We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Ledges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Ledges Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be prepared”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Motel is 15-20 minutes from Bryce Canyon. That seems to be it's biggest advsntage. Tropic is possibly the dullest little town ever.
Be prepared for your reception. Never I have encountered such a bold and unpleasant reception as here. Expect to be treated as a dog. Yough ladies try to be kind. The elder woman almost barks at guests.
Room (with two beds) are moderate. Airco very old and noisy. Rooms also very noisy.
Breakfast is not very good.
Just go here if you really have to!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KramerremarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    171
    258
    101
    38
See reviews for
156
326
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our first time staying at Americas Best and if this is their best, that is not saying much. The room was small and everything in the room was old, the closet was just a rack in the room. We got there around 7pm and were lucky to find a parking spot. Not enough spaces. The buildings are old and worn, the stairs were falling apart. A positive note: the bed was comfortable and the shower had good hot water pressure but the toilet was very low and rattled when you used it. Upon check in the staff gave us vouchers for breakfast at their restaurant next door. In the lobby was a note that stated you could choose 4 items off the special menu, coffee or tea being one of them, which we thought should not have been one of the choices. We choose a toasted bagel, pancakes which were good, bacon and sausage and one egg which are best described as pigeon eggs, such a small portion. The coffee was week. Unfortunately not to many places to stay in that area so we were stuck.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krysiaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights while some of our group ran the Bryce canyon half marathon. We usually stay a little closer to the entrance of Bryce Canyon but it was all booked up. We pulled in and I was a little concerned because the town is so small but I quickly began to like Tropic.

Tropic has a ton of stuff without all the crowds. The hotel itself is located in a very good spot in town. There are several little restaurants, one with flame lit outdoor seating and surprisingly different menu, a grocery store, convenience store and great little coffee shop within walking distance of the hotel.

The rooms were fine with clean linens and the bathroom in good working order. There were several people doing small maintenance around the property which gave me the impression they kept on on the place pretty good.

Front desk was polite and very helpful and even let one extra person who showed up at the late minute join us without hassle. Perfect location for the race too, we will stay here again next time.

I didn't see a pool or any other spa facility but there was so much else to do it was okay. Plenty of parking and good room access as well. It was exactly what I would expect from the star rating and price we paid and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Won't really matter. There are two floors only so get a ground floor if carrying stuff up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've stayed at this place twice in the last few months. The first time, I stayed in the building in the back that's not attached to the lobby. It had two double beds, no fridge or microwave & the TV was super ancient... like from the 60's. The beds were comfy though & the breakfast next door is excellent though, so I decided to come back there on the next trip. This time I stayed in a room with two queens in the building where the lobby is and it was totally different. It looked like the room had been remodeled, with beautiful granite counters, flat screen tv, new paint & carpet, plus it had a microwave & fridge! I was pleasantly surprised! Once again, the breakfast was great! My family loved it! Opt for the "newer" rooms with two queens... you'll be much happier! The fact that there was a grocery store, gas station, gift shop & restaurant adjacent to the property was fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled dbl queen room in the same building as the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room was stale. The interior was old fashioned. The WIFI worked barely. The room wasn't exceptionally clean, but probably it was the old furniture that was the reason.
The breakfast was the worst I had in a fortnight.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, also the old interior and WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justanormalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tropic hotels

Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Super basic hotel but service was great, location was great and the town is really interesting. A little pricey for what it is but overall it was acceptable. The free breakfast was good and the store was a good place to stock up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

No frills but clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful. Breakfast next door was free and tasty. Close to Bryce Canyon. We will definitely stay here again if we ever visit Bryce again. Would recommend this to anyone traveling on a budget

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
607 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
514 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#4 of 6 in Bryce
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ledges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ledges Inn

Property: Red Ledges Inn
Address: 181 North Main St, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Ledges Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR OWN LITTLE SOUTHERN RETREAT Located in the valley below Bryce Canyon National Park, in the town of Tropic, the Red Ledges Inn is conveniently situated on Scenic Byway 12, Utah's All-American highway. As your destination for Bryce Canyon lodging, we strive to provide an environment that is comfortable and relaxing to those who want to enjoy Southern Utah's beauty. Visit the Red Ledges Inn today and experience the majesty of Utah's National Parks. A short distance in nearly any direction will take you to see such natural wonders as Bryce Canyon National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument, Kodachrome State Park, Calf Creek Falls, and so much more. Visit our information page for more activities to enjoy while staying in beautiful Bryce Valley. Here in Bryce Canyon Country, our hotel offers comfortable accommodations for your lodging needs. In addition to comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, and Direct TV, we offer a light continental breakfast, lounge, patios, and superlative customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Ledges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Bryce Valley
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley Hotel Tropic
Americas Best Value Inn Tropic
Red Ledges Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing