We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the Desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zion River Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We tent camped at the Zion River Resort and were blown away just pulling in! Beautiful resort! The registration building was beautiful. My husband especially liked the pool table in the rec room. They had activities each night, ours was an ice cream social! The pool was very nice and refreshing. The tent site was more than adequate -- right on the river! The bathrooms/showers were large and clean, but very busy at night. Only minutes from Zion, which was why we were there. Would recommend to anyone RVing or tenting!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank HCowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    63
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
116
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at 6 places around the area and this one was by far the best when you consider it has everything you need. The people are nice, the store has everything you would need, the Wi-fi works, the pool is warm, the toilets are clean and there are plenty of them.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The park is very clean, and the sites are paved and spacious. The staff is friendly. Check-in, a breeze. Grass and trees make the sites cozy and comfy. Plenty of shade throughout the park, and a very nice pool area adjacent to the store/gift shop. There's a fun little beach area down by the Virgin river with umbrella chairs placed there for guests to use. We found that to be a great place to take the dog for some exercise. They also have a nice grassy 'dog walk' area in the park.

The only downside to this park (for us) is that there is virtually no Verizon cell service. (AT&T works fine from what we were told) They do have a booster you can use in the office at no charge if you need to make a call from your Verizon phone. The wifi here is absolutely terrible. We often need to conduct business while on rv trips, so these issues can present some difficulty for us. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. Very near Zion's park, and about 30 miles from St George.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. This is a very luxurious campsite with fully functional bathrooms, showers, a pool, hot tub, and the Virgin River running through the back end. The only downside is that it's right next to the highway, bringing a little more noise than you'd want while camping. Other than that, it's very conveniently located 13 miles from Zion, perfect if you can't get into any park campgrounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

It was a Thursday. My husband and I were kind of in a state of shock. We had arrived at the northern edge of Zion much earlier in the day and had the amazing experience of driving through the tunnel and down into the canyon. Our objective was to find a spot in the non-reservable campground at the southern edge of Zion - that's why we came early. The campground was a shock. It was so ugly with little vegetation on the ground, few level spots, and people everywhere; more like a refugee camp but there would be no refuge there for us. Thank goodness! We left the Park and kept rolling down the road not quite knowing what to do. And then we saw the sign for Zion River Resort. They had a spot for us! A level spot with grass and a table and wifi and a swimming pool and a hot tub and a clubhouse! Check-in was a breeze with a lovely young woman whose name I do not know (shame on me). The reception area is very well set up with a lot of information about ZRR and its amenities in easy view. That's how we knew that Thursday featured a wine and cheese social at the clubhouse! Complimentary! Our state of shock was receding rapidly. So we got laundry done and we got showers, ate dinner, and attended the social. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and put us at ease right away. There were several wines to sample and very good munchies. The pool and clubhouse area is beautiful. But wait! There's so much more! ZRR has a lovely beach on the river with chairs and umbrellas! Quite a treat. But the one amenity that we were the most grateful for was the shuttle that took us back up to Zion the next morning. We do not have a toad. For a very reasonable fee we were dropped off at the entrance to the Park and picked up 6 hours later. We were able to leave our motorhome in its safe spot all day without worry, we packed a lunch, and we hiked and saw the sights until it was time to meet the shuttle and return to the resort. Our driver, whose name I do not know (shame on me again), was friendly and informative in addition to being a good driver. That evening some of our neighbors brought out guitars and played and sang around their campfire. Everything about our visit suggested an oasis: a place to recharge (literally), and a cool, refreshing respite from the road and the crowds. The resort is beautiful and well maintained; the staff are wonderful; it is peaceful. If we return to visit Zion, we will stay here, no question about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gr8Accountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we stayed at this property and was very impressed.The property was spotless and the staff friendly.One drawback was the Internet service was up and down and our cell service was very spotty (Verizon )
The overall experience was very good and we will definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wbranham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our first time at ZRRR ad I must say I'm impressed.

The resort is clean and extremely well maintained. Their camp hosts and worker bees are very dedicated to keeping the whole resort experience a good one.

We are staying here in our 43 foot RV for 2 weeks to explore Zion and get in some good hikes.

My only complaint is this:

1. No or poor cell coverage. It's kinda weird since there's a cell tower about a mile away. We can drive a mile or two in any direction and we have coverage.

2. All the lots or parking spots are covered by trees which means little or no satellite access. The cable system is mediocre with about 11 channels. They could prune the trees back some and open up the sky.

3. The whole park, at night, is lit up like Walmart parking lot. Star gazing is a lost cause. When we are parked out in places like this we really like sitting out at night and watching the night sky.

Other then these issues, we love this place and give them high marks.

Room Tip: Park in the back by the river - it's darker at night and the river will lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clouddancer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin
12.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zion West Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion River Resort

Property: Zion River Resort
Address: 551 E Sr 9, Virgin, UT 84779-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Virgin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Virgin
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-Star Resort in Utah. Just thirteen miles from Zion National Park, we are ideally located for easy access to one of the nations most beautiful parks. Zion River Resort is also the perfect base camp for day trips to Bryce Canyon National Park, Grand Canyon North Rim, Cedar Breaks National Monument and many other of the Southwest's most popular destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion River Hotel Virgin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing