We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Old and too Rustic” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryce Pioneer Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryce Pioneer Village
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Extremely Old and too Rustic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have stayed at many budget hotels around the country. This is one of the worst.

The positives are it had a bed, running water, and heat. The tv was digital, but only had around 10 channels. The best positive is that it is close to Bryce Canyon.

The room was dirty and old. The floor was not level, the bed was very hard. The hot water in the shower was not consistant and it did not drain. The outside door did not seal. They advertised Wi-Fi internet, but it was not working. No breakfast, but they had coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    120
    139
    37
    46
See reviews for
95
162
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

If we hadn't arrived so late after spending a wonderful day in Bryce Canyon followed by a buffet supper in Ruby's, we would have found somewhere else to stay. It spoilt our 'perfect' day. I refused to set foot in the shower cubicle, use the towels or sleep in the bed, curtains were dirty and hanging off the wall,
It was booked through ATI and we have asked them to make sure that the remainder of the hotels booked for our self drive are not going to be like this......our hotels were supposed to be 'standard' or 'upgraded'...this falls a long way short of standard

Room Tip: Do not book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAndyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tropic hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. This place is so dirty, dingy, old, unkept. The beds are terrible probably 20yrs old. The carpets are stained and unvacumed, the sheets and towels are so dirty and old you dont even dare touch them. The two front desk staff that we talked to Aly and Shauna are rude and dont seem to know what they are doing. Also I woke up to sores all over my arms due to bed bugs... DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwilkenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have stayed at the Pioneer Village 3 times over the last 2 years. The first time was not so good (new ownership and they didn't give a crap). They have done a very nice job getting the place back in order (original owners) and have made huge improvements to the grounds and house keeping. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling on a Motorcycle! If you want to tent camp or get a neat, clean, simple room as a base camp it is perfect. The folks running the facility are kind and will make your stay very nice. They also gave us great tips on "Adventure Riding" in the area and loved our BMW Motorcycle group. If you are looking for a great place to hang your Helmet, this is the place at a very fair price. DustMark....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Pioneer Village isn't fancy, but it clean and has a pleasant atmosphere. It's a little cowboy kitschy, without being theatrical. So you get a little local culture without feeling you're at disneyland. Tropic is a great place to stay when visiting Bryce Canyon. You can hike into the park from Tropic Canyon, or drive up to the park which is close. It's also nice to be away from the "mill" up at Bryce Canyon Ci.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orem
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

There are no king beds - the internet did not work - TV is way small - claim cable - 10 channels of local cable - those channels did not work half the time. Ran out of hot water after 2 minutes. Door to hallway had 1/2 inch gap. See through towels. Will never stay there again - would drive 1/2 hour to another town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here and were pleased. We found it to be simple, peaceful, and pleasant. Our cabin wasn't fancy, but it was roomy even though it held 3 queen beds as well as a fridge and microwave. Near the edge of town, quiet, peaceful. Breakfast is not included, but free coffee is available in the shop/store as well as wi-fi. Again, very simple and pleasant. No pool or fitness center, but it's easy to take a walk in this very small town with pretty vistas in the distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,389 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Pioneer Village

Property: Bryce Pioneer Village
Address: 80 South Main Hwy 12, Tropic, UT 84776
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bryce Pioneer Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bryce Pioneer Village! Recently under new Management, we are Bryce Pioneer Village and we strive to make your stay a great experience. We have four types of rooms, which are: Single Queen Motel Rooms or Cabins, 3 Queen Cabins, Double Full Size Bed Motel Rooms, & Double Queen Size Bed Motel Rooms. We also have an on site Restaurant, "The Showdowns" (Please call ahead to see if we are open with entertainment on select nights, or go to our website for more information) There is plenty to do here in Tropic, including a secret back trail to Bryce Canyon National Park from here called Tropic Trail. We recently added a Pool/Hot Tub to the hotel, and are always making improvements in regard to our way of business and look forward to sharing what we have done with you! - Andrea Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bryce Pioneer Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Pioneer Village Tropic, Utah
Bryce Pioneer Village Hotel Tropic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing