We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for quiet seclusion”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed in the Shooting Star bungalow and enjoyed it. Everything is very new and with some nice upscale touches, like the mini air conditioner, the shower and jetted tub, and the pseudo hanging bed. You can look at the cliffs of Bryce right out the windows and from the front porch. Saw deer and rabbits wondering through the property. Very quiet.

There was no info at all for the jetted tub, and the little Euro-symbol buttons were meaningless to us, so had some trouble getting it to work and then shut off. Also, had no wi-fi. We had smart phones, Ipad, and laptop, and all connected to the wi-fi just fine, but never once could get any web page to load. Maybe the Shooting Star bungalow is too far away from the house; don't know. We didn't find anyone to ask about this, but it wasn't us, as our phones connected just fine up at the Bryce Canyon lodge. Go figure.

Ate one night at the restaurant, and the food was very good. The service was only so-so. Maybe our waiter was new or having an off night, who knows. We ate the second night in Tropic; normal small town quality and service, but not bad, and definitely less expensive.

The restaurants we ate at all served wine, but one afternoon we wanted a bottle to have on the porch for cocktail hour and to watch the views. The store in Tropic told us that we could only get it at a State Store, the closest one which was at Ruby's, 10 miles away up by the entrance to the park. So we drove up there to find a tiny little alcove in the hotel lobby, accessible to employees only, and barred off like a jail cell, with a whopping 5 bottles or red and 5 bottles of white selection of totally bottom class wines for double the price. Oh, and cash only. Welcome to Utah. Bet we could have bought a gun with less hassle. When in Rome.... If you like fine wine and might want some on the porch of your bungalow, think ahead and BYO!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Aug 2014. We agreed that it was plenty of time in Bryce Canyon, but wished we could stay longer at the Inn! We were in the Shooting Stars Bungalow and just loved it. Gorgeous and luxurious with separate living room and bedroom. Also had fridge, coffee pot and microwave, which allowed for breakfast before venturing out. Beautiful bathroom including jacuzzi tub, which was great for muscles sore from hiking. They also have a sauna on site, but we did not get there. Wonderful views of Bryce from our front door. Also very quiet. Gorgeous property. Short drive to park entrance and well worth it.

They also have a world class restaurant on site. You did not know that steak could be this good!!! Service was efficient and friendly. And all with that gorgeous view! Do not hesitate, book this place for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room location on this property. They have the 1 bedroom bungalows(which can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This place is hard to review because it is different. It's not what I would call a B&B but I don't know what it should be called.

We stayed two nights in a cottage called Larkspur. It seemed almost brand new. It was spotless and smelled new. It was nicely equipped - the living area had a couch, a flat-screen TV on the wall, a gas fireplace, a small refrigerator, microwave oven, and coffee maker. There was also a Murphy bed that pulled down (but would require moving the sofa). The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed and the sink/vanity was in the bedroom, next to the bathroom door. The bathroom had the toilet and a large air tub with a run shower head.

Larkspur appeared to be one of several new cottages. We didn't see inside any of the other units. The main house contains the restaurant - we didn't try it.

What I miss from other B&B's is that we found no gathering place to talk with other guests and we had almost no interaction with the innkeepers. One of the main reasons we like to stay at B&B's is to get good local information and talk to other guests about their plans and experiences.

Also, there was no breakfast (we knew this going in but I still think there needs to be a category for places that forget the other B is for Breakfast).

There aren't a lot of choices near Bryce Canyon and our cottage was very nice. There also isn't much selection for restaurants so the owners probably have a good idea trying to provide a nice restaurant.

I think some people may be concerned about the area when they drive up the road. Like many rural towns, some of the places look pretty junky. We had no problem finding it - just drive to the High School and keep going. It's hard to miss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in the Guest House which has a master suite with a soaker tub and a murphy bed in the living room with a smaller bathroom. Bonus was the washer & dryer which was unexpected. The kitchen was well equipped, although we didn't do any cooking (just an overnight stay). The hotel is about 20 minutes from Bryce Canyon park entrance, with nothing within walking distance. Very clean, but be careful if you intend to fill the soaker tub - it takes all the hot water and the rest of your party have to shower in cool water!! My bad!! They referred us to Clarke's Restaurant for breakfast. What a find! Peanut Butter & Banana stuffed french toast took the prize for the most amazing breakfast of our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boxergal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a beautiful property! After a string on average hotels during our vacation it was so nice to walk in to our cabin. It was immaculate and spacious. Being a little tired of restaurant food it was so nice to have a full kitchen to cook a few meals. The private hot tub on the deck was fantastic. Loved every minute of our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maryanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in Manzanita Cottage for a couple of nights to visit Bryce Canyon. The location is lovely, the cottages comfortable, and the hot tub great - especially after a half day mule ride! However, what an earlier reviewer says about the lack of interaction is spot on - once we'd checked in and been told to pay in full, we were left alone, despite being told that someone would come and check the wi-fi in response to our request. No-one ever came nor was a message left. This relatively minor issue doesn't detract from the great location and seclusion, but the accommodation is by no means cheap, and with a few small adjustments our experience could have been so much better.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank vsu419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we heard guest house, that could accommodate 2 couples, close to Bryce Canyon, we thought great! Although it was spacious, several things turned out very disappointing. The pull down murphy bed was very uncomfortable- a thin, and bumpy mattress, with horrible pillows. The downstairs bathroom lacked lighting, and the tiling looked worn. The final spoiler was that there was NO hot water in the shower- after a day of hiking this really annoyed us. There should have been sufficient hot water for at least 2 short showers. We found out the next day that our friend had used the jacuzzi tub upstairs- apparently there went all the hot water! If there is a tub like that then either install a proper hot water heater, or, at the very least, post a note that this will happen!
The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast, another disappointment . In such a setting, with cottages, and being an "inn", that seems to be something to be expected.
With other options available in the area, not our recommendation- cheap motels we stayed in at least had hot water and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonecanyon, Owner at Stone Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Quite surprised at this review. We installed an on demand hot water heater a year ago so that hot water would not be a problem. We were never informed that there was an issue. We have 14" high quality mattresses on all our beds. Pillows are very individual. We would have been happy to find different ones if we had known there was a problem. We had the restaurant open for breakfast for the first few months of this season and would have on average 2-4 people show up. All our units have kitchens, so most were eating in their units. There is no way we could justify keeping the restaurant open for so few people. We strive for quality and excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.3 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#4 of 6 in Bryce
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: £105 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing