We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place but dangerous showers!”
Review of Red Ledges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Ledges Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Reviewed 19 August 2007

The people at the hotel were very friendly both when I booked over the phone and during our stay however they have an issue with their hot water which I think needs urgent attention and I'm not sure was taken seriously. The shower changes from being at an ambient temperature to boiling/burning hot in a second for no apparent reason (this is nothing to do with someone turning on a cold tap/faucet or flushing the toilet) this happened to both me and my husband so we did not allow the children to take a shower. Later in the day the hot water ran out completely!
I reported these 2 things to the girl at the desk who was kind and concerned but evidently this is a much bigger problem and there was little she could do.
Generally the hotel is well placed with some nice views, it has a convenient laundromat downstairs and a nice gift shop and eateries next door.
We had arrived here having had 5 days camping/rafting in Canyonlands and a good wash was all we really wanted! The water situation is serious as someone may be burnt if it is not addressed. If travellers can be assured that this was a temporary problem then overall I would say that it was a comfortable and pleasant stop-over if a bit expensive for what it delivers.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Britabroad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2007

Our reservation had been made 5 months ago from Europe, direct by the America best value inn web site!
After a 8 hours drive, we arrived around 9 30pm at the hotel; a teen ager was at the front desk. The young person, totally unexperimented, couldn't find our reservation neither with our name nor with our credit card nummer! We still din't know if she really was able to use a computer but she answered us right away that our reservation had been cancelled!!!!!!!!!!! By who and when, she was unable to say anything about it . Other people came after us and they got their rooms. I suppose the young lady wished we went away in the dark with our three children just like that... We had to insist, to say it was impossible our reservation had been cancelled. We wanted to see the manager but we couldnt even call her by phone as we asked for! After a moment as we didn't want to leave the place ,the young person at the desk proposed us another room only for one night, as we needed 2, and we had to pay extra for it! So we had to pay for another room, much smaller available just for one night as we made a reservation fo 2 nights in a double queen bed! ! As our children were exshausted , we took this room. We arrived at he door with all of our suitcases and we tried to open the door with the key; Impossible to open ! Someone was already sleeping in the room and was totally scarry because we tried to open the door!
At 11 pm, completely despaired, we had to find en "emergency room" in Tropic in another place with the children crying......
We went and see the manager the morning after and told her about our story. In fact our room had not been cancelled, but the young person was not able to do properly her work... Why was she then left alone with the responsabilities of the customers?The morning after, we came back as we promissed to meet the manager, who saued she didn't no about our problem. We told her about what happened, she just apologised lightly, but didn't propose anything else and more, we had to insist not to pay the price of the ungiven room, because we were still registered in the computer and they couldn't have charge us for the ungiven room, just as if we didn't come!!!!! THE REAL NIGHT MARE OF OUR HOLIDAYS!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Check-in / front desk
2  Thank fatherandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

I was actually surprisingly pleased with the quality of the room and service at Bryce Valley Inn. It was very clean and comfortable and although the room itself was a bit dated, the bed, furniture, television and all looked brand new. The staff wasn't very cheerful but then again I did arrive about 2 minutes before closing time. But they still catered to my needs without complaint. If I ever have the chance to go back, I'll definitely return to the Bryce Valley Inn

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MEGREG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

A terrible choice and poor AAA listing. This place is run by gum chewing teenagers at the front desk with the Gen Manager MIA. The rooms are old and dingy with poor lighting. Half the laundry machines were broken and there was a long wait while local residents competed for their use. The on-site handyman did little but look, tinker and say he would check back later. The parking lot is a dusty, gravel lot with very large propane and other fuel tanks outside one side of the building, along with a smelly horse corral. The free continental breakfast is adequate and offered next door in a cleaner restaurant. One word of caution, if you arrive after 11 PM, the front desk is closed and your key will be in an envelope with your name on it, taped to the locked front door of the office - Big Security Problem here.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

There are very limited choices for lodging and dining in the Bryce Canyon area. We stayed here two nights in June and had a pleasant stay. The room was ample size, it has a small refrigerator and the hotel is in a very rural area. There is a general store, gas station and restaurant on the premises. A continental breakfast was included. The hotel is an older one but the room was clean enough and the bed was firm. it is convenient to Bryce Canyon and I would recommend taking the scenic drive on Highway 12 to Boulder.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed here right before Memorial Day. I wanted to stay at Ruby's Inn , but was already booked two months prior to our staying, so were the other lodges located closer to Bryce Np. I was concerned about staying here, but did not want a long drive to and from the park, so I decided to give it a try. Booked a king executive suite that they said had just been redone. The room was pricey around 100 dollars. The room was nice and I could tell it had been rececntly renovated. The room had a very musty smell to it. We put on the a/c and eventually it got better. I dont know if I got used to the smell or it did actually go away. The hallways were in desperate need of a vaccuum on both nights of our stay. The room was large and had a small sofa and the bedding was very smart. I really cant say exactly what it is, but there was something about the place that did not sit well with me. The breakfast choices were limited, but I dont like to complain about that because it is free. I would not say to not stay here, but I would definetly try one of the other lodging closer to the park instead if they were available.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This was one of the least favourite hotels we stayed in on our tour round Grand Canyon country, and also not one of the cheapest. We had the same experience as another reviewer, of being charged more than the internet quote. When I queried it, they were apologetic and changed to the quoted rate with no problem.
I can confirm that there is a small trailer park out the back. Not very scenic from our bedroom window.
The hotel definitely needs updating. Ancient tele with no remote control, and the ice-machine wasn't working when we were there.
Having said all that, there didn't seem to be any where else much to stay within a reasonable distance from Bryce National Park for the price. It was ok for just a couple of nights.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank rilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,224 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
567 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ledges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ledges Inn

Address: 181 North Main St, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley)
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Ledges Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR OWN LITTLE SOUTHERN RETREAT Located in the valley below Bryce Canyon National Park, in the town of Tropic, the Red Ledges Inn is conveniently situated on Scenic Byway 12, Utah's All-American highway. As your destination for Bryce Canyon lodging, we strive to provide an environment that is comfortable and relaxing to those who want to enjoy Southern Utah's beauty. Visit the Red Ledges Inn today and experience the majesty of Utah's National Parks. A short distance in nearly any direction will take you to see such natural wonders as Bryce Canyon National Park, Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument, Kodachrome State Park, Calf Creek Falls, and so much more. Visit our information page for more activities to enjoy while staying in beautiful Bryce Valley. Here in Bryce Canyon Country, our hotel offers comfortable accommodations for your lodging needs. In addition to comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, and Direct TV and continental bkfst from April 1st - Oct. 1st ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Ledges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Bryce Valley
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley Hotel Tropic
Americas Best Value Inn Tropic
Red Ledges Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing