We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
123
38
11
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
38
11
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbisongreat roomcapitol reeffremont rivernavajo rugsold westhot tubfirst floorsound travelslarge fireplacestaff ownersbeautiful utahwildflower roomtwo nightssurrounding cliffsnational parkwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

My wife and I spent two nights in April. We were touring the National Parks of Utah and this was by far the nicest accommodations we had out of three very nice places we stayed. The lodge and its rooms are wonderfully decorated with western art and paraphernalia, and while the property has the appearance of early 2oth century construction it was actually built in the 1990's and thus has modern bathrooms and other amenities. The property is situated a couple of miles outside of Torrey with a beautiful backdrop of Utah red rock. There is a small herd of buffalo pastured in the acreage between the road and the lodge, which adds to the western flavor. Our hosts J.R. and Charlene were very friendly and informative and they served an excellent breakfast with several delicious choices, including some of the best home fries I have every eaten. My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Welcome to "The Ponderosa". I'm calling it that because that's what it reminded us of. It's entirely built by hand out of logs (inside & out) . The Fremont River flows 20 feet within the property, the Red Mountains are the dramatic backdrop & yes, there are bison grazing on the front lawn. The decor is very vintage western. The is is the real deal of western opulence. Each of the 15 rooms are luxurious, distinctive & eclectic. The Safari room (2nd floor, 500 sq.feet) or Tyrollean Room (3rd floor, 600 sq.feet) are knockouts. But each room has its own unique features, charm & character. JR, who runs the ranch & lodge with his sister, helped his father build this place in 1995.
He is so warm & welcoming, which adds to the charm. This place is 1 of a kind and one of my all time favorites!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JBesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We were touring the Utah National Parks and visited Capital Reef and Grand Staircase and accommodations in this area are limited. The lodge is truly decorated as I would describe a western hunting lodge complete with Elk antlers, mounted deer heads and a huge fireplace. The rooms are each uniquely decorated! They had an excellent breakfast menu and the lodge is family operated in a bed and breakfast style. Very comfortable and highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Stayed at Lodge in late September for two nights. Words cannot convey the hospitality we received from J.R. and Charlene. The Lodge was truly rustic luxury and the photos we had seen online before we arrived did not do justice to the actual accommodations and grounds. Delicious breakfast choices and comfortable rooms. Close to Capitol Reef and scenic rt. 12. We stayed two nights and was the most memorable stay during our two week trip seeing Utah's grand circle national parks.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Pleasant stay in beautiful rustic lodge with scenic views and lots of western charm. Convenient to Capital Reef Natl Park Warm and inviting hosts that make you feel at home, and are a wealth of local information. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay, and I would whole heartedly recommend this lodge to anyone traveling in the area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews