We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Perfect Place to Stay!”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Most Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 28 September 2005

We booked 3 nights at the Maple Leaf as part of our touring honeymoon based on the rave reviews of my husband's parents - it was absolutely perfect! The rooms are designed and finished with incredible love and attention to detail and every fitment is of the highest quality - we stayed in the Winter Haven Room, which has a wonderful wood fireplace (set for you everyday), 2 rocking soft chairs, kingsize bed, spa bath with shower (including heated tiled flooring!). The breakfasts really are gourmet. Gary & Janet are constantly welcoming and friendly and put so much effort into every aspect of the inn - even marking maps and suggesting the most picturesque route and things to do - dinner suggestions are no problem, but make sure you try the Barnard Inn where we had a lovely romantic dinner on the first night of our stay.

We really can't say enough - you should know that every room has journals on the mantlepiece into which guests can record their comments - every single comment was "I proposed by the fireplace", "our stay was perfect" and the most common comment was either "lovely to be back" or "We'll be back as soon as we can". We feel the same way - by the way, we also fell in love with Vermont!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausage-Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
340
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2005

We discovered the lovely Maple Leaf Inn from a picture display ad under the Woodstock, Vermont section of the 2005 edition of our AAA TourBook. How lucky we were to find such a gem of a B&B that we intend to return to in the near future and will highly recommend (as much as we'd like to keep it a secret).

Our stay at the Inn was at the end of a two week driving tour through the Quebec province during which time we stayed in numerous very nice hotels. The Maple Leaf Inn provided a most memorable welcoming and romantic close to a terrific vacation. Upon arriving late after a long drive at this picture-perfect Victorian-style inn (it's really only 11 years old and was creatively designed by the couple as a B&B) on very picturesque grounds, we were warmly approached and greeted by Janet and Gary, the innkeepers. They are an incredibly friendly, talented and interesting couple.

Janet and Gary provided a wonderful "orientation" and have very obviously given careful thought to absolutely every detail that would make one's B&B stay just perfect. Each of the rooms, all containing king-size beds, is uniquely designed and decorated with love, and is charming, spacious, and immaculate with ready-to-light fireplaces and modern bathrooms with extra special touches. The spacious shower in our bathroom had a great showerhead and plenty of room so you don't knock your elbows in the shower stall. The inn offers a great "pillow library" and "honor bar" should you have a desire for more fluffy pillows or a late-night snack or beverage. Each room has its own heat/AC controls and a ceiling fan -- very unusual for a B&B. The nightly turndown service that is provided will surprise you with some special treats.

Janet's incredibly good, home-cooked gourmet breakfast included among other things, fresh fruit and Vermont maple syrup. It all was a delicious treat along with the conversation we enjoyed with both Janet and Gary. We think Janet should open a restaurant next...

As we said our good-byes at the end of our stay, it was like leaving family. Janet had so kindly provided us with detailed information about the events we had discussed attending on that day. Our send-off treats were a wonderful touch and were thoroughly enjoyed as well. We can't wait to return to The Maple Leaf Inn during any season.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Touristdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2005

This place was really outstanding!! We found it in the VT Travel Guide and sometimes you're not sure just by looking at pictures, etc. about a specific property. Absolutely great in any way you might care to measure it. Owners Gary and Janet were top of the line as was the facility. No complaints at all.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and at all times during our 3 day stay.

The next time we're in this area, actually even if remotely close to this area, we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indychowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 April 2005

The Maple Leaf Inn is more wonderful than you can ever imagine. My fiance and I traveled to VT for a weekend getaway and found all we could ask for and more at this quaint and picture perfect inn. Janet and Gary were born to be innkeepers. They were welcoming and warm and made us feel like family. Their attention to detail was perfect and made the stay seem like home. The breakfast in the morning was delightful and the afternoon snack was so yummy. The inn was warm, clean and well decorated. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 February 2005

The Maple Leaf Inn is breathtaking from your first view, whether daytime or nighttime, and you will feel welcomed and pampered from dawn to dusk.
During the 2004 fall foliage season we spent two separate nights at the Maple Leaf Inn, and we noted on each visit that 1/2 to 3/4 of the guests were returnees. That says it all!!!!
The rooms are huge and lavish with lovely lace bed linens, numerous handmade items displayed, fireplaces filled and ready to burn, and the bathroom floors are heated. You will be treated to delicious and diversified breakfasts, tasty afternoon snacks, and Gary and Janet Robison are the kindest innkeepers, who, along with their small staff, are ready to address your every whim.
If you wish to have information on area attractions and restaurants, Gary and Janet have the expertise to help you with your choices.
We hope to return to Vermont someday, and when we do, we'll have advance reservations for Gary and Janet Robison's stupendous Maple Leaf Inn.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2004

My husband and I spent one week in New England traveling from Boston to Maine, New Hamshire and Vermont. The most memorable, peaceful night's stay was at the Maple Leaf inn. The hosts of the inn are so personable and made us feel right at home. Our room was beautiful and even displayed some of the owner's stenciling on the wall! We got to peek through the door of the rooms that were not occupied, and each were different and unique, just as inviting as ours.
When we had returned home and recalled everything we did and where we stayed, my husband and I agreed that the Maple Leaf inn was the best place and will always be a special memoryof our trip! We will definitely be returning to the inn for another memorable stay in the future!

  • Stayed October 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kauaiboundAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
407 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
285 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
431 reviews
8.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing