We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I had only one place to stay for the rest of my life...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin Farms
Ranked #2 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If I had only one place to stay for the rest of my life...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The moment my husband and I came upon the unmarked gate and heard the friendly voice over the intercom welcome us, we knew we were in for an experience. The perky (but not annoyingly so) hostess (?) greeted us with glasses of champagne as we stepped out of our car. Yes, it was a long 5 hour drive from NJ and we were weary. But one deep breath confirmed we were in Vermont. The room was beautifully decorated with comfortable furniture, warm colors and crackling fire with music playing quietly on stereo. I felt like I walked into a novel and I was the main character! The staff were incredibly accomodating - we had a yen for cheese and crackers in the afternoon and our dedicated staff member brought us an incredible picnic basket filled with cheese, crackers, shrimp cocktail and a bottle of wine.
All the meals were creative, interesting and delicious. The hotel sends a food questionairre ahead of time to get to know our likes and dislikes, food allergies,etc. So not once did we ever get something we didn't like. Everyone is served the same meal. But this adds to the small feel of the hotel - it's more like you're staying with friends for the weekend and you eat whatever they're making but you know it will always be great. The sommelier Eric was a plethera of wine knowledge and his choices were fabulous every time. Did I mention most people had jeans on for dinner? Love it!
The only bad feeling I had all weekend was when we had to leave. Twin Farms truly is the most relaxing place on Earth.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoutiqueHotetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from our third annual visit to Twin Farms. After reading some of the reviews we were apprehensive that the quality had suffered. However, we are happy to report that Twin Farms continues to provide exceptional food and service to its guests. All of the traditional amenities were still available. We had a great time and are already planning our return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife and I recently spent several days at Twin Farms. This was our first trip there, despite it being strongly recommended by a few friends for years who, we should have known, are familiar with the best of the best. Like them, we've travelled to top hotels in several countries but this, handily, beat them all. If you want glitz and 60 inch flatscreen TVs, then stay in the big city. If you want to get away from it all, and be pampered with gorgeous accommodations, incredibly good food/wine, personal service that simply isn't available in any big hotel, and the romance of Vermont activities at your doorstep... well, then, just go.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_and_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

The experience does not come close to the amount of money you will spend here. The food is more about the description than the flavor. The staff is ok, not really happy to accommodate requests outside of their plan. There are choices for breakfast but lunch and dinner are set. The set dinner time and menu is odd for the money you pay and the hype. I would not return. There are too many great resorts in the US. Don't buy$$ into the hype of this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Unlike many other reviewers, we’ve only been to Twin Farms this one time, so we have no comparison of the experience over time.

The accommodations at The Barn were large and comfortable (true to the web pic) with a beautiful view, a separate bedroom, a large, well-appointed bathroom and a very pleasant screened in porch. My only complaints would be the awkward layout, i.e. you must go through the bedroom to get to the bath and refreshment center which defeats the purpose of a separate bedroom, and they were chintzy with the “seasonal snacks” in the room (which they will restock when asked but you shouldn’t have to).

Unlike many reviewers, we found the food – both quality and quantity -- to be excellent. I grant you that the portions of the three-course dinners are on the smaller side but they are quite comparable to portion size in high-end New York restaurants and we never left hungry. Also, I feel that the overly generous portions at breakfast and lunch more than made up for any calorie shortages at dinner. While choices are not offered at dinner, you have many, many choices for breakfast and lunch. The non-reserve wines offered at dinner were fine but we would have liked the opportunity to view the wine list and perhaps select different wine. One of our dinners was served in the wine cellar (totally charming) and we asked for a bottle of Pinot Noir from the non-reserve list. We were happily accommodated with a grand bottle but it would have been nice if they asked about our preferences.

We found the service to be outstanding with all staff members very pleasant and responsive to any requests we made. The staff will deliver a picnic lunch to you anywhere on the grounds; they were helpful re activities; and our room was tended to at least 3 times a day. The grounds are quite beautiful with hiking trails and many other activities.

So, is it worth the crazy prices and would we go again? In the end, we loved the experience but would probably not return. We compared this vacation with past high-end experiences and found it to be at least twice the cost. Was it twice as good? I guess, in the end, the “value” of $2700 a day is in the eye of the beholder.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

In December, our son and his fiancee visited Twin Farms for a winter holiday. They live in London and have traveled extensively to many exotic and romantic destinations around the world. They were amazed at this gorgeous country property, with it's extraordinary cuisine, low-key style, and high level of service. Wanting to share the experience with us, we were treated to a long weekend certificate for a special anniversary by our children. Given the hefty nightly rate for this all-inclusive spa and resort, we felt some initial guilt going into this weekend, but that quickly faded as we explored the historic inn, viewed the "cottages",and wandered through the meadows of lupine and other June wildflowers. Everywhere you look you find unusual architecture, creative decor, and wonderful folk art of all styles...a feast for the eyes inside as well as in the natural surroundings. We stayed in a large house of Scandinavian country design.
The food was creative as well. Breakfast was our favorite with specialties and choices that were hearty. Lunch and dinner were the choice of the chef, with adaptations made for the individual's tastes via a preference survey completed before arrival. A true meat and potatoes person might find the offerings not quite as expected, but could ask at any time for an angus burger or any other preference.The multi-course dinner is a small plate, spa, tasting style, presented artfully and paired with good wine choices. Upon request, you can dine in the small wine cellar, which we did. Very romantic.
The essence of the magic of Twin Farms is the peace and tranquility found in the outdoor spaces and in accommodations designed to encourage disconnect from the everyday. Hugh soaking tubs that have private outdoor views, fireplaces that are continually set to be lit, screened porches to bring you outside even in the rain, down bedding to encourage napping, poor cellphone reception in the cottages allows you to disconnect for a bit. Spa treatments, a gym, and the option to use a furo or Japanese hot tub provide additional stress relief.
The key to the Twin Farms magic is the phenomenal team assembled by GM Michael Beardsley who maintain the high level of "service with a smile". They are multitasking everywhere; always with the utmost professionalism and discretion, but able to engage on a personal level that we found delightful. The economic times have drastically reduced their number of staff, but you wouldn't feel it as a guest. We were there on a half-capacity weekend, however. The number of repeat guests attests to the continuity in the quality of the Twin Farms experience. This is not a one-night stay inn. It would take a two night minimum to get the relaxation benefit and the sense of being a special guest at this lovely country estate. This was undoubtedly a one-time treat for us, but those with the requisite resources should consider retreating to charming Twin Farms Inn when looking for a special and romantic destination.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruvboston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

From the moment we checked in till the second we left, the service was exemplary, the food was excellent, and overall it lived up to our very high expectations. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for the right mix between high energy activities and super luxury. Well worth the small fortune it takes to stay there.

The one on one service reminds me of the 5 star service you get in the best safari camps. Very personal and attentive!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruvboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
17.4 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Farms

Property: Twin Farms
Address: 452 Royalton Turnpike, 452 Royalton Turnpike, Barnard, VT 05031
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance and folklore, Twin Farms is Vermont’s only luxury, five-star experience. With a sophisticated yet eccentric private art collection throughout 20 uniquely-designed accommodations ensconced in 300 acres, Twin Farms customizes every detail. Indulge in gourmet meals and fine wine. Pursue outdoor adventures. Retreat and relax. Engage in serious, contemplative work. Reconnect with people you love. Inspire yourself with possibilities. Savor infinite value. It’s all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Twin Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Farms Hotel Barnard
Twin Farms Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing