We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Valley City
Layton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fun time!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We took our kids to the Holiday Inn with the Grins & Fins Waterpark. They LOVED it. There is plenty of room for the little kids to play. Our kids were young enough they didn't dare go on the waterslide, but maybe next time! There was plenty of room in the hotel room. The continental breakfast was AMAZING! We will definitely make a fun family weekend there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJP12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
14
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I thought this hotel was great! Our room was extremely clean. The beds were so comfortable. My kids loved the water park! Breakfast was amazing! Staff was super friendly. Well worth the money spent. I would definitely stay here again, especially in the winter because of the fun water park pool. I also like that they have quiet time hours so you aren't being kept awake by noisy guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screen123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that your time with us was enjoyable. We hope you will choose us again next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our family of 6 stayed here on a trip to Salt Lake City. They ONLY reason we stayed here was for the waterpark. Without the waterpark, I would never choose this hotel. The shower was awful with low pressure and the duct vent in the room was filthy and covered in dusty grime. Yuck - easily cleanable and very noticeable and no fan in the bathroom which is awful! We ate a bland breakfast in the lobby, but were told the pancake warmer was not working so they had room temp waffles on a tray on the counter - tasteless and disappointing to my 4-year-old. We had a Do Not Disturb sign on our door only until 10 am, then left for the day passing the maid in the hallway. When we returned end of day, our room had not been made up, wet towels, etc. My husband spoke with the desk and we were told they checked off that we had our sign out. Only until 10! We have never been to a hotel where the staff would not circle back and check to clean remaining rooms. We asked for 7 towels and later a staff person brought 4 - for a 6 guest room. He had to come back again and we had to go back to the desk for more soap and shampoo as the one tiny bottle was empty too in a 6-person suite. We were never offered waterpark passes upon check in, although our reservation had 4 children listed. We had to be told later by a lifeguard the desk was supposed to give them to us. Another disappointment - the water slide is only open weekends - although there were tons of children swimming. We were also unaware the pool is jointly shared by the next door hotel. We asked the front desk where to eat with children that might be fun or themed in the area and were told there was nothing exciting around. Wow, great advertisement for your area. We rarely care to post reviews, but we were so disappointed we thought others parents need to know to choose somewhere else. Our first trip to Utah, wished for much better hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTRFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you BTRFam for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments, as it will help us improve for all future guests. I do apologize that your stay wasn't all that you expected. We would love to have you back so we can make it right for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is your basic hotel and I would not have expected to pay $150 for a night. The price was too high for the quality and amenities. It's clean, staff is helpful. Promised airport shuttle was inconsistent. A bit of over promise, under deliver. The heater/air con was very noisy, the pillows lumpy. Breakfast was good. It's in a remote, dicey feeling area. I would not stay here again nor recommend it - if the price were much lower, then it would make sense. I was close to giving it poor, but it as that bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YR-LGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you YR-LGB for your review of our property. I do apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay with us. I would love to know which room you stayed in so we can fix the problems in the room so no other guest experiences it. I do hope you will give us another change to make your stay a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were in Salt Lake City to see a concert at the Maverick Center. I booked this hotel because it was within walking distance to the Arena (literally across the street). Plus it had shops and restaurants close by. It was a great choice as it was clean - we had great service - the water park was perfect for my 10 yr old daughter and we ate breakfast free. We did not see much of Salt Lake while there due to time constraints but we did manage to drive up to Park City to do some shopping at the outlet mall. If we go specifically for a concert again we will most definitely book at this hotel again. Please note that I booked well in advance and when we checked in we were informed that the hotel was completely sold out. So if you decide to book because of a concert - book early! Salt Lake City looks like a beautiful city to explore - next trip we will make sure we stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you Mozie1996 for taking the time to write a review of our property. If you are coming to Salt Lake for a concert at the Maverik Center, our hotel is a great place to stay! We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Nice place to stay , had great fun with the kids in the pool and on the waterside . Lots of food close by. Cinemas, Super comfy beds , very clean, large rooms.i would stay here again. The wether was 100 the day spent there so the water park was a great addition to the hotel. This hotel is pet friendly also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review of our hotel and your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our waterpark area and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had just had a horrible experience at the Winnemucca Days Inn.. This place was wonderful. The kids loved the pool with water slide. We stayed two nights. The AC worked good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. An above average breakfast.

Room Tip: This is a family friendly hotel. Wouldn't suggest for business traveler who needs some quiet ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you Steve M for your recent review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had a good experience during your stay with us. We are a family friendly hotel and I'm happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Valley City hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Salt Lake/West Valley City
Embassy Suites by Hilton Salt La...
#1 of 12 in West Valley City
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites West Valley City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#3 of 12 in West Valley City
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City / West Valley City
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#2 of 12 in West Valley City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, West Valley City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#8 of 12 in West Valley City
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Wes...
#7 of 12 in West Valley City
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-West Valley City
My Place Hotel-West Valley City
#4 of 12 in West Valley City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Address: 3036 Decker Lake Dr, West Valley City, UT 84119-5891
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > West Valley City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Valley City
#6 Business Hotel in West Valley City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in Summer of 2009, the Holiday Inn Express in West Valley City, Utah is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off I-215 and just south of I-80, our contemporary designed property is surrounded by majestic mountains and within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Our hotel is minutes from downtown Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City International Airport, Temple Square, USANA Amphitheatre, Rocky Mountain Raceway, Valley Fair Mall, E-Center (home of the Utah Grizzlies), Utah Olympic Oval, Hale Centre Theatre, Hogle Zoo, Energy Solutions Arena (home of the Utah Jazz), and the new Gateway Mall. We are a short drive from many premier ski resorts such as Snowbird, Alta, Brighton, Solitude, Park City Mountain Resort, Deer Valley and The Canyons. You will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring a variety of hot items, business center, fitness room, meeting space, wired and wireless, high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy our 3 story water park featuring 3 pools including a zero entry wading pool, a 183 foot water slide, heated whirlpool, party room, arcade, concession area, and a wet and wild jungle gym. We are confident that your stay in West Valley City will be a memorable experience and you ll have mountains of fun, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing