We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best small B & B in the east!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best small B & B in the east!”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

I stayed at the Fan House in mid September for four nights to attend a jewelry workshop. We awoke each day to a hearty & delicious homemade breakfast complete with coffee, tea and juice and headed out for the day by 9:00am. By 6:00pm we returned from class to be greeted by Sara with a crackling fire, a chilled glass of wine and a nibble before heading out for dinner. I thought for sure I'd died and gone to heaven. Every aspect of the Fan House is lovely, from the structure, to the furniture, the art, and the garden, right down to the dishes and tablecloth! My room was the creme de la' creme (all that was available when I made my reservation), and so worth it, lucky me! All other aspects of the room were wonderful, the sheets , pillows and down comforter, sublime. The icing on the cake was I when I crawled into bed, after another fabulous dinner in a neighboring town, only to look up through the skylight, and see the little dipper! As I departed to head home, I noticed the leaves were just starting to turn a little...it must be stunning now in early October. I can't wait to return to the Fan House, my new favorite.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artist29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We returned to the Fan House for our second trip in as many years. This is a charming B&B within a short (5 minute) walk to Spring Lake and Barnard Center. The rooms are spacious, elegant ,clean and have private baths. Sarah, the owner, is warm and welcoming and serves a delicious and satisfying breakfast. This place is a great find for anyone visiting the Woodstock area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSageTGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at The Fan House for 4 nights at the end of June. Situated in Barnard, a village clustered around the quaint Silver Lake, and an easy, short drive from the quintessentially American town of Woodstock, this old house has been beautifully restored and is tastefully furnished with antiques and original pieces of art. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are well equipped with fluffy towels, hair dryers, luxury soap, etc. The mix of old and new is a perfect combination. The garden is lovely with many little spots to sit and relax. Everything you could possibly need is provided and your comfort and enjoyment are obviously so important to Sara, your host. Hearty, homemade breakfasts give a great start to your day. Our favourite was baked apples and scones! Sara very successfully balances being around to give you information and asking if you have everything you need, whilst at the same time giving you space to enjoy your comfortable room, the welcoming living room and restful garden. The Fan House is an example of how a classy Bed & Breakfast should be run. We would have no hesitation in recommending Sara’s home to anyone travelling in Vermont who appreciates high standards in terms of interior décor designed with excellent taste, expects comfortable accommodation and who wants to stay with a gracious host who is exemplary in her hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Truly a special getaway. always a place to quietly read...easily accessible for Woodstock adventures. The special beauty of Vermont enhanced by the kindness and careful care of the innkeeper. I could return time and again.............and Will!
K

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitemaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent a delightful weekend during the cold VT winter month of February and enjoyed our welcoming host, the tastefully furnished rooms, the comfort of a woodburning fireplace in our bedroom, the luxurious linens and the gourmet breakfast. We loved every moment and made a promise to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scriabin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We just love this place! THANK YOU, Sara -- the room was luxurious (cashmere blankets!), the breakfast was deliciousl, the firewarm and cozy on a damp, rainy day, and there was even a rainbow when the sun came out! I love the "new" library---i don't know of any hotel or inn or B&B where the selection of books available to us is so eclectic---wonderful! The setting is perfect: hidden away but not far from great restaurants and the beautiful lake and countryside... We can't wait to come back and see the beautiful garden in full bloom... Will see you in a few weeks... and again this summer... and again.... and again...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We recently enjoyed a stay at The Fan House while visiting the Woodstock area for a friend’s wedding. We arrived on the later side, but Sara could not have been more accommodating and left a note out for us with a little snack knowing we had arrived after the restaurants in the area had closed! We were out and about much of the time with wedding-related activities, but our time at The Fan House could not have been more enjoyable and cozy. We stayed in the Red Toile room. Breakfasts were yummy and the fireplace in the living room was so relaxing and Sara has a wonderful library of books which was fun to browse through. We had a really nice stay and we will definitely come back when we have more time to enjoy the beautiful house and Silver Lake!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mindyglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
9.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.9 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.8 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6297 VT-12, Barnard, VT 05031
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, European style rooms and suites. Exquisite fine decorating, exceptionally comfortable beds with 300+ thread count linens & down comforters. Located just minutes from Quechee & Woodstock Vermont. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fan House Bed And Breakfast Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing