We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tast of Ole Vermont”

Barnard General Store
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Barnard
Attraction details
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Tast of Ole Vermont”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The General store, located by a small VT lake in a very quaint site, is everything you would expect in the tradition of a small VT general store. It has a little bit of everthing and is just a fun place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“It's back open & running strong!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you're in Woodstock and want a pretty drive to an authentic nook of Vermont, head over to the Barnard General Store for breakfast or lunch. Closed briefly for a time last year, the General Store is back up and running with all the same great features.

You can stock up on tons of local beers or great wines. Whole grain goodness can be found in the cookies and breads from local bakers. If you need general supplies (toiletries, camping supplies, food), they've got that too! We always stock up on Vermont Coffee Co. when we're there and grab (I know it's cliche but...) maple syrup for presents. They also have post cards, maple candy, Cabot cheese and cute General Store tee shirts too.

The cafe has hot cocoa, Vermont coffee and tea. They serve limited breakfast options like eggs-sausage-toast or an avacado wrap with eggs-sausage-Cabot cheese. You can get wraps and sandwiches at lunch as well. I do miss the old hearty breakfast and their pancakes were divine! I hope to see the menu grow again to some of the great variety they used to have. We'll be back every time we come through the area to keep checking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank romarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charming”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The store was closed last summer, but I can see what an asset this is to Barnard. The General Store has a little bit of everything you might need!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Store”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This country store has great ice cream and is across form a lake that you can boat and go swimming in. I enjoyed visiting it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vkmk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was staying down the road at the Cobblehouse Inn and went kayaking with some family and friends. After a few hours my 12 year wanted lunch and we headed to the General Store in Barnard. I wasn't expecting much and was quite pleased at how good are sandwiches were. Not only were the prices reasonable, but you get to eat them lakeside right in front of the place. I would definitely go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnard General Store also viewed

 

Been to Barnard General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing