We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near Bryce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Staying at a bed and breakfast is typically about not your typical hotel experience, but more family style. This really fit the bill for that. Breakfast was amazing (best corn bread ever!) and they really went out of the way to make me feel welcome. Lots of conversations with other guests and the common area includes a hot tub for soaking after a day of hiking. It was a beautiful, peaceful setting and a very well maintained property. There is also a shared mini fridge and grills so you can cook dinner if you would like. And btw, if this really is the 7th best out of 8 like TripAdvisor says, I think the other 6 must be pretty amazing. I find it hard to believe they would rank above this.

Room Tip: Kevin and Jeanne room does not have a dresser or armoire, so plan on using your suitcase in that roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bryce Canyon Livery during our Utah driving vacation. This property looked very nice when we arrived. The grounds were nice with lots of flowers in the gardens, the room was clean and nicely decorated, and it was a reasonably short drive to Bryce Canyon. We were also greeted promptly upon arrival, checked in quickly, and breakfast each day was tasty, though not particularly large.

Unfortunately, while the aesthetics were good, the functionality of the room was severely lacking. Our 3 major complaints were:

1) The blinds on the French doors are privacy blinds, not blackout blinds. Light goes right through them, almost as if they aren't there. Our room was bright enough at 6:00am that I could easily read a book without turning any lights on. Even in the middle of the night the room was not particularly dark because of the outside lights on the building. As a result, we were woken much earlier than we would have liked each morning by the light.

2) The sound-proofing between the rooms is very poor, especially from upper to lower. We were in a main floor room and could hear every step taken by the people staying above us. We could also hear it every time they turned on the water. Even if we had been able to fall back asleep after the light got us up around 6:00am our upstairs neighbours (who were probably also woken up by the light) made that impossible.

3) We had no control over the temperature of our room. Apparently the thermostat is located in the breakfast area. I'm sure that the tables and chairs had a comfortable night, but we generally found the room hot. During the brief periods when the air conditioning was on in the night the temperature in our room dropped quickly, resulting in wide temperature swings. The only window that can be opened is a small window in the bathroom.

I suspect that this would be a nicer place to stay in the winter when the number of daylight hours is shorter so that light is less of an issue. If you are going to stay here then I strongly recommend that you select an upper floor room from a noise point of view.

One additional note: Daily housekeeping only consisted of emptying the trash in the bathroom. Other items that one might expect as part of the housekeeping routine (e.g., making the bed, replenishing toiletries) were not completed. This did not cause us problems but it may be a concern for someone who expects more from housekeeping.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PurpleGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The folks who run this B & B make you feel very welcome. They know the area well and provide great suggestions for places to eat, things to do and places to see in the area. Great views of Bryce Canyon and the stars at night. Expansive lawn and flowers. Substantial breakfast cooked to order if you have special diet. Met nice people at breakfast from all over the world. I would definitely stay at the Livery again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Jeannie & Bruce took great care of me - were flexible and hospitable and even cooked breakfast to order the next morning.
The Dark Skies there are a wonder to witness like nowhere else on the western map.

Room Tip: * Just ask Jeannie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Extremely clean and quiet with great view. Hosts were especially friendly and accommodating with recommendations for nearby restaurants and things to do. This was our first experience with a B&B and since we plan on returning to the Bryce Canyon area next year, will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor has small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie-Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Only a ten minute drive to the main entrance of Bryce Canyon, this B&B also gives you a way to walk in at the canyon floor elevation (and also avoid paying the entrance fee). But more than that, the Livery provides clean, modern, facilities and a truly full breakfast menu with daily changes.
Lots of room outside to rest up from your hikes. Bruce, our in-keeper at the time, was more than gracious in providing a bar-b-q grill and utensils for us to prepare and eat our dinners under large shade trees.
Very nice grounds, lots of flowers and trees, and use of a community fridge. Only shortcoming was our inability to control the a/c -- the inn apparently decides when to turn it on and off.

Room Tip: All rooms have an outside sitting area -- all face west so they do get considerable afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The place is not on the main road through Tropic but well worth the five minute detour. Private balcony with a view of the sun setting over the mountains. Neat and tidy room with private bathroom. Solid breakfast. Friendly staff. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
0.3 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 660 W 50 S., P.O. Box 24, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range: £121 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast is Located in the heart of Bryce Canyon. Tropic Utah, to be exact. We are NOT located on the main Highway (Bywy 12) instead, we are west of the main Highway 4 Blocks with a spectacular view of Bryce right from every room and balcony including the beautiful front porch. Waking up every morning to watch the sun light up the pink hills and kiss the beautiful gardens on the property is both breathtaking and refreshing. We are in a quiet part of town with very minimal traffic and light pollution so stargazing from the front lawn is easy and enjoyable. Our Rooms are newly remolded, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very rewarding. With our signature homemade sour dough waffles and berry syrup every morning to go along with the main dish and fresh fruit. Coffee, tea and orange juice are always served and refreshing. With a warm home feel to this quante little place you will be sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed And Breakfast Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing