We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Resting Place Only Minutes from Bryce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quiet Resting Place Only Minutes from Bryce”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you're looking for a quiet place to rest between hiking at Bryce Canyon, then this is the place for you. Jeanee was very welcoming, showed us to our room, and provided advice on the limited eateries in Tropic. Although the room was fine for our needs, it did feel a bit like a standard hotel room. Unlike other B&B's we've stayed, there were no common areas for socializing in the home. Breakfast by Bree on the other hand was wonderful and we felt like extended family in their large eat-in dining area and kitchen. Aside from the delicious breakfast, the close proximity (10 minute drive) to Bryce Canyon was the best feature.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    65
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
36
161
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapellen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This very small town is a good place to rest, enjoying the quietness of the area. We were the only ones at the B&B and enjoyed every moment of our short stay.
After a rather funny and comforting welcome by Kevin, we enjoyed every second at this quiet place, not far from Bryce Canyon (back yard).
This B&B is neat, clean and very well equiped for a short stay.
After a very quiet night in a comforting room (without in-room noisy airconditioning :-) ) we enjoyed a surprising America Breakfast prepared by Bree the next morning. We had a nice and interesting talk about the way of living in Tropic (in comparison to what we have in Belgium) which makes all of it even more interesting.
Having stayed in a lot of hotels/motels during our trip in Arizona/Utah, this B&B is one of the most interesting ones to stay at...

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a nice private terras where you can enjoy the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Bryce Canyon Livery. Kevin and Jeanee were very welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious. We had a room upstairs that did get a lot of sun, but by opening the door to the deck, it cooled very quickly. The view was beautiful and it was very peaceful. There was no place to hang clothes and we would have preferred to have someplace to hang a few things. We used a refrigerator off the kitchen so did not mind not having one in our room. There are very few restaurants in the town of Tropic, but we had a wonderful meal at Bryce Canyon Lodge in the park the second night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Didn't get to meet Jeanne but Kevin introduced himself when we arrived, showed us to the room & told us where we could eat. Not a huge choice of restaurants in town, but it's a small place! As with other reviews, we were a bit disappointed in the lack of amenities in the room: no wardrobe (we did have some drawers), no fridge or coffee making facilities but it didn’t bother us too much. Being upstairs we didn’t hear anyone else and found the B&B quite tranquil. The only real down side for us was the temperature in the room - it was roasting all night. We had an upstairs room with a balcony but because the room was at the side of the house, with a big window (no curtain), it got sunshine all day and on our 2nd day we couldn't face going back to the room until the sun was going down. There was a fan but we had to open the door to the room & the door to the balcony to circulate any cooler air which didn’t lead to much privacy. We had a nice stay but we did feel it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixieOrch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

As with the last two reviewers, we were disappointed in the lack of common amenities: no place for clothes (even wall hooks), no frig., second-hand bedding and towels. The mattress was old and hard. The pillows were also hard and lumpy. Upon arrival we felt no welcome from Kevin, certainly no helpful advice about the area. We clearly heard every footstep and flush from above. From the pictures, I expected a small ranch in an open area. The house is actually in a neighborhood of the small community.
While I commend people for trying to enhance their income in a bit of a depressed area, we could not justify paying over $100/night for such poor accommodations. We left after one night even having to pay for three.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, Manager at Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Our Bed and Breakfast has never advertised that it is a private secluded ranch. We are in fact two miles from the park entrance with room views looking right into Bryce canyon. we have never charged a guest for rooms they booked and didn't stay. unless their room could not be filled. Also September is the busiest month of the season so I'm sure the room was filled. If you can show me where you were charged and didn't stay I will gladly issue you a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our experiences were similar to those of other reviewers. Upon check-in we were hastily taken to our room by a man who didn't introduce himself. I suppose that was Kevin, but we saw no more of him or of Jeanne. Breakfast was served by their daughter-in-law and was an adequate selection of home made items plus cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, etc. The room, which was on the ground floor, was small with no sitting area and no closet. The bathroom was large and held some of our overflow items. There was no refrigerator or coffee maker, and no common area for guests to gather. The concrete walkway in front of the room was equiped with a bench but was not very useable because it faced directly west into the setting sun. We heard a lot of noise from the room above but otherwise the B&B was very quiet. There was no separate control over heating and cooling, so the downstairs rooms tended to be cool while the upstairs rooms were hot. Regardless, upstairs rooms are probably superior because they have a balcomy overlooking Bryce and would be shaded in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have balconies with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilltraveling65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Good breakast with the owners daughter in law giving us a varied selection of home made items together with the normal cereals,fresh fruit,juices etc.
We didn't see much of Kevin and Jeanne and the layout with the guest rooms having no direct access to the house left us with only the bedroom to relax in.There were no wardrobes,fridge or coffee facilities in the room(we were able to use the fridge in the kitchen but access was on request)
The bathroom,bedroom and linen were clean but well used.
The view from our verandah was tremendous looking out towards the canyon and the area was very quiet.The closeness to the canyon was a good advantage and for the hikers a walkable 4 miles.A short walk (1 mile round trip)off US12 to Mossy Cave was also close by.
Overall not perfect but good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,819 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
0.7 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 660 W 50 S., P.O. Box 24, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast is Located in the heart of Bryce Canyon. Tropic Utah, to be exact. We are NOT located on the main Highway (Bywy 12) instead, we are west of the main Highway 4 Blocks with a spectacular view of Bryce right from every room and balcony including the beautiful front porch. Waking up every morning to watch the sun light up the pink hills and kiss the beautiful gardens on the property is both breathtaking and refreshing. We are in a quiet part of town with very minimal traffic and light pollution so stargazing from the front lawn is easy and enjoyable. Our Rooms are newly remolded, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very rewarding. With our signature homemade sour dough waffles and berry syrup every morning to go along with the main dish and fresh fruit. Coffee, tea and orange juice are always served and refreshing. With a warm home feel to this quante little place you will be sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed And Breakfast Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing