We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star Gazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teasdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Shadows Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star Gazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

These are clean, spacious cabins in what seems like the middle of nowhere...just what we wanted for viewing the Perseid Meteor Shower. These are some of the darkest skies we have ever seen. We loved being able to see the Milky Way, because in Cleveland, it's a rarity. Our cabin was quite large, with 2 fairly comfortable queen beds. There is a small kitchen with a stovetop and refrigerator. We loved this, as we prefer to cook our own meals. The nearest regular grocery store is in Loa, which is a bit of a drive, but to us, all part of getting to know our surroundings. A small table with 2 chairs is available for dining, or you can use your picnic table outside. Another small table with 2 chairs is available on the back porch. There's plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the bathroom. There are stunning views from the cabin, and Capitol Reef National Park, with all of it's amazing scenery is a very short drive away. The city of Torrey is a 5 minute drive up the road, and appeared to have quite a few restaurants and a few shops. The owner of Pine Shadows, Debbie, let us know she was on site if we needed anything, but was not intrusive. There is information about the area available in her office. Movies are available as well. This is the perfect place to relax after spending long days at Capitol Reef. We would stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnegrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    9
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
77
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pine Shadows Cabins. The Cabins were clean and quite large. The location is very beautiful and peaceful. I have not seen that many stars in the sky in a long time. The price was quite reasonable and Capitol Reef National Park is a hidden gem. Overall, we would highly recommend a stay. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

These beautiful, clean, spacious, cabins offer a terrific view of sandstone cliffs by day and the most wonderful stars by night. The owners make you feel right at home and provide the best information about the area. After hiking in the National Park we took a hike in the beautiful National Forest only one mile from the cabins. Our car need a jump after the hike and when we got back to the cabin the owners didn't hesitate to get in their truck to get our car going. It was like being with family. Anyone would love this place!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice, spacious, clean cabins in a scenic setting. Simple but lacking for nothing. Great deal too. Good home base for exploring Capitol Reef, Highway 12, and all other attractions too numerous to mention. Nearest food and supplies are in Torrey, so get what you need before venturing to Teasdale.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tut232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We originally reserved a cabin at a nearby RV Park, but it turned out to be unacceptable, so we contacted Pine Shadow Cabins and were delighted to find their excellent, affordable cabins with everything we needed - kitchen, comfortable bed, super clean, wifi, modern tv, patio looking out a the nearby cliffs, bbq, etc. We spent two nights at Pine Shadows and can recommend them without reservation to anyone touring Capitol Reef National Park (which is a gem).

Room Tip: All of the cabins are excellent! Best dining in the area is at the Southwest Cuisine CAFE DIAB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at the cabins while we enjoyed the scenery and hiking at Capitol Reef. The rooms were large, clean, and the staff was so accommodating. They helped us find great places to hike,where the best place to enjoy the sunset and find great dinning choices. It was relaxing, awe inspiring and peaceful, and having great accommodations to get back to and rest made the trip the best. I am definitely going back. I will go back with friends or alone as a retreat. Would love to take the kids next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam5477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pine Shadows is one of the best places I have ever stayed. I have visited there at least 8 times in the past and will definitely go back next year. Capitol Reef, close to where Pine Shadows is located is beautiful, relaxed and has some of the best hiking and views anywhere. To return to the cabins every day after hiking is a wonderful delight and something special to look forward to. Debbie and Steve Gates, who own and manage Pine Shadows are wonderful, very accommodating and will do everything in their power to make sure your stay is fabulous. The attention to detail, cleanliness, spaciousness and amenities in each cabin combine for a very good nights rest. I love to sit out on the back porch and watch the sun go down while listening to the crickets, watching the stars and enjoying the solitude. I can't recommend Pine Shadows enough. I promise that you have never stayed in such wonderful cabins as these!!!

Room Tip: any cabin is a great choice but if you have a larger group or family, there is the option of a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teasdale
6.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
4.6 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.5 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
6.0 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Shadows Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Shadows Cabins

Property: Pine Shadows Cabins
Address: 195 West 125 South, PO Box 25, Teasdale, UT 84773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Teasdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Teasdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every cabin has a front and back entrance, and a covered porch for viewing the rock formations, the Velvet Ridge, cedars, and pinion pines. As the early morning sun changes its position in the sky, one can sit and watch these sandstone mountains turn bright orange, then coral, and finally almost a pure white. The spacious cabins have two queen beds and a television with VCR. Bathrooms have bathtub with shower. A kitchen affords each guest with the option of cooking in or eating out. The kitchen includes sink, range, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, glass table with chairs, and cooking and eating utensils. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Shadows Cabins Utah/Teasdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing