We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are great, the exterior is a bit rustic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tropic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Ocoee, FL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rooms are great, the exterior is a bit rustic”
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We stayed 2 nights here and the rooms are just as pictured on their website. The bathroom was larger then expected, and very clean. TV reception is not great, but they have a variety of movies to borrow. Alice makes a great breakfast and David is right there with the coffee refills.
When you drive up, the exterior is a bit rustic, you come up a gravel driveway and see a few animals with their shed, on the side. Try to get here before dark, even tho there is a light at the road, it is dark out here! The porch is a bit of a storage area also. The main interior area is part of the owners home, so you feel like family visiting right away. Zoey, the lab, is friendly, and so are the 3 cats. They will share your breakfast without any invitation. This can upset some people, so just ask them to put the animals away for mealtimes and I'm sure that won't be a problem.
Make sure you go outside at night and look at the sky - one of the most unbelievable sights of the whole trip.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    22
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Owners are friendly, helpful and interesting. Room was nice, clean and comfortable -- standard size versus notably spacious. Some specialty bathroom amenities such as lip balm a thoughtful touch. Lovely deck on second level provides pretty view.

Two caveats: if you don't love pets be advised there are a few cats who seem to have the run of the house (on the furniture, etc.) and a very friendly dog. We are pet friendly so had no objections but some people are bothered by that so just an f yi..

Also, we couldn't figure out whether or not the owners are fond of kids. We have a 9 year old who is a very good kid but talks a lot and is a bit of a wise-acre - tries to be funny. We felt very uncomfortable - via various comments, body language and general vibes that suggested perhaps he was being viewed as an annoyance. It caused us to be on edge during our stay.

I would strongly recommend the property for adults and families with older kids. It really is a lovely B&B. Just not sure it's the right place for families with younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willow-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2006

The Buffalo Sage is a nice Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I stayed on the top floor and we had a beautiful view. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the "made to order" breakfasts. We say "The Buffalo Sage" is the best choice to stay at while visiting Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1EyeWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2005

We stayed at this delightful b & b in a small country town for 2 nights, Oct 17-18, '05. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt a part of the family, in conjunction with having our own privacy. Our room was more than we expected in terms of it's antique furnishings, comfy bed and pillows, well kept washroom and clean, clean clean. The wraparound deck and patio off our room allowed us wonderful views of the outstanding coutryside, horses, sunrises and sunsets.

The morning was welcomed by coffee or tea in the sunfilled lounge, followed by Alice and David's scumptious breakfast that maybe described by some as brunch.

We would highly recommend this quiet and friendly retreat to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn,Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

We had read many reviews about this place. All were very positive. This was our first B and B stay and must say it was super. Our room was very nice and clean and meeting the others staying here was very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and very well prepared. The host and hostess were so helpful. All in all it was a great visit.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 June 2005

The Buffalo Sage Bed and Breakfast is an oasis in the midst of some of the most beautiful country you will ever see. The innkeepers Alice and David were very friendly and more than willing to share their extensive knowledge of the area. The rooms were immaculate, decorated in various western motifs and had private outside entrances. We enjoyed sharing the gourmet breakfasts with the other guests. We are novice bed and breakfast travelers but I can't imagine it getting any better than this. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2005

We just returned from a trip to the Buffalo Sage Bed and Breakfast located in Tropic, Utah. The property was only a few minutes drive from the entrance to Bryce and very easy to find. The hosts were terrific and very knowledgeable about the area. They had a bunch of travel books and maps pertaining to the area, and gave us some good recommendations about things to do in the area. They have four rooms with seperate entrances from the house and with their own private bathrooms. The rooms were very nice and clean. The house has an expansive deck looking out into the plains of Utah where you could just relax with a good book. They had a really good breakfast ready for us upon our requested time. Great place to stay and reasonable rates. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellersandiego75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,821 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
1.1 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 980 N. Highway 12, Tropic, UT 84776
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Buffalo Sage Bed & Breakfast Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing