We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This 9 room motel is a gem. There is a hot pot to boil water but no coffee pot. There was a bedside clock and a power strip near ref I use a cpap which I need a bedside fortunately I travel with a long extension cord and my own minicoffee pot. It would have otherwise been easy to get coffee just down the street. I had a room in the back the outside sitting area was a wonderful plus. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    92
    23
    8
    0
See reviews for
39
146
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Beautiful little hotel. They even let us check in a couple hours early. Everything was neat as a pin. You can tell the owner's pay particular attention to cleanliness. The mattress was firm and comfortable. There are a couple minor items you might want to know before you stay here though. They don't have a bedside clock, and the electrical outlets are sparse (but just plan for that and you'll be ok).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in this cute little motel for two nights while visiting Bryce canyon. We had a very enjoyable and comfortable experience in that modest size room that managed to have room for everything we needed. Nothing was missing and everything was very smartly arranged. It was very clean and pleasant looking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail-HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Bybee's Steppingstone Motel one night on a whirlwind adventure touring many national parks in Southern Utah and Northern Arizona. Bybee's Steppingstone is right on the main street in Tropic, a small but quaint town. It is next door to new community center. We stopped by and talked with a delightfully friendly and helpful lady. She gave us information on the best hiking trails in Bryce, information about the Grand Staircase - Escalante National Monument, and told us about the fantastic Calf Creek Falls hike. Go visit her for information on where to go during your stay in Tropic!

Bybee's was very clean, maybe the cleanest motel I've ever stayed in. The beds were a little firm for my taste, but perfectly adequate. We stayed in room 8 which was in back of the motel and had no issues with road noise. We were unable to make it in time for the 6 pm check-in time, but we called in advance and it was no problem for the motel staff to leave the room open for our arrival later that evening.

Bybee's is within walking distance of a restaurant and little store. Very convenient and nice. I would recommend Bybee's and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the back and be sure to call ahead if you're going to be arriving after check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgians-in-Motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was a great find, recommended by a colleague of mine who had traveled to the area a couple of years earlier. Great location as a base for Bryce Canyon, and the amenities of Tropic, Utah (both of them) are right across the street. Bybee's only has a few rooms, but ours was picture perfect, nicely sized, clean with fresh towels, fresh linens and comfy beds, plus a fridge, micro and wi-fi. The office is not open all hours, but the owner (or owner's son) came within minutes of our call. Bargain pricing compared to the other motels in the Topic/Bryce area adds to the value factor.

Other places in the area may have more amenities, but none has better value. A great stop.

Room Tip: Watch the night-time lock on room 2, it tends to stick and make you feel as though you're locked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Well, it is a little cute motel in Tropic, 15 minute far from Bryce Canyon. We stayed in room #6 and it was so nice, clean, with a confortable bed!
It's the perfect choice for your visit to Bryce: close, cheap, clean and, as I said before, really cute. Then in Tropic you'll find everything you need: restaurant, little shop, gas station.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22ga_mi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood River, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We picked Bybee's Steppingstone motel in Tropic as our base of operations for treks into Bryce Canyon. The motel is very small and homey. We stayed in room #8 which had two very comfortable beds, a microwave, mini-fridge, and an LCD TV with satellite television. The in-room Wi-Fi signal was strong, an essential in areas like Bryce with spotty mobile Internet. The tiny motel was big on value for what was included. (We paid less than $70, before taxes.) The location of the motel was very convenient to the parks, with a scenic drive of less than twenty minutes to Bryce Canyon. Even with the small size of Tropic there are a few restaurants, a gas station, and a grocery store within walking distance of the motel. Bybee's Steppingstone offers a more laid back travel choice than hectic and touristy Ruby's Inn at Bryce. Though it wasn't a problem for our stay, it is worth noting that there is no staff on-site after 6pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Property: Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, your Bryce Canyon motel of choice. This motel is located in Tropic UT and provides you with a clean, comfortable and unique room while you visit the beautiful area surrounding Bryce Canyon. Each of the rooms here is individually decorated with artwork created by the owner. At this Bryce Canyon motel we pride ourselves in offering our guests the cleanest rooms around that are a little different from your average motel room. Come and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that we provide and book your room online today, we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing