We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Red Ledges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Ledges Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The national parks were closed that week and we were given the option to cancel our reservation and get a full refund which we thought was nice of the management. We opted to stay and hike Dry Fork Canyon and Neon Canyon, excellent choices. The room was clean, laundry room was close to our room so it was easy access getting our hiking clothes washed at the end of the day. The breakfast was in the restaurant next door, it was cozy and the food was plentiful and good. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was #110 close to the laundry room. Plenty of parking space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nofear5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Red Ledges Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was traveling for work and did not have many choices to choose from. This hotel had the best reviews of the hotels I could choose from. I was a little worried because the last Americas Best Value Inn I stayed at was a very horrible experience.

Really for a hotel in rural Utah, this is pretty good. It was clean, it had Wifi and you can walk to a few of the restaurants in town. You don't spend much time in your room anyway because there is so much to do. I was there for work, by the time I checked in and ate dinner it was bed time and I left first thing in the morning.

If I was taking my family, I would probably stay at a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbart73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

ABVI Bryce Valley (Tropic, Utah) is a motel that is on the back side of Bryce Canyon and near the Grand Staircase National Market. Tropic is a small village, primarily agriculture, so don't expect many tourist amenities here. My room at ABVI was of adequate size, and had basic furnishings. The bathroom is very tiny though, you can find larger bathrooms on cruise ships. My check in experience was pleasant, the receptionist may have been a foreign exchange student, I wish that I had asked. She provided me with a wifi code and a voucher for breakfast at the co-owned Clarke's restaurant (next door). I don't use public wifi for security reasons, so can't comment on it. There was a surprisingly strong Verizon signal in the room, suggesting a pico cell in or near the hotel, although this signal allowed voice only (no data).

The gravel parking lot was quite full when I was there, the motel was likely operating near capacity so be prepared for this if it is raining.

In short, this is an adequate place for resting a day or two near Bryce Canyon, but it by no means is a luxurious accomodation. I would stay here again when visiting Bryce Canyon, a park well worth the visit.

The similar other lodgings (e.g. Best Westerns) and commercial operations outside the Bryce Canyon gate are all owned and operated by the Syrett family, who recently petitioned to become their own town in order to receive tax revenue.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the America's Best Value as I wanted to photograph Kodachrome Basin State Park (the national parks were closed at the time). We got to the hotel about 9:30 pm and our reception was OK, but not overly warm. When I got to the room, it was OK, but the floor was a little sticky in some places. At 10pm I went to use the Internet and found that I hadn't been given a key by the receptionist. I called downstairs to get it, but the receptionist was gone for the evening. So no checking on emails or other Internet work.

I had really hoped for more. Might not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLTKiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This place looked ok and we were desperate. We had to stay here for a conference but i would never stay there again. The wifi never worked, the Tvs had some major issues, broken remotes and horrible reception, and the free breakfast was kind of a joke. The food was really good, Clarkes restaurant is really nice but the hotel only lets you have 4 things to eat. and juice or coffee count as one. Also the lobby closes around 8 and they just put a phone outside if you have problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cps774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room looked a little shabby, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was average, but perfectly adequate for a one-night stay after a long day of hiking in Bryce Canyon. Breakfast, which is included in the price is served at a nearby restaurant and it is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Switz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Room and bathroom were very dated and dark, with a view of the parking lot, and we had to struggle upstairs with our bags as there was no elevator. Good points were the extremely pleasant and helpful staff, and very good dinner and breakfast at the next-door Clarke's restaurant. Appreciate this is a budget hotel; however, would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side have a view of fields rather than the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyfizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,043 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
554 reviews
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ledges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ledges Inn

Address: 181 North Main St, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley)
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: £49 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Ledges Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR OWN LITTLE SOUTHERN RETREAT Located in the valley below Bryce Canyon National Park, in the town of Tropic, the Red Ledges Inn is conveniently situated on Scenic Byway 12, Utah's All-American highway. As your destination for Bryce Canyon lodging, we strive to provide an environment that is comfortable and relaxing to those who want to enjoy Southern Utah's beauty. Visit the Red Ledges Inn today and experience the majesty of Utah's National Parks. A short distance in nearly any direction will take you to see such natural wonders as Bryce Canyon National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument, Kodachrome State Park, Calf Creek Falls, and so much more. Visit our information page for more activities to enjoy while staying in beautiful Bryce Valley. Here in Bryce Canyon Country, our hotel offers comfortable accommodations for your lodging needs. In addition to comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, and Direct TV, we offer a light continental breakfast, lounge, patios, and superlative customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Ledges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Bryce Valley
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley Hotel Tropic
Americas Best Value Inn Tropic
Red Ledges Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing