We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better off sleeping in the desert” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ledges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Ledges Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Arkansas
2 reviews
“Better off sleeping in the desert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

I would suggest you keep driving and not stay at this hotel.

After staying here, it is obvious that the "excellent" reviews assigned to this location are likely fakes.
Upon arriving, I had questions about the room and the rates that I had reserved. The women at the counter had a very poor knowledge of the English language, and could not answer my questions.

The only thingt that this hotel has going for it is the close proximatey to Bryce canyon and Escalante national monument.

The rooms were a bit shabby and did not have a clean feel. It is clear that no money has been put into remodeling or maintenance in years. There was a bad chemical odor in the rooms--smelled strongly of bleach. The ice machines did not work, which was a bummer.

There was a nice view from the parking lot when the sun was setting, however, if your room faces the dirty trailer park in the rear (they don't house there employees in a nice setting, either), I pity you.

Also....bring your own beer......the little grocery store in town really punishes the "heathens," $11.00 for a six of 4.0% beer.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkie_Okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    171
    258
    101
    38
See reviews for
156
325
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

Basic hotel with an excellent staff. We had a nice stay in this clean but well maintained hotel (with free internet and cable) on our vacation to Bryce.

  • Liked — Location, 15 minutes from Bryce Canyon.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hikin_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We overnighted here and wish we would have driven through the town first to see the other accomodations available.

The Junior Suite was tiny, not sure what made it a suite with one queen bed a table and tv. A horrible musty, moldy smell greeted you when you entered the room. The hotel has a guest laundry, but they can't give you change and there is no change machine.

The parking lot is gravel and slopped so skip it if you are on a motorcycle.

The gardner (that's a stretch) decided to pull a large yucca plant out of the ground at 7am - what a treat.

I would suggest spending your $100 on a different location - they have to be better.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tropic hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

Although appx 5 to 10 minutes driving farther from Bryce Canyon, by far preferrable over the overcrowded and busy Ruby's in.

Standard motel room.

Especially nice is the cosy Restaurant next door (the only one in the village apart from a Pizza parlour), featuring live music during dinner.
Go there early (< 8 pm), as they are quickly out of room.

Get up early to see the sun rise: very cold (17 F) but unforgettable!

  • Liked — Location, restaurant next door
  • Disliked — Price (but all hotels near Bryce are expensive)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

I stayed at several budgets on my Utah trip and this was yet another. Clean with decent size rooms. Had a good wireless connection that was free. Located next to restaurant, ice cream store and gas station. Parking lot is ok size but does fill up with the RVs and other vehicles. Got budget rate under $100 (AAA). Has Southwest theme. Very close to Bryce Canyon. Gravel parking lot. Typical standard for the price.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank capsfan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

We found the Bryce Valley Inn because the hotels at Bryce Canyon were full. There were only a few rooms available when we arrived and our only choice was an economy room. We were a little worried about the room but it turned out to be ok. It was small with older furniture but was very clean and comfortable. The next morning we were able to change to a suite. There was a price difference but there was also a great difference in the room. This was truly the nicest room we stayed in on our vacation. We stayed at Bryce Valley Inn for 4 days and loved it. We talked to others staying there and learned that there are several different types of rooms with varying prices. Everyone was impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. We would certainly tell our friends to stay here. We especially enjoyed the dining experince at Clarke's Restaurant near the hotel. The food was excellent, the service was great, the staff was friendly and the wine was superb. Sometimes they were very busy, but it was worth the wait. The other restaurants we tried in the area were not as good. We loved Bryce Canyon. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth. Scenic highway 12 is a wonderful drive that should not be missed. We were also directed to points of interest on the Escalante
grand Staircase National Monument that were awsome. We loved hiking the slot canyon and seeing the beautiful natural arch. The scenery varies so much in this area and there is so much to see that we are planning to go back and stay for a week next year. The small town of Tropic is located in the center of all the beauty and the best place to stay in our opinion. The Bryce Valley inn appeared to be the nicest hotel in town. We will be staying here again next year.

  • Liked — Room and dining
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank scenicfly444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

We were looking at motel possibilities going East after day's visit to Bryce Canyon National Park. Came into small town of Tropic, UT and stopped at first motel which was Bryce Valley Inn. Seemed like a good spot to overnight. We had the choice of "Executive Suite" or "Economy Room". Yes, there is definite difference in rates. We chose the "Economy Room" which is located in a bunk house type arrangement several buildings down from the main office. Very small room with little space to move around in with luggage and two people and old furnishings. No ice bucket or cups in room with a trip back up the way to office for both. Then, found out there is no ice machine in the building with rooms; had to go to nearby restaurant or back up to main office for ice. Since the restuarant was closer, decided to get ice there. Request not well received by folks in restaurant. Overall, interest and service to customers at this facility was definitely lacking. Realize location is everything (near national park, small town), but our rating for this one is - overpriced, poor rooms (economy room), and staff really not interested in guests. Recommendation: Look at other motels in town before making decision.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank fsranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ledges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ledges Inn

Property: Red Ledges Inn
Address: 181 North Main St, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Ledges Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR OWN LITTLE SOUTHERN RETREAT Located in the valley below Bryce Canyon National Park, in the town of Tropic, the Red Ledges Inn is conveniently situated on Scenic Byway 12, Utah's All-American highway. As your destination for Bryce Canyon lodging, we strive to provide an environment that is comfortable and relaxing to those who want to enjoy Southern Utah's beauty. Visit the Red Ledges Inn today and experience the majesty of Utah's National Parks. A short distance in nearly any direction will take you to see such natural wonders as Bryce Canyon National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument, Kodachrome State Park, Calf Creek Falls, and so much more. Visit our information page for more activities to enjoy while staying in beautiful Bryce Valley. Here in Bryce Canyon Country, our hotel offers comfortable accommodations for your lodging needs. In addition to comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, and Direct TV, we offer a light continental breakfast, lounge, patios, and superlative customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Red Ledges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Bryce Valley
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley Hotel Tropic
Americas Best Value Inn Tropic
Red Ledges Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing