We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Buffalo & Sage!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tropic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Well after having trouble finding a place to stay in the Bryce Canyon area, we called Buffalo & Sage, hoping the descriptions about animals would put other people off and were thrilled to find one (and only one) vacancy. (There are 4 bedrooms). We LOVED this B & B and barely saw the cats who were locked up most of the time. The dog is a gentle watchdog but was never in the way, the bedroom was immaculate, there was plenty of hot water and the hot breakfast was not only plentiful but better than in most B and B's we've stayed at, not to mention what we've had in many a restaurant/hotel. Further more, we were delighted to benefit from great conversation and the knowledge of both our hosts: Alice and David. The views and setting are magnificent and we shuddered every time we passed Ruby's where we originally called for a reservation and which was crammed full of tour buses. The only negative thing I could say is that the walls are thin so you can hear people in the next room or maybe it was above us but since everyone went to bed fairly early it turned out not to be a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2008

The exterior of the property looks like a dump. Trash, old rusted and broken chairs, weeds everywhere. The breakfast was not very good, fried potatoes, frozen quiche and weak coffee. The house cats were walking and sleeping on the dining room table and the large dog was walking under the table while we were having breakfast, ugh. Our room was pretty nice, very good bed. The room was on the lower level of the house . The concrete on the lower level was cracked and had junk piled on it and had not been cleaned in a long time. The woman was pretty friendly but the husband was rather cold acting. The place needs to be cleaned up so that it looks decent, our first impression was " What kind of a place have we gotten ourselves into this time !!!!!!!!!!"
ZNED

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We stayed here in October 06 and were very pleased with the accommodation. Initially we were worried about the distance from the park, but it is only 8 minutes from the entrance. The hosts are very nice, the cooked breakfasts in the morning are excellent and the bedrooms very nicely decorated and clean. We were on the lower deck which was great at night for star gazing. In Tropic, 1 mile down the road, there are several restaurants for eating, all of which were ok. It seemed a lot better than the motel standard of Ruby's.
Be aware that the owners have cats and a dog and there is a fair bit of animal hair in the living room for those who are allergice (but not at all in the bedrooms)

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We stayed 2 nights here and the rooms are just as pictured on their website. The bathroom was larger then expected, and very clean. TV reception is not great, but they have a variety of movies to borrow. Alice makes a great breakfast and David is right there with the coffee refills.
When you drive up, the exterior is a bit rustic, you come up a gravel driveway and see a few animals with their shed, on the side. Try to get here before dark, even tho there is a light at the road, it is dark out here! The porch is a bit of a storage area also. The main interior area is part of the owners home, so you feel like family visiting right away. Zoey, the lab, is friendly, and so are the 3 cats. They will share your breakfast without any invitation. This can upset some people, so just ask them to put the animals away for mealtimes and I'm sure that won't be a problem.
Make sure you go outside at night and look at the sky - one of the most unbelievable sights of the whole trip.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PeggyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Owners are friendly, helpful and interesting. Room was nice, clean and comfortable -- standard size versus notably spacious. Some specialty bathroom amenities such as lip balm a thoughtful touch. Lovely deck on second level provides pretty view.

Two caveats: if you don't love pets be advised there are a few cats who seem to have the run of the house (on the furniture, etc.) and a very friendly dog. We are pet friendly so had no objections but some people are bothered by that so just an f yi..

Also, we couldn't figure out whether or not the owners are fond of kids. We have a 9 year old who is a very good kid but talks a lot and is a bit of a wise-acre - tries to be funny. We felt very uncomfortable - via various comments, body language and general vibes that suggested perhaps he was being viewed as an annoyance. It caused us to be on edge during our stay.

I would strongly recommend the property for adults and families with older kids. It really is a lovely B&B. Just not sure it's the right place for families with younger kids.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willow-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

The Buffalo Sage is a nice Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I stayed on the top floor and we had a beautiful view. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the "made to order" breakfasts. We say "The Buffalo Sage" is the best choice to stay at while visiting Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1EyeWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2005

We stayed at this delightful b & b in a small country town for 2 nights, Oct 17-18, '05. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt a part of the family, in conjunction with having our own privacy. Our room was more than we expected in terms of it's antique furnishings, comfy bed and pillows, well kept washroom and clean, clean clean. The wraparound deck and patio off our room allowed us wonderful views of the outstanding coutryside, horses, sunrises and sunsets.

The morning was welcomed by coffee or tea in the sunfilled lounge, followed by Alice and David's scumptious breakfast that maybe described by some as brunch.

We would highly recommend this quiet and friendly retreat to anyone.

2  Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,301 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 980 N. Highway 12, Tropic, UT 84776
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing