We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ladder 1

Ladder 1
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Beautiful setting in the town's old fire house it also includes a museum
Vermont
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Funky Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is tucked away from the main thoroughfare but is definitely worth a visit when in Barre. Festive and fun. Pizza was great and other dishes looked yummy too. Service personnel very friendly and fun. My new favorite restaurant in Barre!

Helpful?
Thank chauddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    74
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable dining, interesting decorations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stopped in for a quick dinner before a concert. Good local beer on tap, overwhelming menu with some interesting items. It's already interesting to dine in an old fire station, the Halloween decorations were wonderful. We had great meals, the service was good. We had a seafood special and the fish and chips along with beer batter hot peppers and an interesting fruit desert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
226 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Service, quality of food, fine preparation, reasonbale prices.. all added up to a fine experience. At this time of the year fully involved with Halloween items. Menu is a nice testimony to local firefighters

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brick Oven Pizza in the Firehouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good pub food in a historic firehouse. I enjoyed seeing all the old firehouse memorabilia. The restaurant was all kitted up for Halloween too, which was fun in a silly way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best prime rib in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and will please anyone that's looking for good food. We had the prime rib and it was absolutely delicious. I like mine medium rare and for once in my life I got it just that way and it was perfect; great mash potatoes and firm broccoli. The service was as great as the food; just can't say enough good things about this place. There was a 4 piece band that was very good without being too loud, which allowed us to have a conversation while listening. Desert was pineapple upside down cake and it was also delicious. And to top it all the price tag was very reasonable; $60 plus tip for 2 people. I recommend this place to anyone that is totally unpretentious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ladder 1 also viewed

 

Been to Ladder 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing