We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree about condescending manager”
Review of Twin Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Twin Farms
Ranked #2 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2006

All the nice things said about this place are true, however, I have to agree with the previous reviewer's negative view of the general manager and the "clubby" feel. My husband and I are somewhat shy. While we were at Twin Farms different "social" events were planned (wine and cheese tastings, etc) which were a very nice idea, but we, too, were made to feel uncomfortable by the general manager and felt as if he were more interested in certain guests than others. It's hard to explain, but there was a certain obsequiousness/condescending nature about him.

Of course, not everyone can be happy about everything and this was a very nice place (other than the general manager).

I wonder if it was the same general manager who refused to offer a discount to the couple who had to sleep in a room without heat? I certainly would have demanded some sort of compensation for that.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Chelsea_Girl_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 144 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York
125
Reviewed 22 June 2006

The peace and beauty of Twin Farms, with its understated elegance and casual refinement, can not be overstated. We were just blown away by the decor, the food, the wine. Our stay was outrageously expensive, but for a special occasion, worth every dollar. There was simply no compare to every single thing we ate and drank. The spa services were terrific -- though we recommend taking massages in your room -- the spa rooms, though beautifully deccorated, are not adequately sound proofed, and we could hear every word coming from outside the room during our massage -- a bit distracting, to say the least.

My only caution is: if you want to preserve the peace and bliss while you're at Twin Farms, you might need to retreat to your room. There was a clubby social feel in the dining room at dinner that the general manager seemed all too eager to encourage. For example, while drifting around the room talking to guests, he displayed such arrogance about the superiority of his hotel that we were itching to leave. We watched as he condescended to us, then tried to ingratiate himself with guests that he must have deemed as more worthy of his respect. His presence detracted from our experience. Our advice to travelers: stay in your blissful room with its views and its tranquility: the staff tells you over and over that they will bring everything to your room -- let them!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2006

My wife and I just spent 2 nights at Twin Farms. Everythings you heard about it is true -- it is the best of everything. Service, accommodations, meals -- everything. And all of it is included into one rate! We stayed in the Red's room in the Main House. Great room, about twice the size of any hotel room.

The staff is amazingly attentive, hence the service is truly great. They will provide anything you want -- all you have to do is ask. For example, I wanted a humidifier in the room. One was provided in about 20 min.

The rates seem pricey, before you go there. Once you see the kind of accommodations and food/wine you are in for, the prices would compare well to any NYC 5-star hotels and restaurants. Another nice "feature" -- the tips of 15% are charged based on your room rate. Once you get there, you can forget about your wallet. There is nothing to pay for, nor anything to sign.

One piece of advise: the place is well hidden. Request directions when making reservation. Your car's navigation system won't be of much help. Twin Farm's address within Barnard is not published.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank world_traveler_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2005

When you hear such amazing things about a place AND you pay $1000 a night to stay there, you pretty much expect that EVERYTHING is going to be great. Not heaven on earth, mind you, but, at the very least that the heat in the bedroom you are staying in will be functioning.

We arrived at Twin Farms around 10pm on a Friday in mid-January back in 2003 or 2002. It was minus 18 degrees when we arrived (i remember this because the person who greeted us told us so.

I must say, the place was lovely, the person who showed us our room gracious and kind. The room was gorgeous. We had a wood burning fire place, but it was on the other side of our room and separated from our bedroom by a large chimney like wall (hence, the heat was pointing in the opposite direction from where we were to sleep). We put on the fire immediately, but were told by our host that we should turn on the heat in the room since it was so cold outside and the fireplace would not be sufficient.

Well, we turned on our heat, but it didn't work. We called downstairs, apologetically, as it was late, but they said there was nothing they could do about it until the next day. IT WAS A VERY VERY VERY cold night, despite the lovely bedding and the fireplace. any part of us that was not under the covers was literally stone cold. It was pretty bad - and i am from Vermont, so I am used to the cold.

The rest of our trip was great. They fixed the heat the following day. The food was amazing. We went skiing at their own private ski hill.

WHAT DISAPPOINTS ME WAS THAT WE WERE NOT OFFERED ANY FORM OF DISCOUNT OR AMENITY WHATSOEVER TO MAKE UP FOR THE FACT THAT WE HAD NO HEAT THE FIRST NIGHT. If you pay $1000 per night for a room and it's -20 degrees outside you should expect heat. If not, a discount at the very least would be very appreciated.

We mentioned something to the manager, he essentially said that he couldn't offer us anything - we didn't push the point. I am saddened, because it's the sort of place I would have returned to many times over if not for this bad experience.

We stay at nice hotels all the time. It's our hobby to try out highly rated hotels (in fact, I am thinking of starting a blog with my impressions of the places we stay). Given the great service we've received elsewhere , I am doubly surprised at the way we were treated. To make matters worse, they are still sending us mailings.

I am sorry that I can not write a glowing review for Twin Farms. I'm glad that others have had a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank vtgirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
short hills, nj
13
Reviewed 29 July 2005

Expensive, but worth every penny! Twin Farms spoils you from ever going to another hotel. The service is impeccable, but not hovering or obsequious. The rooms and the grounds are gorgeous and the food and wine are incomparable. They have truly thought of every detail. We loved every minute of our stay there. Don't be put off by the price--you will have a vacation that you will always remember.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, NY
13
Reviewed 30 March 2005

My husband and I had our first "date" at Twin Farms, then we got engaged there, and we go back when ever we can. The decor, food and service all come together in a graceful way. The service is the best I have ever found, because it lacks pretention. (When you are the best, there is no need for pretetiousness.) It is the perfect getaway for the quieter soul. This is not a see and be seen place. It is comfort for the humble and invisible.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Portsmouth, NH
17
Reviewed 19 September 2004

I have spent many days at Twin Farms and I must say it is the most beautiful, fascinating, and luxurious property I have ever seen. You are pampered to the level that you desire. The service is always available, but does not hover. They are willing to meet all of your needs, and they seem like they care if you are even the slightest bit unhappy. I would live there if I could.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
7.8 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
458 reviews
11.7 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#2 of 13 in Killington
232 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Farms

Address: 452 Royalton Turnpike, 452 Royalton Turnpike, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: £1,169 - £1,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Twin Farms 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance and folklore, Twin Farms is Vermont’s only luxury, five-star experience. With a sophisticated yet eccentric private art collection throughout 20 uniquely-designed accommodations ensconced in 300 acres, Twin Farms customizes every detail. Indulge in gourmet meals and fine wine. Pursue outdoor adventures. Retreat and relax. Engage in serious, contemplative work. Reconnect with people you love. Inspire yourself with possibilities. Savor infinite value. It’s all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Twin Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Farms Hotel Barnard
Twin Farms Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing