We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern yet rustic”
Review of Sundance Resort

Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned by Robert Redford and known for its film festival, Sundance is uncrowded and offers top-notch skiing and atmosphere.
Central Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern yet rustic”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A simple spot with outstanding views and great amenities. Want to get away from it all without sacrificing any comforts, this is the place. Snuggled in a valley with mountains towering above is Sundance. Nothing feels hurried or complex. The people are friendly, the food good, the surroundings simple and beautiful and nature abounds. We have visited 5 or more times in the past 4 years and enjoy it a little more each time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    44
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only thing missing was Bob!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed 2 visits recently to Sundance Resort.. ate dinner there twice, once at the Foundry Grill and once at the Owl saloon. Also enjoyed riding the Ski life all the way to the top of the mountain and back down. The grounds are just lovely and so peaceful. Even the drive there on the Alpine Scenic Loop was gorgeous, with Aspen forests and Queen Anne's Lace everywhere. It really looks like you are in the Swiss Alps! Beautiful and so enjoyable. I have to say the only negative was we missed seeing the founder, my favorite, Robert Redford, as he was in New York the week we were at Sundance! maybe next time......

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sassy11954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hiking in the most amazing setting.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A short day trip to experience a wonderful, slightly challenging hike at Sundance. We rode the lift, hiked across to Stewart Falls and then down to lunch at the resort! Worth every minute!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LLD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga WY
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the drive just up the mountain!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just an incredible setting, and much nearer to the highway than you'd expect. We had an excellent lunch on the patio - darned near perfect. The pizza was huge for just one person, and our server was very nice. Nice gift shop, too. We took the ski lift up the mountain - great views; you really get an appreciation for the planning that kept the building profiles discreet. Be sure to walk around, and check out the gallery toward the back of the compound.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PBandJ2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was here for a 2 day seminar, but did not stay here. The grounds were very scenic. Food was great. Appeared to be a lot of things to do if you are the outdoorsy type. Some of the people who stayed there said that the cabin rooms were very nice. I plan on going back next spring a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundance Resort also viewed

Sundance, Wasatch Range
Sundance, Wasatch Range
 
Sundance, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing