We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Family-Friendly Lake”

Silver Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Barnard
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Lovely Family-Friendly Lake”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This park has a lovely lake where you can rent canoes, kayaks, or pedal boats. Also, people can freely swim in the lakes. There are mostly families here with their children, but you can find a quiet nook around the lake to have a private barbecue or go for a dip in the waters.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciabattaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in this place with a RV. We arrived late but we manage to enjoy the peaceful lake shore and the nice playground nearby.
We were placed in a nice and isolated spot where we enjoyed the night.
The place is clean and tidy. The staff was efficient and very pleasent. There's free WIFI (not all around the place).
In the morning we went down to the beach again. It is clean and offers swimming site, boat rental ( row boats, kayaks pedal boats and more) and snacks.

We had a great experience.
For the staying we payed 27$ (for 2 adults and 2 older kids), for the pedal boat 5$ (half an hour), for a kayak 12.75$ (for an hour).
We had a great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard, Vermont
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What happened to the staff this year?”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been going to the lake forever. I have often loved the staff, they have been friendly and courteous. And the park volunteers have been super! Not this year. The gate house looks like a fortress- all locked up and orange cones around it. And the staff are grumpy at best and grouchy more often than not! Even though I have a pass I have stopped going!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just an average lake.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Silver Lake state park was just an average lake at your typical state park. It is not different than what you can experience anyway in PA or NJ where I live. If fact, it is probably worse than some.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice park with a small lake to swim and canoe / paddle boat”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A small park that offers a nice lake (large pond) to swim and you can rent canoes and paddle boats at a reasonable price. $3 per person to get into park and canoe was about $8 / hour. You can canoe around the lake 2 to 3 times in an hour. We wanted to take our 3 year old grandson on a canoe ride so it was perfect for us. They also have a nice little playground and a few picnic benches. No a bad place for a day trip if your in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TX13SR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Silver Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing