We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Comfortable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ledges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Ledges Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

I was actually surprisingly pleased with the quality of the room and service at Bryce Valley Inn. It was very clean and comfortable and although the room itself was a bit dated, the bed, furniture, television and all looked brand new. The staff wasn't very cheerful but then again I did arrive about 2 minutes before closing time. But they still catered to my needs without complaint. If I ever have the chance to go back, I'll definitely return to the Bryce Valley Inn

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MEGREG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    171
    258
    101
    38
See reviews for
156
325
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorthEast
Level Contributor
316 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

A terrible choice and poor AAA listing. This place is run by gum chewing teenagers at the front desk with the Gen Manager MIA. The rooms are old and dingy with poor lighting. Half the laundry machines were broken and there was a long wait while local residents competed for their use. The on-site handyman did little but look, tinker and say he would check back later. The parking lot is a dusty, gravel lot with very large propane and other fuel tanks outside one side of the building, along with a smelly horse corral. The free continental breakfast is adequate and offered next door in a cleaner restaurant. One word of caution, if you arrive after 11 PM, the front desk is closed and your key will be in an envelope with your name on it, taped to the locked front door of the office - Big Security Problem here.

  • Liked — Close to Bryce National Park
  • Disliked — Staff, room, and site
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tropic hotels

Housatonic, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

There are very limited choices for lodging and dining in the Bryce Canyon area. We stayed here two nights in June and had a pleasant stay. The room was ample size, it has a small refrigerator and the hotel is in a very rural area. There is a general store, gas station and restaurant on the premises. A continental breakfast was included. The hotel is an older one but the room was clean enough and the bed was firm. it is convenient to Bryce Canyon and I would recommend taking the scenic drive on Highway 12 to Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed here right before Memorial Day. I wanted to stay at Ruby's Inn , but was already booked two months prior to our staying, so were the other lodges located closer to Bryce Np. I was concerned about staying here, but did not want a long drive to and from the park, so I decided to give it a try. Booked a king executive suite that they said had just been redone. The room was pricey around 100 dollars. The room was nice and I could tell it had been rececntly renovated. The room had a very musty smell to it. We put on the a/c and eventually it got better. I dont know if I got used to the smell or it did actually go away. The hallways were in desperate need of a vaccuum on both nights of our stay. The room was large and had a small sofa and the bedding was very smart. I really cant say exactly what it is, but there was something about the place that did not sit well with me. The breakfast choices were limited, but I dont like to complain about that because it is free. I would not say to not stay here, but I would definetly try one of the other lodging closer to the park instead if they were available.

  • Liked — close to Bryce Np
  • Disliked — dark unkept hallway
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2006

This was one of the least favourite hotels we stayed in on our tour round Grand Canyon country, and also not one of the cheapest. We had the same experience as another reviewer, of being charged more than the internet quote. When I queried it, they were apologetic and changed to the quoted rate with no problem.
I can confirm that there is a small trailer park out the back. Not very scenic from our bedroom window.
The hotel definitely needs updating. Ancient tele with no remote control, and the ice-machine wasn't working when we were there.
Having said all that, there didn't seem to be any where else much to stay within a reasonable distance from Bryce National Park for the price. It was ok for just a couple of nights.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank rilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2006

It's true that bryce valley inn is a bit dated but that should be expected in an inn in the middle of nowhere. The location is ideal. It's very close to Bryce Canyon National Park, one of Utah's if not the U.S.'s most beautiful canyons! It's also close to Kodachrome Basin, Zion, Grand Staircase Escalante. The price isn't too bad either, but double check the receipt when you pay. If I hadn't checked, the lady at the front desk would've charged me almost $100 more! She was apologetic though and corrected the miscalculation. But best to check. Nice thing about this inn also is that it is next to 3 restaurants. The inn's own Hungry Coyote (good porkchops), Clarke's Restaurant (great bread), and best of all, Bryce Country Inn's Pizza Place (best of the 3, in terms of value and taste). Clarke's also has a gas station and a well-stocked grocery so you're pretty secure about supplies. Bryce Valley Inn has free wifi but if you didn't bring any hardware, Clarke's next door has internet ready pc at $0.25 per minute. But who cares about the internet when Bryce Canyon's unique beauty is nearby to entertain you. Try to catch the sunrise at sunrise point!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff didn't vacuum the whole time we were there
  • Tips/Secrets — double check your receipt
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dissolvedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2006

We stayed here one night before heading to Bryce Canyon. When we checked in, the desk clerk made a point of saying that yes, the clock behind the desk was right. I thought this odd since we hadn't asked what time it was. We found out why people had asked the next moring, when we discovered that the clock in our room was an hour behind. It was irritating because we'd wanted to get an early start hiking. The accommodations were very basic but clean. The room's television dated from the '70s, had average reception, and no remote control. The food in the adjacent restaurant is adequate to sustain life unless you have high cholesterol. Meat and fried stuff about sums it up.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KClibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ledges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ledges Inn

Property: Red Ledges Inn
Address: 181 North Main St, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Ledges Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR OWN LITTLE SOUTHERN RETREAT Located in the valley below Bryce Canyon National Park, in the town of Tropic, the Red Ledges Inn is conveniently situated on Scenic Byway 12, Utah's All-American highway. As your destination for Bryce Canyon lodging, we strive to provide an environment that is comfortable and relaxing to those who want to enjoy Southern Utah's beauty. Visit the Red Ledges Inn today and experience the majesty of Utah's National Parks. A short distance in nearly any direction will take you to see such natural wonders as Bryce Canyon National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument, Kodachrome State Park, Calf Creek Falls, and so much more. Visit our information page for more activities to enjoy while staying in beautiful Bryce Valley. Here in Bryce Canyon Country, our hotel offers comfortable accommodations for your lodging needs. In addition to comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, and Direct TV, we offer a light continental breakfast, lounge, patios, and superlative customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Ledges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Bryce Valley
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley Hotel Tropic
Americas Best Value Inn Tropic
Red Ledges Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing