We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
487
133
45
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
133
45
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub gas fireplace murphy bed guest house living room full kitchen place to stay the cottages two couples stone hearth southern utah two nights off season private cabin off the beaten path stayed longer bryce national park
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling through the National Parks in southern Utah for a week, mostly camping, but with a few hotel/B&B nights thrown in. I originally found this lodge on Trip Advisor and honestly, I chose it because it had a good rating, but mostly because it was very reasonably priced.

I had printed out the directions from the confirmation email, and although the lodge is definitely off the beaten path, just follow the printed directions and you'll find it no problem.

The lodge itself is a beautifully built stone house with a large entrance area that allows you to preview the breakfast area and a cozy fireplace in the loungy livingroom. We found Dixie (one of the owners) in the kitchen adjacent to this area when we arrived.

I had booked the Juniper Room, but Dixie (one of the owners) let us know that the Ivy Room (in the main house) had not been booked, so she had moved us into that room for no additional charge. This ended up paying off for her because we enjoyed our stay so much that we reserved another night!

The Ivy Room has a small seating area in the main bedroom and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a separate stand-up shower. The bed was extra-comfy with plenty of pillows, and I especially enjoyed watching the rock formations visible out of the window glow red as the sun rose each morning.

Coffee was available starting at 7:00 am each morning and breakfast was served at 8:00 am. We very much enjoyed the company of the two other couples for each tasty meal. Food highlights of the two days we were there: lemon rolls and the raspberry hootenanny (a type of pancake). Mike was an especially pleasant server (jack of all trades!) and we enjoyed the food and company each day.

If you like B&B's, I would definitely recommend this one. Mike and Dixie are very accommodating with out being overbearing and we had a fantastic stay.

Room tip: Watching the rock formations light up as the sun rises is a great reason to choose the Ivy Room.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in the cottage right next to the main house and loved the comfortable accommodations and beautiful setting. When we first arrived, we thought we'd gone the wrong way - it's tucked away behind a residential neighborhood and borders Bryce canyon. It was nice to be able to make coffee and breakfast at the place on our own before heading out. We even made dinner "at home" one night.

The views are amazing and it was nice to be able to hike right behind their property. Tropic is a small town - nice to have a little grocery store (Clarkson's) down the road and there were some places to eat along the main route.

The owners and people who worked there were great - very helpful and interested in making our stay a great one. Really appreciated the advice and hospitality.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in the "Guest House" in the midst of the National Park closure and couldn't have been happier. Very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and furnishings, good Internet, large TVs, second bathroom, full laundry. Comfortable and controllable heat and a/c. What is most important though is the fantastic access to Bryce National Park via a wash adjacent to the property. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable about other (state) parks in the area, and all their recommendations were dead on. Had a great time, and was only disappointed we couldn't extend our stay. This place books up a long time in advance. Recommend that all my friends call and take whatever time slot you can. It doesn't get better than this.

Room tip: I liked the Guest House. All the cabins are equally well equipped but have two bedrooms instead of one. All are quiet and well located and comfortable.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximumvaluegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here one night prior to visiting Bryce Canyon. Stayed in one of the separate cabins rather than B&B lodge. Not cheap, but the cabin was absolutely first rate. New, clean with excellent bath and kitchen facilities. Sitting in the hot tub on the deck with a glass of wine looking at the mountains and Utah sky is worth the price of admission alone. Can't imagine what the stars would look like on a moonless night, which unfortunately was not the case for us.

If you stay in the cabins you are on your own for food, since breakfast is only provided to the B&B guests. Small criticism, since there is a general store a mile away in Tropic. However, this is Utah, so bring your own booze.

Don't be put off by the short dirt road entrance, worth a car wash.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Cabins, which was excellent for us. We were four persons and had each our room and bathroom.

The patio with the hot tub and barbecue was just excellent. You can sit and enjoy the view of the canyons (not the Bryce Canyon National Park - that you probably will visit). Only minus is that they haven't made proper space so that you can sit outside and eat (only space for two).

The cabin is excellent, plenty of space and kitchen has what you need.

Some 20 minutes drive from the entrance to Bryce Canyon.

We have stayed in the village close to Bryce Canyon, and will prefer Stone Canyon Inn at any time.

Room tip: Take the cabins
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews