We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleepy time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sleepy time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway and we returned once again to the Maple Leaf. The beds are so comfortable and the sheets are perfect. We sleep so well...then we wake up to fresh baked muffins, scones, delicious breakfast entrees and wonderful coffee.. I love the front porch as well as the library for a quick cup of coffee early on.Nancy makes wonderful food and there is enough to take away...she gave us a doggie bag for our pastry and enjoyed it at lunch. After a day's activities Mike offers a beer or glass of wine...and is happy to share local knowledge and answer all questions...without being overly intrusive. A fine line...and the Boyles are right on target as innkeepers.
We love the little "gifts" left on our pillow each night...reminders of a wonderful stay.
We left some clothing by mistake and Mike called right away and sent us the items...without any hassle at all!

This inn is immaculate and one of our favorite places. Find out for yourself!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of rooms and they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
330
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our visit to Vermont and the Maple Leaf Inn was an absolutely delightful experience. The atmosphere at the inn is warm and relaxed, but the minute one closes the bedroom door there is an elegance and luxury that rivals any upscale hotel in the most cosmopolitan of cities. The innkeepers, Nancy and Mike, have seen to every detail imaginable and their gourmet breakfasts are just delicious. A very special B&B!

Room Tip: Easy access in our first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at the Maple Leaf during our three week trip to New England.It really is a wonderful Inn,the setting is beautiful and the varied birdlife is an extra bonus. Mike and Nancy are great hosts providing the little extras which made for nice momento's of our stay.We stayed in the Garden room which is large and beautiful,the furniture is lovely,the chest of drawers is a "wow".The bed is large and extremely comfortable,the bathroom was gorgeous with a large shower.A bonus was from the bedroom windows you could spot the humming birds at the feeders,which coming from the UK was a delight,this was our first glimpse of these wonderful little birds.Breakfast was a lovely with Nancy's fresh baked goodies,really didn't need a lunch.The whole house is beautifully and tastefully furnished with an extensive library. Mike and Nancy provide an attention to detail with helpful tips and maps,we only mentioned that we would maybe like to visit Sunapee,a quick stop on a previous holiday and Mike appeared with directions.Our only gripe was that we missed a black bear that had wandered past the front porch during the night,allthough on seeing the tracks it left the following morning perhaps we were safer in the room.If you are visiting the Woodstock area from the Uk or indeed anywhere put this lovely inn on your list of "must visit".Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

As the setting off point for our two week holiday we couldnt have stopped at a more perfect place. Arriving just as it was getting dusky, the house which is set back from the road up a slight slope looks spectacular, big, but inviting with warm little candle lamps glowing in each window. Mike & Nancy came out to greet us & offered help with the cases which was very welcome. The house is peaceful & makes you feel settled & at ease instantly. The "public" space is very civilised & the DVD player in the room with the offer to use the library of discs was a nice touch (although we didnt avail ourselves, I can imagine that there would be times when it would be a welcome diversion!) We stayed in the Garden Room which was just perfect for relaxing & slumbering. The bed was massive (certainly for us!) & comfortable enough for my insomina to take a bit of a pounding & giving me the longest sleep I have had in a good few years! The bedding is luscious & people who love quilting would have given the place 11/10 just on that basis alone! Breakfasts - home cooked & three courses (!) on both mornings were interesting, nutirious & set us up til late into the afternoon. Nancy is a wonderful baker with the lightest touch - her cherry scones would blow away in a the smallest of breezes ;0) Advice & help about where to eat was forthcoming & spot on - greatly appreciated. I cant finish this without mentioning the grounds around the house, if you love nature sitting out on the verandah in a chair quietly observing the activity by the bird feeders is a treat in itself & not to be missed..

The final accolades must go to Mike this morning when we found ourselves locked out of our hire car - he stepped up to the plate, made the call, reassured us & handled it all with good grace. We would commend Maple Leaf to anyone, who seeks sanctuary, calm & excellent hospitality in the Woodstock area. Go! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

i simply can't think of anything negative about this delightful B&B. yes it is 10 miles from Woodstock, but there is a good restaurant a minute to two away. we were greeted so warmly and offered a glass of wine or beer...Good start after a long trip. freshly baked cookies at bottom of stairs, cosy sitting rooms with daily papers, the most delicious breakfast, Owners never far away and very conscious of our needs.. this B&B was recommended to me by a friend in England..I live in Australia. my friend stayed here in winter, sat sipping wine by an open fire in her bedroom. The attention to detail here is quite extraordinary. I asked Mike if he knew the best way to get to Quebec City and within a minute or two he arrived with two printed out options. The rooms are delightfully furnished and bathrooms great.

Room Tip: Depends on time of year. we had morning Glory in June. Sunnny in am. Winter, ask for one with a log...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Over the last 15 years we have stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn in Barnard Vermont many times. Mike and Nancy have always made us feel like family. Not only are all the rooms beautifully decorated, it is the small things that they do that make the experience so complete.If you are looking for anything in the Woodstock area, this is the place to stay. Close to everything, but with a very remote feel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a fireplace, so check if you are looking for one. Also, some rooms have 2 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delanco, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Nancy and Mike warmly greeted us as we arrived...helped with our bags. Their "Home" is classic New England with all modern amenities. We stayed in the charming "Country Garden" room. Big Comfy King-size bed...Large bathroom - beautifully decorated. The food was incredible...Nancy and Mike gave great recommendations for restaurants and "things to do".
Nancy made a reservation for us that evening. The property is wonderful..serene - well manicured. Just what we looking for. We truly felt like we were visiting "old friends"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing