jacuzzi which was a little less crowded than the main pool. Everything at spa was great. Overall, we had a great time here and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokinhotmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

For the price of this hotel I expect much more. The bathroom door wouldn't lock, the walls are thin so if you decide to have some fun after the slopes expect your neighbour to bang on the wall to put an end to the party. The bathroom sink was full of cracks, the wood trim in bad need of refinishing, and all in all the place has seen better days. The bed is comfortable enough, but the pillows are those ridiculous "chiclet" throw type pillows that aren't big enough to sleep on unless you stuff two of them into one pillow case. Thankfully I brought my own. The prices at the restaurants are on the high side but the food is ok.

Room Tip: The mountain side rooms are priced at a premium, however if you are a light sleeper the sound of the snow groomers will drive you crazy. Save some money and get a room on the cliff side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just spent spring break skiing Snowbird. The adults loved the steep and fun terrain. There was plenty of intermediate terrain for the kids as well. Ski school was great. The hotel is the best location for ski in/ski out. The studio rooms are badly in need of renovation. The carpets old and dusty, beds ok but linen and towels worn and old. The bathroom is 80s style. The staff were pretty helpful and friendly. The studio had a tiny microwave but decent size mini-fridge and small kitchen sink. Our balcony overlooked the chickadee lift and outdoor pool. The venting funnels outside are loud and this would be a problem in summer. The better view would be on the other side overlooking the tram and other lifts/ski runs. The Aerie restaurant was quite good (but not cheap) and the mexican restaurant quite good for a cheap eat. We used Alpine Navigator for the transfers and they were excellent. Highly recommend you use them.

Room Tip: Not on the chickadee lift / outdoor pool side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a family ski vacation at Snowbird staying at the Cliff Lodge. I have stayed here multiple times over the years and this is truly one of the best places to stay in the world! The resort is at the base of a world class challenging ski mountain! When we were here we had plenty of fresh snow on a regular basis making the spring skiing ideal for us! The staff were extremely helpful. The ski package that we booked through the resort included our room and daily ski passes. While here we noted multiple people staying here from around the world speaking many different languages! I would recommend this resort without reservation. We had a fantastic time and the mountain view sunrise views were spectacular!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms were slightly more, but well worth it considering the view of Mount Baldy and Snowbird Mountain every morning!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noble A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed here twice on ski club trips including this month, and believe its probably the best hotel in the Snowbird/Alta area. The upside is friendly reception and staff, nice rooms (even numbers face the ski-side of the mountains) most or all with small fridges, the Aerie restaurant on the top 10th floor with magnificent views and overall delicious and not too expensive food (not counting the $20 breakfast buffet, yikes!), and most of all: ski-in and ski-out access to the tram and one lift chair. For skiers, Alta is just a few lift chairs and trails away, which is nice for the morning sun, while Snowbird is good for the afternoon chair. The downside is that without a car, your entertainment and dining options are limited especially if you're there for a week of skiing. Food is expensive especially breakfast, and if you want to eat in your room, only limited rooms have microwaves. While skiing, we found d that Snowbird restaurants on the mountain were more expensive than Alta; for ex, $5.45 including tax for grilled cheese with tomato sandwich @ Alta vs $9 fancy grilled cheese sandwich @ Snowbird mountain restaurants. One convenience is that Snowbird owns the adjacent restaurants such as a Mexican El Chanante and The Wildflower so you can use your hotel guest card to pay for all meals, and pay all at checkout. I did not try out the spa or outdoor pool and hot tub, but many in our group did, and enjoyed all the amenities.

If renting skis, compare choices and prices at Christies in the Snowbird Village with the Cliff Lodge ski shop.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the ski side mountain and overlook outdoor pool and sauna but mountain on the odd numbered side is nice as that's the view of the Aerie 10th floor restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdytogo_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews