We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another place that looks better in real life!”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was the first of 2 B and B's we stayed at in Utah. The place unlike many other places, looks better than the pictures! The bathroom was quite a surprise, big and had a window with a view over the jacuzzi tub and it had a nice separate shower. We had the Vine room in the corner. Quiet upstair room. Mike was very kind. When it snowed overnight, the next morning he scraped the snow off the windows of all the guest's cars!
Food was great, like being served in a fine restaurant. Actually better than most restaurants!

The only thing I didn't really like was the sheets on the bed seemed like they were a poly/cotton blend, so not the most comfortable. Even the Best Western plus we stayed at in utah had more comfortable cotton sheets. Bed was very comfortable not like the hard bed at the best western.
The room was super clean. Since it was off the main road, very quiet.

Room Tip: Upstair corner room was quiet, large bathroom, and one of the least expensive rooms. The room that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling through the National Parks in southern Utah for a week, mostly camping, but with a few hotel/B&B nights thrown in. I originally found this lodge on Trip Advisor and honestly, I chose it because it had a good rating, but mostly because it was very reasonably priced.

I had printed out the directions from the confirmation email, and although the lodge is definitely off the beaten path, just follow the printed directions and you'll find it no problem.

The lodge itself is a beautifully built stone house with a large entrance area that allows you to preview the breakfast area and a cozy fireplace in the loungy livingroom. We found Dixie (one of the owners) in the kitchen adjacent to this area when we arrived.

I had booked the Juniper Room, but Dixie (one of the owners) let us know that the Ivy Room (in the main house) had not been booked, so she had moved us into that room for no additional charge. This ended up paying off for her because we enjoyed our stay so much that we reserved another night!

The Ivy Room has a small seating area in the main bedroom and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a separate stand-up shower. The bed was extra-comfy with plenty of pillows, and I especially enjoyed watching the rock formations visible out of the window glow red as the sun rose each morning.

Coffee was available starting at 7:00 am each morning and breakfast was served at 8:00 am. We very much enjoyed the company of the two other couples for each tasty meal. Food highlights of the two days we were there: lemon rolls and the raspberry hootenanny (a type of pancake). Mike was an especially pleasant server (jack of all trades!) and we enjoyed the food and company each day.

If you like B&B's, I would definitely recommend this one. Mike and Dixie are very accommodating with out being overbearing and we had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Watching the rock formations light up as the sun rises is a great reason to choose the Ivy Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in the cottage right next to the main house and loved the comfortable accommodations and beautiful setting. When we first arrived, we thought we'd gone the wrong way - it's tucked away behind a residential neighborhood and borders Bryce canyon. It was nice to be able to make coffee and breakfast at the place on our own before heading out. We even made dinner "at home" one night.

The views are amazing and it was nice to be able to hike right behind their property. Tropic is a small town - nice to have a little grocery store (Clarkson's) down the road and there were some places to eat along the main route.

The owners and people who worked there were great - very helpful and interested in making our stay a great one. Really appreciated the advice and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in the "Guest House" in the midst of the National Park closure and couldn't have been happier. Very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and furnishings, good Internet, large TVs, second bathroom, full laundry. Comfortable and controllable heat and a/c. What is most important though is the fantastic access to Bryce National Park via a wash adjacent to the property. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable about other (state) parks in the area, and all their recommendations were dead on. Had a great time, and was only disappointed we couldn't extend our stay. This place books up a long time in advance. Recommend that all my friends call and take whatever time slot you can. It doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: I liked the Guest House. All the cabins are equally well equipped but have two bedrooms instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximumvaluegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here one night prior to visiting Bryce Canyon. Stayed in one of the separate cabins rather than B&B lodge. Not cheap, but the cabin was absolutely first rate. New, clean with excellent bath and kitchen facilities. Sitting in the hot tub on the deck with a glass of wine looking at the mountains and Utah sky is worth the price of admission alone. Can't imagine what the stars would look like on a moonless night, which unfortunately was not the case for us.

If you stay in the cabins you are on your own for food, since breakfast is only provided to the B&B guests. Small criticism, since there is a general store a mile away in Tropic. However, this is Utah, so bring your own booze.

Don't be put off by the short dirt road entrance, worth a car wash.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Cabins, which was excellent for us. We were four persons and had each our room and bathroom.

The patio with the hot tub and barbecue was just excellent. You can sit and enjoy the view of the canyons (not the Bryce Canyon National Park - that you probably will visit). Only minus is that they haven't made proper space so that you can sit outside and eat (only space for two).

The cabin is excellent, plenty of space and kitchen has what you need.

Some 20 minutes drive from the entrance to Bryce Canyon.

We have stayed in the village close to Bryce Canyon, and will prefer Stone Canyon Inn at any time.

Room Tip: Take the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only stayed 2 days here but we will be back. Dixie and Michael provide a wonderful experience. We had room 6 and it was very clean and spacious and overlooked the desert area with very large windows. The bed was very comfortable. Dixie will provide info and a map for a wonderful though somewhat strenuous hike in Bryce Canyon, if you want. Breakfast is a real treat...Dixie provides a very nice and tasty breakfast and Michael will kind of arrive and begin to recite Cowboy Poetry. On our last day he treated us to 4 poems...he had us in stitches and in tears. What a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 6 on the first floor...you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
8.3 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
559 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing