We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“torn between good & vanilla...”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“torn between good & vanilla...”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we stayed in the manzanita cottage...very spacious, full kitchen...but yet, it was a bit spartan. did not feel like a friendly place. very rigid re:ckin time(office not even open a minute b/4 the 3pm ckin time. payment n full is taken up front, told to leave the key n the cottage. they seem to shun personal interaction. also no maid service at all. good location for bryce travel. grounds of hotel r a zero unfortunately. nowhere to stroll at all, no lobby to hang out in either. wifi was good & consistent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhubarb07666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    120
    43
    19
    6
See reviews for
149
369
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you want to "get away from it all" this is a great choice. The individual cabins (they call them cottages but some are as big or bigger than a suburban home) are secluded and quiet, and have views of surrounding rock formations. While you can't see Bryce Canyon's hoodoos you can see cool formations and Powell Point in the distance.The wifi only worked about 50% of the time. if that is important to you, I was willing to accept that this is a place you come to "get away from it all" and did not mind that much. Also the satellite TV is very limited, again I did not mind - I was enjoying being out away from the hustle. The beds were not terribly comfortable, but I've had worse. The air conditioning was good, which was nice because it did get quite warm outside during my visit. The full kitchen was very handy and well stocked with plates, cookware and coffee making amenities. The private hot tub was great. The staff were very friendly and were helpful when we needed something. Best kept secret: the Tropic Trail entrance to Bryce Canyon, continue up the road past Stone Canyon to the end and then there is a stepladder over the fence to Bryce. It is about 2 miles up the trail to the junction where you can get to the Navajo Loop or the Queens Garden Connecting trail to reach the rim. About 4 more miles up Queens Garden and along Rim Trail to the Bryce Lodge and then about a another mile back down to the Tropic Trail connection (no sign) We were out nearly 5 hours walking up the Tropic Trail to Queens Garden, lunch at the historic Bryce Lodge, walked along the rim trail then back down Navajo Loop through Wall Street and down the Tropic Trail. It was a perfect day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

When visiting an "Inn" such as Stone Canyon Inn, in Tropic Utah, one must remember where they are in order to truly appreciate what a gem this place is. As a well seasoned traveler, I have seen pretty much everything - and this Inn is right up there near the top. Cosy, secluded, quiet and clean would best describes Stone Canyon's surroundings. For me, nothing is worse than hearing people's conversations in the room next-door to yours and foot-stomping idiots in the room above you. One does not have to concern oneself with this at Stone Canyon Inn. My wife and I got to stay in both a cabin and a bungalow and frankly, while very different, it was hard to choose which we preferred. Both were beautifully decorated with all the basic comforts of life central air, great water pressure and internet. While the bungalow was much roomier, the cabin was a little bit sexier. One really couldn't wrong in either accommodation - but for my wife and myself, the cabin was probably a little bit more "us". The restaurant at the Inn is top notch for dinner - was not in love with the breakfast selection but the food wasn't bad either. If I could have given SCI 4.5 stars, I would have. The few things we would have preferred were ultimately non-issues. Nobody cleans your cabin daily or changes sheets or towels. We also tried to ring the Inn several times in the middle of the day to find nobody answered. Still, it was not a big deal. Last item I would change - two people can divide up four pillows easier than three...The owner is very kind and laid back... Suffice it to say, I would recommend this Inn to anyone and everyone visiting the Bryce Canyon, Utah area. You won't find a more relaxed atmosphere anywhere near Bryce.

Room Tip: If you go with friends or have kids, choose the bungalow. Otherwise the cabin is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for one night in a 2 bedroom cabin on a recent trip of the Southwest. Cabin was very well outfitted with everything a family of four could need. Two bedrooms and two BATHROOMS (angels sing!) for the only time during our trip, was such a pleasure to spread out! Super shower in one bathroom, while a standard tub/shower combo in the other. Very nice large TV room/dining room/kitchen combo. Beds were awesome with great, high quality, linens!

Highlight for us was lounging in the hot tub at night and staring at the inky black sky with what looked like millions of visible stars. Such a treat after a long day of hiking and exploring Bryce Canyon.

The drive up to the property, passed the high school, made me wonder what we were in for. But, once we arrived we knew we made the right choice. Lovely rock formations in the distance. Restaurant menu looked very nice, but more appropriate for a romantic couples dinner than for our family of four.

Wish we could have stayed longer as the cabin was perfect in every way!

Room Tip: Two bedroom cabin is nice and spacious for family! Even has a pull out couch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a "gem" buried in the area close to Bryce Canyon, Utah. The Stone Canyon Inn is composed of less than 20 bungalows adjacent to Bryce Canyon. There are different sizes. We stayed in a one bedroom bungalow. It was recently renovated and it was spectacular. The furnishings were sleek and the bedroom was way cool.

We dined at the restaurant and that was top notch! We found the staff at the restaurant and the hotel to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Granby
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The Stone Canyon Inn is the place to stay when you are visiting Bryce Canyon and other parks in the area. Don't let the idea of staying outside the park prevent you from checking into this growing establishment. We stayed in the cabins inside the park the last time we visited Bryce, and outside at Stone Canyon Inn this time around. We enjoyed both.
So here's the deal-- the Stone Canyon Inn is in the process of expanding their facilities. They have recently built what are called bungalows but, when I look at them, they look more like small footprint A-frame houses to me. No lie.
Ours had a king-sized bed in the bedroom and a queen-sized Murphy bed in the living room. All amenities from the bathroom fixtures to the electronics;i.e. from WIFI to Music and television, were high end. You will like what you see. It's a refreshing respite from your daily hike.
The owner/chef has created a top notch dinner menu that will leave you wanting more. Unfortunately I can't say the same thing about the breakfast where service was strangely slow and the food mediocre. Having said that, the staff was very pleasant.
And as far as the location is concerned, Tropic is 20 minutes from the gate at Bryce. This 20 minutes could be the best investment you make on your next trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FAMRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The best place to stay when visiting the Bryce Canyon area. Great accommodation and restaurant. The cabin we stayed in was beautiful and fully fitted. Service from the owner and staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: The cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,908 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
545 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#3 of 6 in Bryce
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Property: Stone Canyon Inn
Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing