We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roots tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I drove through Barre during a New England tour because my mother was born there and her father had worked there as a stone mason. Dan was very helpful in our casual genealogy search, directing us to the local Granite Association, which lead to our contacting a distant relative. Yasunari's breakfast was elegant and delicious, and his evening piano playing was an unexpected pleasure. The house was a work in progress during our stay, but comfortable for all that and the finished parts are beautiful. In short, good people, great breakfast and a beautiful old house that will only get better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

It is a beautiful place - old victorian building, each room has its own style, new clean stylish bathrooms, great breakfast and wonderful owner, who lets everybody enjoy his piano play in the evenings.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had booked the Tower Room for a Friday and Sunday night. It was an unusually warm and humid Friday which made the second floor room quite uncomfortable, We opened the windows, but the traffic was quite loud. We borrowed a fan from the hallway around midnight. It was disappointing to see a window airconditioner in the closet, which sure would have been helpful had it been installed!. We traveled the next day, but came back for a second night on Sunday. Yasunari had upgraded rooms for us, (without knowing about our fitful sleep the day before) and even though the Mary Mackie room still had no air conditioner, it was a cooler day and more comfortable night. It almost goes without saying - after reading the other reviews- that breakfasts were awesome, Barney cute, and Yasunari's piano playing relaxing. Neither room had a luggage rack or good place to put your suitcase. The outside of the house is being painted..... there are rooms inside that need a little touch up, but overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The tower room is at the front of the house, and has traffic noise, especially if you open the windo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcwallflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplecroft, Owner at Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you had an uncomfortable night of sleep. Typical overnight temperature this time of year in Vermont is in the 50's and we had had several nights when it got down to mid 40's. So, we had just taken down the air conditioners that are least tightly fitting in our old windows to make sure our guests will have an option of closing them during those chilly nights. That day might have been a little warmer than usual and we understand that people are used to different sleeping environments.
We are glad the upgrade somewhat made up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Amazing, wonderful, great! One of the best places I have never slept in! The house is beautiful, the room (we stayed at the tower room) so nice and clean, the bathroom perfect (even if outside the room this wasn’t at all a problem!). You can feel better than at home. The owners pay attention to every detail.
It was really a pity to stay there only for a night!
The breakfast is so good (I’m vegetarian and Yasunari made for me some vegan pancakes!).
They are really nice, gave us many useful info and their dog Barnie is so sweet!
The common spaces are big and so well furnished and we had a pleasant time with other people.
Go there if you can (and stay at least 2 nights)!!!!

Room Tip: The tower room is beautiful and the bathroom, even if outside it, is perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Thanks Yasunari for a great stay in your B&B! You show great pride of ownership in every detail. We felt extremely comfortable and at home. There is lots of space for the guests to relax in besides the bedroom. The tv room is inviting and you don't feel like you are interrupting other guests. The front room offers lots of space to read and of course the piano room is there for all to use. The Mary Mackie room was bright and clean with a huge bathroom supplied with all the extras. Yaxunari was great at providing us options and ideas for places to eat and see. The breakfast was delicious and abundant! We would definitely recommend this B&B to all who stay in Barre!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sknk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our family (ages 13-84) booked the Corti and Burns suites as well as the George Mackie room for one night in August. We thoroughly enjoyed our hosts, the accommodations and of course breakfast. The house is lovely, well decorated and well loved. The common rooms are large and inviting and we found all areas of the B&B to be immaculate. Some of the photos on TripAdvisor must reflect previous owners because they are not at all representative of the rooms we stayed in. Consult the Maplecroft B &B website for accurate and honest information.
The exterior of the B & B is currently in the process of being painted, so you may see a ladder and some supplies around the property. You will soon forget the ladder once you see how the new colors restore life and vitality to this beautiful home. I cannot wait to see the house when the painting is completed! We are so glad we chose Maplecroft and cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClydesBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed at the Maplecroft for 4 nights and attended my wife's graduation from Norwich. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the arm conversations with Dan. Yasunari's breakfasts were not only healthy, but delicious too. Their dog, Barney, is well mannered and greeted us each morning before breakfast.

The rooms were clean and had nice, private bathrooms with all the amenities.

The B&B is with walking distance of downtown Barre, which offers several good restaurants and arguably the best coffee shop - Espresso Bueno.

Dan was kind enough to leave us a bag breakfast since we had to depart very early our last morning.

We really enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B, and would stay here again. Keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jconley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
6.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firehouse Inn
Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Barre
42 reviews
5.6 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Montpelier
106 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast

Address: 70 Washington St, Barre, VT 05641-4209
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: £100 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing